We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing better than the Casitas and location was the staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The only thing better than the Casitas and location was the staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Recently took a week family vacation to Puerto Viejo, and I do mean the whole family. Our group was comprised of parents, kids (ranging in age from 4 to 20) and grandparents, 9 of us in total. We stayed at Mar y Luz in the big house which consists of 3 big rooms, a nice kitchen and most importantly a huge front porch that became our common area. I should mention I am not a new to Puerto Viejo having been there at least ½ a dozen times. I can say without hesitation Casita Mar y Luz is the best place I have stayed yet. Why?

The houses and property are well kept.

The property is maybe a 10 min walk to the beach.

While Puerto Viejo proper is nice to visit it is nice to leave it and rest someplace without the hustle. The whole area has grown tremendously in the last 10 years and places on the outskirts of town that use to be quite retreats are now consumed in the hustle of the town.

And best of all the staff at Casitas Mar y Luz was excellent. Marlin was always available to help out with whatever one might need. Stephanie the property manager was nothing short of amazing. She went out of her way to make sure our trip was the best it could be. She set up tours, gave us ideas of new things to do, helped shuttle our large group around and did all this because she genuinely wants her guests to have a great experience.
When I have the opportunity to do this trip again I will book at Casitas Mar y luz.

Thank you Stephanie for everything you do.

Room Tip: While I did not stay in the bungalows they looked great. If you have a group or large family the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

this is a great place. stephanie who runs is it a great host who treats her guests like family. she goes out of her way to visit and talk with everyone staying there. its in the middle of the rainforest with lots of tropical birds, monkeys etc. yet it is only 500 yards from the beach and the main road. nearby are lots of restaurants and mini supers for food. bike rentals are closeby so you can visit all the other deserted beaches along the coast or go to manzanillo for a rainforest hike with a local guide named florentino---ask her. she can arrange or help you with many activities. the rooms have cooking facilities as well!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellin_guy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My family and I (Mom and two daughters) stayed at the Casitas Mar y Luz for 4 nights in Jan 2014. We loved it! We were welcomed so kindly by Stefanie, the owner, and Marlon, the handy-man/go-to guy. They were always available if we needed anything; from restaurant suggestions to handing out band-aids for a blister.

The Casitas are cute as can be. If you are looking for a fancy air-conditioned hotel, this isn't for you. The walls of the casitas are half wood and half screen/net. The screens have no holes, but you are still surrounded by nature, so there still might be a little spider on your wall, but nothing too alarming. Also, each bed has a net over it. I know it made a huge difference for us, knowing that we could sleep without having to worry about bugs.

There is everything you need to cook a meal; stove top, pots, plates, cutlery, and mini-fridge. The Casitas are 5 mins away from the beautiful playa chiquita.

We absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to come back!

Chloé, Julie and Emmy from Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chloesckoropad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

First of all, this is a place for adventurous people. It is like camping comfortably.

There is a 5 minute walk dirt road to get to the casitas, the staff is extremely nice, the place is gorgeous. The little houses are clean and equipped with the NECESSARY.

The houses walls are half wood and half mosquito-net, so on one side one can complaint about the "absence of privacy" but hey.... waking up every day to the sounds of wildlife feeling is in your room without it ACTUALLY being there is more than worth it!!!!

If after this review you decide to go, remember to ask the owner Stephanie to have a tour of Gandoca Manzanillo Reserve with Tino, it is great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank megdemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are simple and clean. The bungalows has a fridge and some simple cooking equipment. We got to eat fresh grapefruits from a tree in the garden. The only bad thing was that we got som mosquito bites but there where mosquito nets available. The staff was very helpful!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Casitas is a great experience and the best way to experience the costa rican caribean. The caribean style bungalows are cozy and well furnitured (the kitchen was a bit small), the beds are clean and confortable. The location is in the middle of a forest with amazing high trees. The beach Playa Chiquita is beautiful and is a 10 min walk fro the hotel (we walked from there to Punta Uva too). Stepahnie and Marlon were friendly and helpful to make us feel at home. Is better to drive a SUV 4X4 when visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robitenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed there only two nights but wished would have stayed more: the six blue cabins are pretty new, clean and in a quiet place.plus they have a small kitchen so we could prepare our own breakfast. The owner Stephanie is very nice, she booked for us a tour in Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge and carried us to Manzanillo with her car.
there are some good restaurants close to the cabins and also the beach is within a short walk: playa chiquita is a gorgeous beach and with very few people.
Go there if you are looking for beach and relax in the nature!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Kukula Lodge
La Kukula Lodge
#4 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz

Property: Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Address: | En Face de Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70400, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Strategically located just 300 m from Playa Chiquita Beach and 3 km from Cocles Beach, Casitas Mar y Luz offers self-catering bungalows, an extensive garden and free Wi-Fi throughout. The wooden bungalows, built according to the caribbean style feature mosquito nets, ceiling fans, a terrace overlooking the garden, a hammock and its own kitchen, equipped with a small electric stove, refrigerator and a coffeemaker. Also included is a a private bathroom including free toiletries.The hotel provides linen & towels, wi-fi and private parking space. Guests at Casitas Mar y Luz will find a grocery store 800 m away and a variety or restaurants within 200 m. This chalet offers activities such as snorkelling, kayaking, hiking and rafting. Canopy tours, surfing lessons and dolphin, turtle and bird watching can be arranged as well. Puerto Viejo Town Centre is 10 minutes’ drive away and a bus station is 7 km away. The property is 1 hour’s drive from the Limon International Airport. This property is also rated for the best value in Puerto Viejo! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing