We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy and friendly”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Every day your room gets cleaned and you get fresh towels, which we find really nice, since the Caribbean is hot, and you've got sand all over the place. It's very central, you can reach everything by foot.
Our biggest impression was the friendliness of the owner and staff. Whatever problem or question we had, the owner, Heidi, would offer her help. It really felt at home.
Go with Coconut Grove!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeUndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This basic hotel has a good location and is very clean.
Heidi, the owner, really cares about the guests and helps with trips and gives hints for the best places to swim, snorkel and surf.
The kitchen is well equiped and there are some nice tables where you can eat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 46kilometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Puerto Viejo. The rooms are really nice, clean and with goods beds (clean sheets every day!). Coconut Grove has a nice and clean kitchen with everything you need to prepare your meal. Downstairs there's a place to just hang out and relax. The owner, Heidi, is also really nice and caring and will help you with anything. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 days and I enjoyed everyday here. The host, Heidi was very friendly to me and gave me good advice of Puerto Viejo. The place is just 5 minutes walk from the center so it is quiet and relaxing to stay here. It has a nice lounge/common area downstairs with cosy sofas, hammocks and a well equipped kitchen. The room is sparkling clean and they change the bedsheet daily! There is no mosquito net at the windows but you have one hanging on your bed so it still gives some protection at night. There is no air condition but the fan in the room is good enough and since the house is above the ground, it is a bit cooling whole day. Highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay, one of, if not the nicest in the town. Can rent bikes from just outside which is a must. Kitchen and lounge area is all very nice and clean. As are the rooms. The ladies who own it are very lovely and extremely helpful. They helped organise transfer from San Jose and Bocas and were very prompt. I would definitely recommend this place - make sure you bring a friend so the room is cheaper. They are two person rooms. Also don't be alarmed if it's not "packed" - like most places in PV there are only a few rooms so it's nice to have your own space:)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank semill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After many months on the road, our stay at Heidi's wonderful hostel was very appreciated. First of all, the linens are changed every single day! That means no smelly mildewy sheets or towels and no gross bedding. The towels and sheets are clean and smell great - after months in a wet climate I couldn't take another damp, mildewed bed. The entire place is tidy and run well, and the staff and Heidi are very kind and helpful. We easily used the kitchen to make breakfast in the mornings and enjoyed the large public area downstairs. Also wonderful is the location, not right in the center of the noise but a few minutes' walk out and very peaceful. With the the overhead fan and the sounds of the birds and the monkeys, you will sleep so peacefully in this beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlayna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My friend and I spent 2 days in Cabinas coconut Grove, while being in Limon.
The place is really cozy, clean and friendly. The owner, Heidi and her staff are helpful and make you feel welcome. Special thanks to Alma, for helping us out with a practical problem with had with our transport!
The location is excellent, very near to the village, restaurants and bars, but still settled in a beautiful and quiet area. The beach is right in front of the hotel.
The rooms are simple but clean and cozy, due to the colors and the nice decorations the place has a very charming atmosphere.
This is a good location, very recommendable for a good price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siegske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#33 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coconut Grove

Property: Cabinas Coconut Grove
Address: Avenidad 71 | Apdo 140-7403, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Coconut Grove are just 200 mts. from Puerto Viejo downtown in comfortable walking distance to super markets, banks, a variety of local and international restaurants and bars, as well as just steps away from the beautiful Caribbean beach.We offer private rooms with shared or private bathrooms as well as one apartment on the lower floor. Convenient prices, tranquil but central location, good service and clean rooms!Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Coconut Grove Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing