We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaya's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaya's Place
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Located a few minutes walk from town means this place is quieter than others, cool place to hang out too. Staff are very helpful and would happily chat away with you if you bumped into them somewhere in town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    58
    24
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
50
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my partner arrived in the low season and chose a private with bathroom inside. Found it cosy and clean, with rustic furniture and lots of tables and shelves. Everyday the staff asked if we needed new towels or cleaning, and the owner himself offered to upgrade us if we liked, since it was low season with not that many guests! No need, though, we slept great, had tasty beer brewed right on spot, and the walk into town is merely four minutes. The restaurant was at this time closed, which is totally understandable due to the lack of tourists, and the eating options are after all only a few minutes away. I guess this place, as the whole of Puerto Viejo, is much different during high season, and to me, the perks with this place was the calm and quiet much thanks to the timing.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest with a private bathroom which was located away from the road, (more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayasplace27500690, General Manager at Kaya's Place, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Jessica,

Thank you for choosing Kayas Place and thank you for your review! We always appreciate customer feedback so that we can continue improving our hotel and service, and also to pass on the appreciation you show to our staff for their hard work.

We are glad you liked our locally brewed beer, on tap - the only of its kind in Puerto Viejo!

So that you know for the future, the restaurant is now open with new staff and administration. We are proud to have two amazing Tico chefs preparing delicious local cuisine, homemade bread and also wood oven style pizzas.

We also recently trimmed and manicured the palm trees on the beach, so the guests can now see the radiant black sand and blissful sea.

As for pricing, it is always a bit more to stay in a private room with private bathroom, however, dorm-style or shared bathrooms are always available for a much reduced cost.

Finally, we are glad you recognised the benefit of Kayas location, calm on quiet, yet a very short walk to the centre of town. We are happy we could provide you a home away from home.

Please come back soon! Pura Vida!

La Familia de Kayas Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed beers and talking with Dex the bartender a couple of nights while staying down the road. Really enjoyed the Brown Ale, Porter was decent. We thought it was awesome to find craft beer in PV! If rating those nights and the beer would give 4 stars.

When we wanted to spend an extra night in PV, but our room was booked at our first hotel we asked to book a room there. That was a bad decision. The mattress and pillows were thin and gross. The room was much hotter than outside with loud, inefficient fans. I have stayed at a lot of hostels in Southeast Asia and Australia (before using trip advisor) and this rates as one of the lowest for sleeping/quality/cleanliness experience especially for the price. Probably more appropriate for large groups of young adults that want to get drunk enough to pass out and not notice their surroundings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marissa910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayasplace27500690, Owner at Kaya's Place, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Marissa From Burlington,

Thank you so much for trying and living my beer. I started brewing beer back while growing up in Burlington Vermont and am so happy with the feedback of all the happy people that have tried the beer I am brewing through my new project, Bri Bri Springs Brewery.

I would also like to thank you for the feedback you provided of your experience staying in one of our rooms. Though mold and dampness are a constant battle here in the tropics, nastiness is not a word that is usually used to describe our beds. In fact, most travelers praise our mattresses as the best they have found in the country. Prices rise a bit during semana santa and the hotel is full to over capacity. This may have contributed to your sentiment of less value. Though it is hard to keep up on all hotel maintenance and deep cleaning projects during this time, it is no excuse for your negative experience. Our budget rooms (shared bath and standard private bath rooms) receive the hand me downs from our nicer, or deluxe rooms (garden rooms and suites). When we buy a new mattress it obviously goes to the nice room and the mattress from that room filters down to the lower quality rooms. That being said, given your feedback, it is obviously time to take a look at the mattresses in the budget rooms and replace a few. I would have been happy to give you a room upgrade to make you more comfortable if your concerns had been brought to my attention.

I encourage you to give Kaya's Place another chance. Now that low season has arrived, we have the time to tackle the deep cleaning projects and I know that you will see a vast improvement in the quality of service and cleanliness that you receive. I only ask that you send a message to the hotel email address: info@kayasplace.com with your room number so that I can make sure that the mattress that you stayed on is replaced. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you again in Puerto Viejo, and if not, than on the streets of Burlington Vermont. We Vermonters have to stick together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My travel group and I only stayed two nights, but it's a very well kept hostel, the only real downside would be that there isn't a kitchen available for guest use, and the restaurant on site is nice but pricey for the budget backpacker. The black sand beach is right across the street, and the center of town is about a 5-10 min walk away. Since Kayas was technically out of town, it was quieter which was nice. I would definitely stay again if I were to go through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayasplace27500690, General Manager at Kaya's Place, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Sharissa,

Thank you for choosing Kayas for your group stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to let you know for the future that we have many rooms or apartments available that have private kitchen space. Many guests choose this option if they are planning to do cooking and they find it very enjoyable.

Furthermore, the restaurant has recently changed administration and has a new menu and pricing.

We hope that you will come back in the future to see the new changes!

Pura Vida.

Kayas Place Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 5 different places during our trip to the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. We weren't looking for anything fancy, all the places we stayed were in the budget bracket. This was definitely the most disappointing and worst value.

The positives:
- the location is right opposite a lovely stretch of beach.
- the bar serves interesting locally brewed craft beers
- the staff were reasonably friendly and there was a sociable vibe

The downsides:
- cleanliness levels were low. The room was grubby when we arrived. We stayed three nights (it was peak season - we moved on as soon as we found somewhere else) and in that time our room was not cleaned.
- room was generally pretty badly put together and uncomfortable. The mattress was ancient and uncomfortable. No mosquito net was provided. No chair in the room. Fan noisy and ineffective.
- it was quite noisy at night - gangs of gap year type Americans being loud in the dorm rooms.

Maybe this would be an ok bet for a group of backpackers looking for a shared hostel dorm experience, but as a couple looking for a budget double room it was a poor option. We moved on as soon as we could - to a hotel round the corner which was cleaner, more comfortable, and ten dollars a night cheaper...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a blast last time I was here. Perfect weather in the Springtime, the manager is awesome and friendly and very welcoming. This place is low priced, has great service, the cook at the time I was there was amazing, and its right next to the beach. Its really, really hard to leave this place. You might forget about your job, family, and future, and get frozen in time here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorkdlynNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Kaya's Place is a comfortably different kind of hostel on Playa Negra just before entering Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. The rooms are spread over several buildings, separated by paths and small garden areas. In addition to sleeping rooms, Kaya's is a brew pub and restaurant. Because it is just outside the main town, it is quieter at night, usually just the sound of the surf pounding across the street. The town is, however, only a 5 minute walk, and there are numerous restaurants, bars, grocers and beach and dive/snorkel/surf shops. Rent a bike for the day and pedal easily to playas Chiquita, Cocles, Punta Uva or, for a longer ride, Manzanillo. The staff at Kaya's Place are helpful in assisting guests with arranging transport as well as day trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#14 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Neg...
#30 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Property: Kaya's Place
Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing