We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Brussels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed there for 2 weeks in June 2014 when I was volunteering at the Jaguar Rescue Center.
The room is clean, equiped with a fan and mosquito net. Room is cleaned every day and you get new towels. There is often somebody available in case you need anything although this is no 24/7 hotel. The B&B stands at 10 meters from the main road, close to the end of Puerto Viejo. Noise is OK (I was there in low season).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petitdudu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've has been in this place twice. And the experience was always amazing. This is great place due to is in front of the principal road. But don't worry about that because continues be a relaxing place where you can sleep easy.
And is really close to Puerto Viejo downtown just 5 mint walking that is Great if you want to go out looking for a Bar or restaurant.
And also I've to say that people that attend this place are very nice. So if you are looking for a great place with good accommodation, clean and relax, you can stay here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Every day your room gets cleaned and you get fresh towels, which we find really nice, since the Caribbean is hot, and you've got sand all over the place. It's very central, you can reach everything by foot.
Our biggest impression was the friendliness of the owner and staff. Whatever problem or question we had, the owner, Heidi, would offer her help. It really felt at home.
Go with Coconut Grove!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeUndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This basic hotel has a good location and is very clean.
Heidi, the owner, really cares about the guests and helps with trips and gives hints for the best places to swim, snorkel and surf.
The kitchen is well equiped and there are some nice tables where you can eat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 46kilometer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Puerto Viejo. The rooms are really nice, clean and with goods beds (clean sheets every day!). Coconut Grove has a nice and clean kitchen with everything you need to prepare your meal. Downstairs there's a place to just hang out and relax. The owner, Heidi, is also really nice and caring and will help you with anything. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 days and I enjoyed everyday here. The host, Heidi was very friendly to me and gave me good advice of Puerto Viejo. The place is just 5 minutes walk from the center so it is quiet and relaxing to stay here. It has a nice lounge/common area downstairs with cosy sofas, hammocks and a well equipped kitchen. The room is sparkling clean and they change the bedsheet daily! There is no mosquito net at the windows but you have one hanging on your bed so it still gives some protection at night. There is no air condition but the fan in the room is good enough and since the house is above the ground, it is a bit cooling whole day. Highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay, one of, if not the nicest in the town. Can rent bikes from just outside which is a must. Kitchen and lounge area is all very nice and clean. As are the rooms. The ladies who own it are very lovely and extremely helpful. They helped organise transfer from San Jose and Bocas and were very prompt. I would definitely recommend this place - make sure you bring a friend so the room is cheaper. They are two person rooms. Also don't be alarmed if it's not "packed" - like most places in PV there are only a few rooms so it's nice to have your own space:)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank semill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#21 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Verde Guest House
Vista Verde Guest House
#11 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coconut Grove

Property: Cabinas Coconut Grove
Address: Avenidad 71 | Apdo 140-7403, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Coconut Grove are just 200 mts. from Puerto Viejo downtown in comfortable walking distance to super markets, banks, a variety of local and international restaurants and bars, as well as just steps away from the beautiful Caribbean beach.We offer private rooms with shared or private bathrooms as well as one apartment on the lower floor. Convenient prices, tranquil but central location, good service and clean rooms!Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Coconut Grove Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing