We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd and 4th day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azania Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Azania Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“3rd and 4th day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great 3 star lodge close to beach. Wonderful gardens and bungalow
with flat screen tv and english channels. Local town 3 min by car
regga life musik at the beach ... lazy mon... laxy man.. try the tacos,
15 miles to park . Entry fee $10 per person, must walk. Rountrip 5 miles.
nice, but no animal's. Hotel offers eggs made to order with fruit, juice and coffee or tea, also pancakes.
Nice relaxing small pool to cool off. Recommend. MeuterMedia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    101
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
53
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here only one night but there is everything what you need for the rest. There is nice swimming pool, great and friendly staff, you can choose your breakfast meal and bungalows are really nice- the feeling is like in the jungle house and just 5 min walk is a beach- great feelings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

To the credit of Azania I will say the staff is friendly. It is also directly across the street from a beautiful, albeit bare, beach -- no vendors to buy drinks from or rent loungers-- just a sandy beach with surfers and sun bathers. Mostly, I think my expectations were set a little too high coming from another resort in different part of Costa Rica. Here's what we didn't like: the bed was rock hard, the bungalows were too close to one another. Because they have screen windows all the way around and there's not enough distance between them, you can hear your neighbors more clearly than you'd like to (and they hear you!). The walk into Puerto Viejo is LONG- 30 min long! The showers are affixed with a water heating shower head that heats the cold water as it flows through the head. I'm saying there is no hot water! The shower water is heated to 'warm' (only cold in the faucet), not hot, and unless you are directly under the water flow you feel pretty darn cold in the open air bathroom with no shower curtain or shower doors to insulate you. Overall It wasn't the worst experience ever, but I wouldn't recommend it and we won't be back. I suggest being sure Puerto Viejo is your kind of place before planning your trip to begin with. It has a very hippie (ganja smoking freely) backpacker/hostel, surfer, barefoot, smelly vibe. A local described it as "unspoiled" compared to the Pacific coast where it's more upscale (according to the local). I wish we'd gone to there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The lodges are really well ventilated and have multiple beds. On the porch you have a hammock, which is fabulous for reasing a book or just taking a nap. The lodge is located next to the main road in tallamanca and the beach is just a few meters away.
The breakfast at the hotel is ok, you have to choose the day before what you want.
One night nobody felt like driving to the village so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. Which was a great surprise, the skewers where absolutely delicious. Not something we expected here.
Overall one of the nicest places we have stayed during our Costa Rica trip

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevendj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Bungalows at Azania are highly recommended. The bungalows are clean, you have a lot of room, the hammock is brilliant. The showers are not hot or cold bit that's fine in this climate.The complex has a nice pool, is close to the beach. Warning: Diner here is overpriced and not recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The location is nice and the bungalows very spacious in a great setting. Breakfast was fair and after an intend to repair the showerhead to get hot water, the answer was, this is what it gets...
Had some issues chinché and hence the bedlinen was plenty, which provoked a lot of bites.
The bungalows are a great experience because in fact, you have the sensation to sleep outside, as you hear every single animal that walks around :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The rooms where immaculate, beautifully decorated, roomy and comfortable. The staff was superb, the grounds exceptionally tended. You can spend hours of undisturbed tranquility swinging from the hammock in the front porch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azania Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azania Bungalows

Property: Azania Bungalows
Address: Cocles Beach | Cocles Beach, 1 Mile South of Puerto Viejo, Road to Manzanillo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 86-7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Azania Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Azania Bungalows Hotel Puerto Viejo
Azania Hotel Puerto Viejo
Azania Bungalows Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing