We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tree House Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shawandha Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
130
35
9
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
35
9
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach suitehot tubfirst morningzip liningsan josehowler monkeysadventurous spiritcosta ricathe ownerresearch centerwalk metersbeautiful master bedroomwhite water raftingclamswooden spiral staircasepita bonitadown the road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the beach suite, which you have to experience to truly understand. Our favorite part was the top floor bedroom with the sounds of the waves and the animal life. The two children in our family were less enamored with the bugs. We gave them the one air conditioned room. The stove was a little scary but worked fine once you learned its uniqueness. The staff were incredibly helpful and hospitable. There's a lot to do in the vicinity, easily accessed by short taxi rides, including great food.

We wanted to stay in the actual tree house, but it was occupied by a honeymoon couple who graciously gave us a tour. We hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: Choose a place away from the road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

my best friend and i stayed at the tree house lodge for 7 days. we had so many incredible and life changing experiences, mostly because of the wonderful staff at the tree house lodge. we stayed in both the tree house and the beach suite, and each was amazing. the architecture is beautiful, and the grounds are well-maintained.
staying in the tree house was like living a 12-year-old's adventure fantasy. granted, we did do a "spider check" every night (i highly recommend this, just in case. we had one surprise visitor, and it was quite an emotional experience), and some nights it actually sounded like we had howler monkeys in the room with us, but we expected this, traveling to the rainforest. the sounds of nature were actually incredibly soothing. the humidity during the day was kind of intense, but it cooled down at night, so sleeping was never an issue.
the owner upgraded us to the beach suite for our last two nights, and this was an entirely different experience. falling asleep to the sounds of crashing waves and waking up to the beautiful sunrise were amazing. the hammocks were super relaxing, and the jacuzzi inside is filled from the mouth of a giant seahorse. so cool!
having a full kitchen was a big time money saver for us, so we were able to book a couple of extra activities. restaurants in the area, while fantastic, were a little too expensive for every night. we purchased the 7 day adventure package ahead of time, and we are so happy that we did. we got to know boogie boogie, the best guide we could have dreamed of, and he took us hiking through the jungle and swimming under waterfalls. by the end of the trip, we really felt that we had made a new lifelong friend.
edsart the owner/designer was polite, cheerful and kind. martin and caleb at the front desk were so helpful each day. it was a pleasure to return from our activities and be genuinely greeted. eilen (sp?) worked very diligently to maintain the cleanliness of the houses and was very sweet. antonio and david, the security, checked in on us at night and tried their best to communicate, despite a language barrier.
we will absolutely be back and are considering making this an annual trip. there is so much to learn in costa rica, and puerto viejo has some incredible people who really want visitors to experience the best. we challenged ourselves physically and mentally with ziplining, white water rafting, intense hiking, etc., and i am so grateful that we could call the tree house lodge our home. thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What can I possibly say to capture the amazing atmosphere of the tree house lodge?! First off me and 4 friends went big and decided to get the 3 bedroom beach suite. This was pretty much the coolest most amazing ocean house Ive ever seen. The bathroom was out of this world with the snake shower and sea horse jacuzzi. the bedrooms were gorgeous and the house was unbelievable. The wood work in the house is very unique and the wood itself is rich in color and very elegant. the kitchen was perfect, stocked with everything you need. Also if you ever needed your laundry done they have a service for that! outside there is wood burning jacuzzi which is to cool and a barbeque. Literally right out side you take 100 steps down your own private path surrounded by iguanas howling monkey sloths and exotic crabs, and your at the beautiful Caribbean ocean! the warm water is great all times during the day whether its 8 am of 11pm it feel soo good to jump in. lastly the staff at the tree house lodge are so awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! anything you need they are there for you. House cleaning, Laundry, fresh Breakfast/lunch/dinner coconuts, help with tours (horse back riding, ziplining, trips to panama, waterfall tours, the jaguar refuge, ect). They are there for you and you really will enjoy having them around. It is very much so a private house so you will get all the peace and tranquility your searching for with the benefits of a 5 star resort. BEST VACATION EVER. ill be coming back for a life time!
Thank you everyone at the tree house for being part of a life changing experience! cant wait to see you all again soon!

with love

Austin and Hailey

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank austinhailey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I have recently stayed at the Tree House to celebrate our 5-year anniversary. Our experience at the TH has been truly amazing. Everyone (especially Edsart, Caleb, Martin, and Antonio) has been very welcoming and helpful when it came to organizing trips or helping us start a fire in the eco-Jacuzzi.
For our 7-day stay we choose the adventure packet that was offered through the TH. All activities were meticulously planned for us and we didn’t have to worry about a thing. Our favorite activities included the guided nature trips with Booki, who was intimately familiar with local plants and native practices. On most days (except for the white water rafting trip on our last day) we still had enough time to engage in some other activities around the area that we found interesting (strolling though Puerto Viejo, Sloth Sanctuary, and Chocolate Farm).
The property is beautifully kept up with many tropical plants. We especially enjoyed the drinking coconuts at the end of a warm day. Unlike some other reports, I did not find the TH to be run down or in need of repairs. Even though it is pretty much inside of a rain forest, everything was very clean and in perfect working condition. It did take approximately 2 minutes until warm water reached the shower, however, on most days we welcomed the cooling of a cold shower. The beach in front of the property was very private and nice for a relaxing dip. Swimmable parts of the beach are only a short walking distance away (10-15minutes).
We have already talked about returning for our 10-year anniversary. However, we liked the TH so much that we might just have to come back sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in two of their houses: Beach House and Beach Suite. Each is unique, never before have we seen anything like these two houses, and we've traveled a lot. My husband, who knows something about woodwork, could not stop raving about the length of the long boards that were bent to make the spiral staircases. One board went the entire length. What skill! I really liked how open air the houses are. The bottom level of the Beach House can be opened up about 3/4 of the way around to allow the inside and outside merge. The Beach Suite can be opened up a lot, too. We slept in the upstairs bedroom lofts. Open air at each end, the spaces and beds were comfortable, and so close to nature! IN the Beach House, we could hear the howler monkeys, only a few hundred feet away. The first few nights, we experienced heavy tropical downpours, and at each lull, the howlers would howl, making sure of where each of their family was, and that they were okay. It was a wonderful part of Costa Rica, and a part that I still miss! The bathroom in the Beach Suite is gigantic and visually amazing and the one in the Beach House was also special, also large. Now, on the practical level, it was uncomfortably humid in March on the south Caribbean side.
Everything was always damp and the wood was a bit sticky. The showers in both units were funky. Especially in the Beach Suite, the hot and cold water did not mix, so we were scalded and cold at the same time. We basically stood on the side, and did quick rinses. The kitchens allowed my husband, the family chef, to make some delicious meals. We enjoyed the hammocks and the semi-private outside hot tubs. The rain water hot tubs are filled each time, and they are heated with a small fire, which the staff made and kept stoked for us. The hot tub at the Beach House never got hot enough. We think there is a barrier in the piping, that I'm sure they've taken care of by now. The hot tub at the Beach Suite was nice and hot and wonderful. The rain water makes it extra special, so clear you can see your toes! Bugs? Not too bad, but present. No problems with mosquitoes. Overall, both places could use a good cleaning, a little patching up here and there and fresh paint. The beach there did not lend itself to swimming, so we walked a bit south to a better beach, and one time we took the bus to the town further south, which has a great beach. On Sunday, it was full of families and friends relaxing under the trees, with kids and parents playing in the water. Few tourists there. No electronics! Great! Another point in favor of the Tree House Lodge are the restaurants that are close by. We liked the Pita Bonita, Mediterranean food, the best. Would we suggest that you stay at the Tree House Lodge? Definitely

Room Tip: Beach House opens up a lot, and you can hear the howlers. Beach Suite has an amazing bathroom that I had to see. I think we'd stay at the Beach House again. Miss those howlers.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews