We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay to be close to nature”
Review of Tree House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to be close to nature”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked their four day adventure package staying in the tree house and we had a great time. This is certainly the place to stay to be cost to nature and away from the nearby tourist area. The first morning we greeted the day with a troop of howler monkeys, and each morning we shared our coffee time downstairs with the bats feasting on the bugs flying around. Mosquitoes we not a problem even with it being open air. Watching the agouti forage the forest floor around us was a treat. As for the adventure package the zipline tour was beautiful as was the river rafting on the way back to San Jose. It is one of the top five rivers to see in North America and was spectacular.

Room Tip: Be aware that air conditioning isn't guaranteed but the breeze make it comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    34
    9
    13
    9
See reviews for
58
102
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morton,Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our family highly recommends staying at the Tree House Lodge. The staff and owner went over and above to accommodate us. This included communication before the trip, all transportation, a delicious fresh fruit and breakfast tray, security and accommodations. We stayed in the beach suite and it is unique and tasteful. There is lots of room. We could always hear the ocean waves. We set up on the roof top patio with coffee each morning and watched the monkeys. Wow the beach is nice and private. Can't say enough. It does get dark early though, so bring flash lights if you venture into the village. The road is narrow so be cautious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlefitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Tree House Lodge the first three days of our trip. We got the Adventure Package, which included a canopy tour, visist to Jaguar rescue center and whitewater rafting. We stayed at the Garden House, which is close to the road, so there was some road noise, but not enough to be a bother. The house is primarily constructed from bamboo and we enjoyed the front porch and the hot tub. Antonio met us upon our arrival, showed us the house and arranged for bicycles for us to use. The bikes were a must, as there was only 1 restaurant within walking distance, and were a great way to travel around the area for the days we were there. We were picked up at the lodge for all our adventures by the tour companies. We enjoyed our stay here and found Martin and everone else we had contact with to be knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sospel, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed for a few days in the beach suite, a three bedroom house with a yellow submarine bathroom. A delight. Just a 30 second walk to the beach, and nature all around.

The bathroom really is the center piece of of the house - a huge Dali-esque structure that is the size of most people's apartments.

While I agree that this type of accommodation is 'not for everyone', this is no excuse not to keep it properly maintained. The house needs redecoration, and some renovation, throughout. Lighting is poor in the main lounge area.

The staff were discreet and very helpful.

All in all a great pleasure and a charming oasis away from the increasingly tacky encroachments of development along this strip.

Room Tip: One of the houses in this complex is right next to the road. Avoid. Go for the Beach Suite or the Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in the tree house at the Tree House Lodge in February 2014 for a week. It is truly a unique paradise, surrounded by nature and close to the ocean yet with all the amenities needed. The tree house itself was so amazingly constructed, the main floor totally open (except for the main floor bedroom which was enclosed and has a/c) and built around huge trees. The downstairs shower was within a huge tree itself with toilet and rest of the bathroom on the other side of it, sooo neat! The upper part of the tree house was raised on stilts and you walked a swinging bridge to get to it. Inside this part is a king bed, seating area inside and out and another 3 piece bath. Also a nice patio area on the main floor with bbq, hot tub and seating area. Paths leading to the beach are about a 2 minute walk, and the beaches were spectacular as well. Swimming is not good right in front of the lodge but a quick walk down the beach led to beautiful swimming. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and helpful with providing information. Lots to do and see in Punta Uva, yet its very secluded and quiet. We would love to come back and check out a stay in a different house, beautiful spot!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is an eco-lodge in the truest sense of the word: from building materials to hot water (solar) to regular visits by rainforest insects and mammals. We stayed in the tree-house suite proper, built around several living trees, with spacious rooms and bathrooms, good lighting and fans, and very comfortable furniture. Reading in the hammock next to a bird-of-paradise flower during a rainshower, while listening to birds is so far preferable to a sterile hotel (as I've sampled in the D.R. and Yucatan) I couldn't go back. And the dwellings are not only nestled privately in the rainforest, there's an iguana sanctuary a hundred feet away, with a sloth; and the monkeys are always overhead. Biting bugs were really not so bad, and the beds are all netted anyway.
The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful -- you couldn't ask for more -- setting up rainforest excursions and recommending restaurants. The kitchen could have been better supplied with good cooking utensils, but everything worked well; and superb coffee (Cari-Bean!!) and fresh fruit can be accessed with an easy bike ride.
So what's to detract? Well, two small things: (a) the solar-heated showers are meant for quickly cleaning off in less than five minutes, not lingering or luxuriating, which is great for the serious eco-tourist but maybe a bit stringent for someone who wants more on vacation, especially considering the price. (b) Unless your trip is in the september/october calm season you may find access to a swimmable beach more of a hike than you'd hoped. We enjoyed walking along the road or up the beach alongside the crashing waves, but it's not a place for rolling out of bed into a welcoming sea. These are minor details, probably negligible for many, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with great excursions, beach walks and swims, wonderful meals at a number of restaurants, and the perfect hospitality of the owner and his staff. But the place is probably not for everyone.

Room Tip: We liked the Tree House, but from the outside they all looked good. The key is to make reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Garden House for 7 nights in November 2013 and absolutely loved it. It became like home, we had more than enough room for the 2 of us and the occasional visit from Sol the owner's dog. Caleb and Martin were excellent hosts checking each day how they could help and if we wanted anything but apart from our morning visits we were left to our own devices in this botanic garden paradise. We had a sloth join us in the palm tree in front of the Garden House, we saw sloths, bats, monkeys, red eyed tree frogs, iguanas, crabs, and more all at very close distance and got some fantastic photographs within metres of the Garden House. You can wander through the gardens and easily not see another person as you walk to the beach just 2 minutes from the house through the garden. We went on a free tour with Boogie Boogie, the bush man, around the grounds and also paid for a night-time jungle hike with Boogie Boogie which was excellent, we also paid for horse-riding down the beach. Our favourite trip was to the Jaguar Rescue Center which has loads of animals which stay to be rehabilitated before being released, we preferred this to the sloth sanctuary. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the hammock and got everything we needed from pain au chocolat and wine to converter plugs and torches from the excellent El Duende Gourmet supermarket down the road. Antonio who is the security guard was very friendly and helpful settling us in and seeing us off and preparing our hot tub - which was still hot the next day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Kukula Lodge
La Kukula Lodge
#3 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House Lodge

Property: Tree House Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of primary school in Playa Chiquita | Punta Uvs, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only tree house right on the beach of the southern Caribbean of Costa Rica. This is your best nature hotel and romantic hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tree House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree House Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tree House Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing