We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic with a view”
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaya's Place
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“rustic with a view”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Close to town, but far enough away to be able to get a good nights sleep. The staff is great, especially Kendra the girl at the front desk!! I miss relaxing in one of the hammocks on the upstairs balcony overlooking the ocean!! It's basic accommodations but as long as you do not have unrealistic expectations about what you get for a $30 room, you won't be disappointed!! for $50 you can upgrade to a room with AC if the heat is too much for you, as long as there is availability. We stayed here one night on the way to Bocas del toro, Panama and on the way back. A special thanks to the owner TJ who was kind enough to let us keep our rental car parked on the property and most of our luggage in the office so we only had to bring a small bag with us on our side trip to Panama!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    60
    25
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
51
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place to stay and super friendly but make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning because if you don't you won't sleep well, love the fact that the restaurant and bar are there for the evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had stayed in two other places, yet Kaya's staff was the most friendly and accomodating; their low rates allowed me to experience other wonderful places in the region (jaguar rescue center, cacao plantation, cahuita national forest, relax visits with the locals). The owner (JT) is warm and welcoming, the cook (Dulce) prepares the best salads ever, the front desk person (Shamari) was very helpful and friendly. I love Kaya's and will return again!

Room Tip: Travelled sola, and so I got just what I needed--a small room, windows, and a fan, clean towels and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We spent the last days of our Central America trip at Kaya's place and had a great time! The place is located on the beach and a 5 minute walk away from Puerto Viejo. This means it is close to the fun, but still nice and quiet. Make sure to taste TJ's own brewed beer and eat some of Christopher's delicious specials! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here for 10 weeks and loved every moment. The staff is great and very courteous. There is a guard on duty every night for those who may not feel safe. The owner is a great guy to hang out with and drink some homemade brew and talk about Phish concerts. Definitely bring your iPod to hook up to the stereo and he'll be glad to let you crank your tunes. One of the great things about Kaya's is that it is just outside of town so you can get both quiet and solitude while also having access to all the amenities. Seriously, if you are planning to go to Puerto, check this place out. If you see Linda give her some hot dogs (she's the house dog) and she'll be your best friend.

Say hi to Mike and his volcano if he's still there.

Room Tip: I stayed in Apt 2 which had a kitchen. It was very spacious and very cool. Only thing is it had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Secluded, and with as close to a private beach as you can be, Kaya's place won't disappoint! The check in is easy and amazingly budget friendly so you can stay that extra week and its barely what you would normally pay in the states for a night! For two weeks, I got to remain as 'plugged in' as I wanted to be, for being abroad, all on the free WiFi. The sand across the street is unlike any other sand I've felt. The black sand is magnetic! (Locals claiming healing properties) I lulled to sleep by the waves and was greeted by the wait staff at the restaurant below with everything i wanted in a breakfast :-) Every area was clean and stocked. Every wall is covered in gorgeous murals setting the perfect tone of 'tropical paradise, is here'. I highly recommend Kaya's place and Luke's Tap Room. The ginger mead ale was my all time favorite ale; spicy and full of ginger! Yum!!!

Room Tip: There are hammocks are through out the facility but room 6 has the only room with the door at the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Kaya's Place is on of the most unique lodgings in Puerto Viejo. There are no cookie-cutter hotel rooms, but individual artworks where each room has rustic, hand-carved furniture and colorful painted murals on the walls. It sits across the road from the Black Beach, so you never have to wander far for a swim. As a "beer nerd," for me the best part is their bar/restaurant. The owner has his own local homebrews, "Bri Bri Brewing," and a collection of Belgian Ale taps.
It is about a 5 minute walk to town, so a walk at night can be intimidating, but this is more a reflection of Costa Rica. The hotel itself has good security. Since each room is uniquely designed, be sure you ask about the individual room and see pictures, so that you know what you are booking. Shamary is nice and helpful if you have any issues.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are cooler, but all rooms have fans and some with A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raligitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#65 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
151 reviews
3.4 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Playa Chiquita
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#35 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Property: Kaya's Place
Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing