We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few frills, but a nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was constructed in the jungle in an environmentally conscious manner and is very close to the beach. The staff members are friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in a relatively remote location (a couple kilometers from the nearest towns on either side) but busses run regularly between the towns. Given the open concept (screens and curtains rather than walls) this place won't be for everyone - privacy is limited and very small bugs can make it through the screens - but for those who don't mind being close to nature, it's a great find.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were recommended Almonds and Corals by a great guy we met on the inter is from San Jose to Puerto Viejo. Upon arrival the staff was more than welcoming. The owner walked us down the path to the beach to ensure we knew the safest places to swim and not get caught in the rip tides. This was a lovely personal touch. The cabins are clean with beautiful canopy beds and a hammock. They have biodegradable soap so you don't have to worry about polluting the natural environment. The linens were very fresh. Breakfast is included with your stay. We had amazing fresh fruit, outstanding coffee and a freshly made omelette. Outside of the reception area we spotted a baby sloth and toucans. There is amazing wildlife to be seen all around the hotel. Although we came as a couple we would definitely bring our 2 year old as this would be a great place for a family.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lsalmiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place COULD be nice if it's what you're into...there's no A/C, no WiFi, no privacy and NO way I'd EVER stay here again.
#1 the food is no good
#2 the beach is...meh
#3 all sorts of creepy crawlies in AND outside
#4 those creepy crawlies NEVER shut up
#5 the shower isn't really a shower at all.
#6 the jacuzzi spits out black gunk
#7 the mosquitoes give you dengue fever
#8 even the locals say it's a total dump
#9 the nearest town is 12km away
#10 the mosquito net bed canopy does NOT keep ANY bugs out (especially mosquitoes, beetles, stink bugs, cockroaches, grasshoppers and lightning bugs)
The list could go on, but I'm tired of typing. It's gross and nothing like the sanctuary it claims to be (unless you're a lizard or a snake or a spider or some other type of jungle dweller). Unless you are looking for a true outdoorsy , one-with-nature type of experience.... STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kymberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice. First time was a long time ago when it was more basic and it was amazing... a comfortable camping in the middle of the jungle!. The second time was recently for work and i've noticed a big upgrade: now some rooms have jacuzzi and they are very nice constructions with a sense of amplitude and very nice finishes.
I also appreciate their conscience at the time of building this, with no impact on nature.
The staff is very friendly and the owner was very helpful and collaborated a lot with us for the production.
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManuTahilramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

It's a no frills, pretending eco-nature hotel. Very expensive, noisy if the next door bungalow is occupied, you feel there is no privacy, very limited restaurant menu, plus orange juice glass size the same as a credit card!!, we tought it was something between hilarious and being really, really cheap!!
The hotel requires a lot of maintenance which I dont think is given.
First and last visit, at least they had a 50% off the regular rate

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Un excelente espacio en el Caribe Sur de Costa Rica, Bajo la Selva Humeda Tropical y cerca del mar... Nada Mejor!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernesto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you want to be in the jungle and just steps away from the Caribbean sea on a beach practically for just yourself...this is the place to go! The experience of the hotel was amazing...the sounds of the jungle in the beautifully decorated bungalows! The food was very nice and the staff very friendly! This is a place to go !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,062 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Almonds and Corals Hotel
#9 of 18 in Manzanillo
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Address: 10 Kms Sur De Puerto Viejo S/N, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing