We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced,uncomfortable,and not worth it!”
Review of Tree House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 January 2010

just want to start by saying i am a well experienced traveller, especially in latin america, and the caribbean. i have stayed in many "eco friendly" hotels. bottom line is that the tree house lodge should reconsider there prices! the beach was nice, and the owners were friendly, but when you are charging $300/night... a few more amenities would have been nice. the other hotel i stayed at down the road was called le cameleon , and by all means is a complete different atmosphere than the tree house lodge almost like a miami beach hotel compared to a japanese pow camp in ww2. le cameleon had a great breakfast with many options included daily, a pool, beach club, bar/ restaurant , and the rooms were very clean with no bugs or mildew on the sheets. the kicker is that it is almost half of what they charge at the tree house. so if you want to be an uncomfortable and "green,"and also have the green to waste... so be it, pura vida.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdpCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed in the Beach House for two nights: Christmas and the day after (which happened to be my 30th birthday). We absolutely loved it!

We stayed at three places in the Puerto Viejo area. This was probably our favorite because it was the most luxurious. But, it's rather expensive so we couldn't afford to stay there each night of our trip.

The grounds at Tree House are lovely. We loved our little Beach House and we especially loved the private section of the beach we had. We made lots of use of that! It was maybe a two minute walk to the ocean and each time we went for a walk or a swim, usually no one else was there. There are guards that walk about so it was a very safe place to stay. One of them even got us coconuts from one of the trees and cut it open for us.

There are many interesting animals to see on the grounds at Tree House. We saw a couple of three-toed sloths and one of them was very close to us. We heard howler monkeys twice a day. And there is a green iguana conservation project there as well.

We arrived well before our check-in and they allowed us to change into our swimsuits and hang out on the beach while our room was getting prepared. They also watched our luggage, which was locked in our car.

It was a very nice place to stay. We really loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We enjoyed our 5 day stay in paradise. The people are very friendly and the location is beautyful. Shops and restaurants are nearby and the beach is beautyful. We stayed in the bambu house which is really nice. The iguana project is great.

Volker and Anne

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

So much to say... but I'll do my best to keep as brief as possible so you don't get tired of reading. We absolutely loved this place!

My husband and I came to visit for our honeymoon for a week and stayed in two of the Tree House Lodge's different homes. I should be up front and honest. If you are the type of person that classfies yourself as "high-maintenance" (you know who you are), then this area of Puerto Viejo/Punta Uva just isn't for you. So visualize: beach, road, jungle. That's Puerto Viejo/Punta Uva area in a nutshell... I've been to this area twice in the past year, and absolutely adore it. This little piece of country is a gem! But the tree house lodge is a place where you can just really enjoyed the presence of your partner/family and just get in touch with nature (if you like), or have a great adventure. I find it's an area that attracts mostly surfers, yogis and nature/ecological preservationists, and yet you still get to experience the culture. Beautiful place and the tree house lodge fits in just beautifully!

We spend the first part of our vacation in the Beach House. Incredible, private set up just a 50-100 m walk away from the breaking waves of the Carribean Sea. I'm attaching some pictures, because I'm not sure that my description will do it justice. We arrived late but Gerrardo greeted us and brought us to the Beach House. We were pleasantly surpised to be brough fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheese and juice for breakfast the next morning by Pam and Gerrardo the next morning. The space was immaculate and more than enough space for two people. The bathroom was really impressive! You can take showers together here, because there are two shower heads and the water pressure is good. However, it takes bit before the hot water comes because it is so far away from the hot water tank. They will change your sheets and towels on a daily basis, but only if you ask. If you're from North America, you'll find that things tend to have a hard time drying in Costa Rica... it's a rather humid area, so things sort of stay damp. I'll leave a tip below concerning this fact. Some things to be aware of at this location. There are no screens in the windows here and it keeps in line with being closer to nature. Some Westerners may be uneasy about this, but i assure you there is nothing to worry about. There are mosquito nets on the beds and this keep the geckos, moths, etc. from disturbing you while you sleep. All day and night you can hear the sea crashing on the beach and it's a lovely lullaby the fall asleep to.

We met with Edsart the owner and Mauricio the next day. Both were extremely accomodating and we were so grateful that Mauricio set up all our day trips through Terraventures. Whenever you get the chance go wtih Boogie! This guy made our trip to Costa Rica really enjoyable. So much to learn from, and super funny!

By the week's end it was time to move shop to th Bamboo house. laso an extremely lovely venue. This one was more suitable to entertaining a larger a group, like two couples or a family. There was a large living room, two bedrooms upstairs and a great porch to socialize at. The bathroom was also impressive! Pretty open concept... have to admit I prefer to shower withint the confines of a four walled bxo with a door... but this place is pricate enough you wouldn't be snuck up on. In comparison to the beach house, it is right beside the road, so you still hear traffic and people walking by at night, but you can still hear the beach from this location. The other impressive thing is how clearly you can see the sky at night and the ridiculous display of stars that I would never be able to see in the metropolis night of the city I live in. Truly impressive!

I have to tell you the staff was jsut super accomodating. We were planning on paying by paypal on our last night... which happened to be a Sunday, and no one works reception on Sunday. Luckily, Gerrardo was able to get a hold of Edsart and Mauricio however, we had problems geting approval with our pay pal account. Just our luck of course... only happens when you need it. Luckily there is a BCR machine in Puerto Viejo and it dispenses Colones as well as USD, so we were able to pay in cash last minute.

We really had a fabulous time at the tree house lodge. If ou enjoy camping and have an adventurous nature, you will absolutely enjoy this venue. Beware, you may be lucky enough to be adopted by a local Potcake... basically a mutt... absolutely impressive how well behaved and loyal to their stomachs. But don't be surprised is any random dogs decide to befriend and follow you for a couple hours to a couple of days!

TIPS FOR THE FIRST TIME TRAVELLER:
* if you are renting a car: print many maps!! GSP isn't necessary... somehow we made it there and back! only took us about 20 min to get out of San Jose, but I wouldn't say it was easy, so don't try it id there isn't any sunlight. The Roads in San Jose are not marked. There are no street signs, but once you find your way out of the city to Highway 32, you're fine. Just less than half a tank will easily get you to Puerto Viejo.

* the BCR maching, as I mentioned, dispenses Colones and US dollars. It accepts CIRRUS and PLUS. Also accepts VISA or MC if you have cash advnace options and a PIN #.

* Extremely Humid/Damp climate. Sheets and clothes will always feel a little damp unless straight out of the dryer. Therefore, if you go swimming in the sea water, bring CAMP SOAP to clean your swim suits... or your suit will stink something awful!

* Good place to eat: Maxi's in Manzanillo, Elena Brown's, Monita Bonita's, Bread and Chocolate in Puerto Viejo, and Selvin's juust about a 10 min walk south of the Tree House Lodge.

*eating out is cheap and plentiful! You can have a huge, full meal and a couple beers for $20-$30 US. Totally ridiculous... and all the food was extremely flavourful, and well prepared!

*if you are planning on bring back Britt Coffee... purchase it at the airport on your way home. It is actually cheaper there!

* if you want to do horse back riding, try Seahorse Stables. Shortest ride is about 3hrs for $55 USD.

* if you're into yoga there is yoga Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 8:30am at the Tree House Lodge for $4. There's also a number of other places in town that offer early morning practice for cheap!!!!

Anyway, I hope that you foudn this posting useful. I will be attaching photos of the homes that we stayed in and of the beautiful Potcake (mutt) dog that adopted us too.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christine1234Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our family of 6, including 4 boys ages 9, 12, 17 & 18 and my wife and I, just returned from a fantastic week of adventure, education & relaxation at the uniquely fabulous Costa Rica Tree House Eco-Lodge!!! Absolutely the trip of a lifetime for all of us!!! My wife and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in all types of accommodations from French castles to Italian convents to Egyptian Resorts and Greek hostels and NOTHING compares to the unique feel and ambiance of the Costa Rica Tree House. We let Mauricio, the Lodge's charming and soft-spoken general manager schedule the "Adventure Package" for our stay in Puerta Vieja and suggest to EVERYONE that you do the same. We zip-lined through the rainforest canopy, took a guided hike through the forest floor, witnessed ancient indigenous life in the rain forest, swam in a pristine pool below a spectacular waterfall and rafted down one of the most beautiful rivers in the world without lifting a finger to schedule a thing. My wife and I even enjoyed an afternoon of relaxation with a couple’s massage on the Beach Suite’s private veranda while the boys learned the ancient art of making chocolate by hand. Fortunately, they brought us some back from their tour!!

Now don't misunderstand, the Costa Rica Tree House is not the Ritz-Carlton or Beaches Turks & Caicos, or even St. Lucia's Ladera. Like Ladera, the Tree House suites are open to nature and subject to visits from the occasional gecko or frog. Of course, you also get a yard full of breathtaking beauty with blooming bird of paradise, native banana, pineapple, mango, starfruit and, of course, coconut palms. It is an Eco-Lodge that exists to finance owner, Edsart's Green Iguana Sanctuary and Research Center. The emphasis is 100% focused on the rain forest's natural beauty and they do it very well! If you are looking for "upgrades" like the reviewer whose diatribe I read a few pages down, then do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, but if you are a sophisticated and adventurous traveler looking for a truly unique experience in one of the world's most spectacularly beautiful settings, then by all means stay with Edsart, Mauricio and the very friendly and dedicated staff of the Costa Rica Tree House! But, be sure and take a flashlight, because there are no streetlights to mar the night-time beauty and plan to get up early, because the howler monkeys in your backyard get up at 5:00 am and you'll want to watch them play in the trees!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christiOakRidgeTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed at the treehouse one night during our honeymoon in Costa Rica and we could not have made a better choice. The treehouse is incredible and wonderful. We would have moved in, if at all possible. There is plenty of room for 6 people, but there were only the two of us, so it was very roomy and we felt exactly like we were kids running around, playing, cooking, relaxing, hanging in the hammock, out on the little patio among the heliconias, our own private walk way to the beach replete with lizards, crabs, and surrounded by jungle trees, plants, and wildlife. Upon our arrival at the treehouse, we were greeted (even with our poor Spanish skills) by the friendly folks working there and we were immediately shown a three-toed sloth that was just hanging out in the tree. A young boy gave us two green coconuts to drink and replenish ourselves after having spent the day driving and sweating buckets. Yes, it is hot in Costa Rica, but the treehouse kept us cool with the one air conditioned bedroom option, which we used for a little while but opted to hang out upstairs in the trees otherwise. There is a hanging chair swing upstairs and another separate bath with a natural rain shower experience. The mosquito net was perfect, though with the rains we got while we were there, it was not really needed. Bring repellent, but it's not so bad really. Besides, the upstairs also has screens and is not really completely open to nature. We even had the neat experience of trying to save a blue morpho butterfly that got in. It was beautiful so up close. The breakfast was superb--fresh fruits and cheese, juice, and great Costa Rican coffee. The grounds and staff at the Costa Rica treehouse are wonderful and friendly. Boogie Boogie will give you tips on the area and Mauricio treated us so kindly, even working with us to change our reservation date when we had a change of plans. Don't listen to bad reviews, make up your own mind, but remember this is not a place for you if you don't like an outdoor feel. If you do, then opt for the beach house with the incredible bathroom. Thank you again Mauricio and Boogie Boogie! We love the treehouse and we shall return as soon as possible. Peace.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyshinesoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I booked this trip for our 20th wedding anniversary. We liked the ecological and conservation ideas that the Tree House Lodge is based on. Their website was very informative and clear and helped us in preparing and we knew what to expect. We were not disappointed. The grounds of the Tree House Lodge are absolutely beautiful and the beach house was perfect for us. The staff at the Llodge were there to answer all our questions and to make recommendations when they were needed. The surrounding community had all that we needed with respect to food and shopping and we really never felt the need to go into town, although it would have been an easy thing to do if we wished to. Tip: If you are just going to the Tree house Lodge, I would recommend arranging to be picked up and dropped off at the airport in San Jose. The Lodge staff can set this up for you. We rented a car and figured we would slowly find our way and enjoy the sites. It took us 2 1/2 hours just to find our way out of San Jose. There is not a single street sign in town, really, I'm not kidding. Other than that, our trip went as planned and we thank the staff at the Tree House Lodge for making it happen.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank risu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House Lodge

Address: 200 meters south of primary school in Playa Chiquita | Punta Uvs, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £177 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only tree house right on the beach of the southern Caribbean of Costa Rica. This is your best nature hotel and romantic hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tree House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree House Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tree House Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing