We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, property not well maintained. Dont be fooled!”
Review of Tree House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, property not well maintained. Dont be fooled!”
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This stay was the second leg of our 12 day trip to Costa Rica. We were looking forward to our stay at Tree House and to say the least we were very disappointed. We had reservations to stay at t he Beach house our first two nights and then the Beach Suite for our last two. Within 5 minutes of walking into the Beach House we were asking for an upgrade. It is a lot smaller than it appeared in the pictures and it had a very uncomfortable smell. Other concerns included a second floor that is completely open to outside elements and bugs. We completely understand it is an Eco minded facility but simple screens to control bugs would be nice. We walked back to the reception desk admiring the poorly maintained grounds with overgrown weeds and rotten fruit on the paths and asked to be upgraded to the Beach Suite if it was available. Of course, the Beach Suite was available but at our cost. We took the upgrade because we couldn’t see staying in the Beach House. Once in the Beach Suite, the best of the three houses, we were yet again disappointed. The second floor was like the Beach House and open to outside elements as well as the kitchen. Again, we don’t mind rustic but simple screens would be really nice. The bathroom, which is supposed to be the greatest thing in Costa Rica also let us down. The plant that was hanging over the shower was dead and needed some serious TLC. The hot tub was not filled and had about 6 inches of dirty brown water at the bottom, we had mold by the showers and the artistic sculptures had pieces missing from them which really took away from the look. There was a bedroom with a small air conditioning unit which sounded like a Mack truck and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. The beach was also a letdown. We knew that the beach was not great and was told to walk about ten minutes south to "better beaches". Not the case. The beaches were a little better but the best beach was north in Cocles. All in all, Tree House was an extremely expensive stay which was not worth a third of what we paid. The only good thing was that we were able to find MUCH better places to stay nearby with better beaches, closer to town and about $300 cheaper per night. We will definitely return to the area but will stay away from Tree House!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    35
    9
    14
    9
See reviews for
60
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My mom, wife, and I stayed for one night because we have some family coming here during the summer. We enjoyed our time, but it didn't feel worth the $250 per night. We stayed at the Bamboo house (pros/cons below). Some discussion on the other properties are below as well.

Positives (bamboo house):
* Nice outdoor hangout/eating area. We brought food back at night, and ate outside and talked for a few hours. It was very relaxing, and we were not attacked by bugs at all.
* The sort of open shower/bathroom area was awesome. It felt like one was outside and could even partake in conversations happening on the deck.
* Good kitchen appliances, pots, and tableware.
* Great water pressure and hot water.
* Comfortable beds with great mosquito netting.
* Security guard, Antonio, was very talkative and friendly, and we appreciated the way he showed us around.
* Breakfast was good.
* Secluded feeling. There are only a few properties on site, and they are well spaced out. As a result, it felt like we were there by ourselves.

Negatives (Bamboo house)
* Backed up right against the road. As a result, the car noise was loud in the morning, and took away from the atmosphere.
* The beach out front (2 minute walk) is not swimabble as it is not sandy in the water. We walked out on it, and ended up standing on urchins. Ouch! We then had to spend time using tweezers on our feet. The beach is fine for lying out in the sun, but don't go swimming there. Walk 10-15 minutes to the south to Punta Uva for a wide open and pleasant swimming beach.
* $250 for one night for the 3 of us felt expensive.

Negatives (Tree House):
* Really close to reception, thus looses some of the privacy feel.
* Much darker and dingier than the website makes it look. The treehouse is wide open, and it seemed like the apolstery would always be damp.
* The treehouse is covered by a tarp. This took away from the appeal of the place.
* The kitchen is nothing special. The Bamboo's kitchen is definitely better/nicer.

Overall, we wouldn't recommend someone stay at the tree house. The bamboo lodge was fine. The suite's seemed like the best options. That said, the place still feels expensive for what you get. We felt like we got better value at Tierra de Sueños.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica.
We went on the 3 nights 4 days adventure package and had a brilliant time! The tree house is a wonderfully unusual place to stay with all but one bedroom being open to the rainforest. Very eco friendly, but then most of the places we stayed in CR were. There were simple but adequate cooking facilities, clean bathrooms and one of the bedrooms was closed off from the outside world for those of us who aren't lovers of creepy crawlies.
The beach is a 5 minute walk away. A small number of food shops and restaurants are within waking distance, for anything more we needed a taxi.
Only small complaint was lack of information regarding the adventure activities that were part of the package deal (eg, we went on a trip to a waterfall and weren't told that we'd be swimming there so hadn't brought bathing suits, not the end of the world as our clothes dried pretty quickly) and the activities weren't the ones that had been on the website when we booked.
Last little hiccup was that the coach to take us back to San Jose had forgotten to pick us up (through no fault of the tree house). Most annoying was that we couldn''t get in touch with anyone to sort it out for one hour, when the bus had to turn around to fetch us (other passengers were understably a bit annoyed...).
But all in all, an excellent experience that I would thoroughly recommend.
(ps bring mosquito repellant and a torch!)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the beach house. Very private location off the noisy road. Secluded but yet felt safe. Beautiful woodwork, wood floors, spacious kitchen, great bathroom, gorgeous gardens, ocean is just down the path. The house is out of the ordinary, open air, hear the crash of the waves and the jungle at night. You have to get use to the jungle noises and the bats around, but the net around the bed makes you feel amazingly secure from all the life about. Very few bugs believe it or not. Coffee in the morning on the deck was our favorite spot . We watched monkeys in the trees, a sloth, tucans nesting above, hummingbirds, and a morpho (blue) butterfly. A little dusty inside on the wood, but linens were very clean. Friendly host. About double the price of nice hotel rooms in the area, but this is your own, very unique secluded home on the beach. Great restaurants & fun town nearby. Recommend renting a scooter to get about to beaches, rain forest, and small towns. Rafting on the Pacua River is awesome. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeitfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvannia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Staying in the tree house was an amazing experience. We were taken at first by the openness of the house, but we came to really love and appriciate living with nature. We got married on the Tree Houses Lodges beach and it was above and beyond our expectations. The owner (who is a very caring man) and his crew to our suprise cleaned of the beach (of natural debry), lined a walk way with bright and beautyful flowers, created me a gorgeous boquet and had a heart made out of flowers on the beach with bouquets around. They made our once in a life time experience become a Dream come True, they really care about their customers... One of the other benifit of the Tree House Lodge was their extraordinary property. There was lushness everywhere... There is an Iguana reserve that we got to walk through eveyday and incredible jungle lined beaches. There were not many spots to swim right in front of their property, but their is awesome coral lining the beach. On our morning stroll down the beach we were able to see monkeys and sloths everyday, as well as so many different kinds of flora, palm trees and an assortment of other wildlife. This is an amazing place, and we have all ready been taking about going back on our anniversary.... (just be aware of your surroundings in town)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautyfly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed 8 days in the beach house on the property of the tree house lodge. We enjoyed our stay here. It was out first time to Costa Rica. The Hospitality was great always willing to help. It rained for the first 5 days we were there so the open aired house made everything damp alot. We wished for some places to put our clothes, Only two drawers in the whole house to put clothes for four people. We also wished there was more comfotable seating. Bean bag chairs and bar stools are not to comfortable to sit and have good conversation while it rained. There was two benches to sit on, but for four people they are on opposite sides of the porch so you couldn't really talk to each other. Other than that we found it fun to wake up to the open air in the loft and a sloth right outside our window. This is a very unique place, We enjoyed that and the nature all around us. With some more storage places for clothes and more comfortable chairs we would recommend this unique lodge for the nature hunters of the world. Oops I almost forgot to metion the wonderful work this lodge is to doing help save the green iguanna. Way to go guys! They have a tour twice a week. Our guide told us alot of information about the enviornment and the history of costa rica.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TroyMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

If you're adventuresome and like the unbeaten path, then this is the place for you. Stay in both the Tree House and the Beach House for a good overall experience. We stayed with a 2 and 5 year old and they LOVED the Tree House, the grounds, the beach, and Edsart's puppies. They loved it all even the bumpy Costa Rican roads. Edsart is a wonderful person and his staff are genuinely sweet. This area of Costa Rica is only for travelers who like it simple, natural and pure. It's not for those craving luxury however the Tree House and Beach House are very well done. You must not mind a few critters and the sounds of the Jungle. It's a wonderful intimate experience with nature, beauty and honesty. Edsart's, the owner, intentions are very genuine. No restaurant on the property was a plus for us. I'd prefer to be closer to nature than a restaurant. Rent bikes for getting around. They're great exercise, they have baskets and they're a blast. After dark we used flash lights to get around and found it to great adventure!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Los-Angeles1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House Lodge

Property: Tree House Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of primary school in Playa Chiquita | Punta Uvs, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only tree house right on the beach of the southern Caribbean of Costa Rica. This is your best nature hotel and romantic hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tree House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree House Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tree House Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing