We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would most definitely recommend.”
Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaya's Place
1 review
“Would most definitely recommend.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent 2 weeks here, and absolutely loved it. Everybody that works there was so friendly.
It's right on a beautiful beach, close to the town centre. You are able to rent a bike for really cheap if you wish to.
I travel to a lot of places, and would never normally go to the same place twice, however if I could, I'd be back there within a heart beat.
Rooms are huge and beautifully decorated.
They also brew there own beer which is definitely worth a try!

Loved my stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiiie1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    58
    24
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
50
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very kick back comfortable week in Feb. upgraded to room with kitchen. Great staff. Thnx Samary for helping get my lost luggage! Greetings to JT, Rose, Anthony (what? You're a meanie? Luv ya Philly), Dex, Ale, and all staff. Thnx. Martha and Nate enjoyed all! Miss my treetop room from chilly rainy California.

Room Tip: Close to town. Close to beach. Can be worth an upgrade for kitchen and take advantage of close groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ask chofer to stop at the hostel, aprox. 200m before basstation. Close to the beach playa negra. Close to shops and restaurants and to more beaches. Fancyful painted inside. Ask for a room not just above the bar if yoy want to go to sleep early. In our room we couldn't hear the waves from the sea because of the trafic. There are cosy alojaments in the garden that might be better in that opion. People are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria bc canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I'm more of a hotel person but loved Kayas place ...my room was clean it's in a great location ...except at night where you can't walk at night across the bridge but taxis are around so make sure you take one!...

I think people get the "real" owner nice guy name JT..and the pretend miserable negative man "Anthony" confused in previous reviews ..

The staff is lovely there and most are volunteers ..well this guy Anthony acts like he is the owner and gives a great place a bad name...I've seen him belittle staff (volunteers) in front of guests and made them upset and cry..he even is super rude to guests calling them stupid and all sorts of names.

Still loved it here and would stay again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here, it was one of the best accomodations on my Costa Rica trip. Yes, it's a bit outside of the city but that's what makes its charme. I would've never wanted to stay in town - too dusty and sometimes noisy. The house it built of wood with nice colorful paintings on the wall, the front is open to the beach which is right across the street and it's really quiet and pieceful while you can still have a great evening with a couple of drinks at the bar/restaurant with super nice staff that make you feel like it's your home really fast. Don't expect binge drinking till 3am, but some nice draught beer, ice cold Imperial or even cocktails, long drinks or shots till late evening. The chillout area in front and in the first floor with hammocks and sofas makes it easy to meet other travellers. All stuff is very nice and helpful if it comes to laundry service, bike rental, tour booking. It's a 5 minute walk to town which is really nice and offers some restaurants, bars, shops. If you rent a bike (available at the hotel) you can visit the beautiful beaches south of town. Yes, the beach in front is not the most beautiful one but the one in town is neither. So go by bike, car or quad south and explore the beaches and nice cafes on the road. Beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diepunika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for the weekend- its a few minutes walk from town, and across the street from the black sand beach. We only booked one night because it was a little expensive and we wanted to shop around for a cheaper hostel- but decided to stay a second because we could have the same room. My husband and I opt for a private room now that we're married, which was very clean and nicely decorated.

The beds were not the most comfortable, and we brought better pillows. They have free parking, and very friendly/helpful staff. I would say that the WiFi could be better.

Good place to stay if you want a little nicer than a bunk room/cold shower hostel.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms are worth it if you prefer privacy and AC, if not they have dorm rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

So good, really friendly and really nice rooms. Met so many people and had a bonfire on the beach would definitely recommend for those travelling on a low budget. Felt like family after the first few days!! Good beaches and shopping everyone knows everyone

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#17 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#4 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Neg...
#29 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Property: Kaya's Place
Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing