We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Expect to be delighted by this hotel because it is special. The staff are excellent and really try to make you feel welcome. The rooms are lovely, airy and restful with nice roofed decks. The breakfasts are appetizing and substantial and there is always lots of fresh fruit on offer. There is even a coffee service on the beach at 6 am for early risers who want to relax to the sounds of waves on the shore. This is a visually stunning place with beautifully tended gardens, lily ponds, koi fish and turtles and happy dogs and cats who help make it feel like home. Nice beach. About a half hour walk to Puerto Viejo or $4 taxi ride. A good restaurant and bar means you really never have to leave the property to have a lovely time. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

At the end of our travels around Costa Rica, we planned this stay by the Caribbean to just kick back, relax and enjoy the beach. We could not have picked a better place. The attention to detail makes Banana Azul stand out. The room was comfortable, breakfast was great, the beach is well cared for and a dip in the (small) pool was very refreshing. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and it was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Sometimes, on the trail of "Happy Destiny", you find paradise, and such was the case with our recent stay at amazing Banana Azul. The gregarious,owner Colin, and his GM, Jorge, welcomed us with a refreshing drink, and then came a tour of the fabulous grounds, wide beach, and the Hotel.

After a whirlwind 2 week tour of Costa Rica, this was just what I needed. The rooms all had amazing views of the lush gardens, hammocks to read a book, snooze, or be in your own Fantasy Island. The friendly housekeeping Staff, kept the rooms very clean, and could not do enough to make you feel part of the Family.

The garden level of the hotel also doubles as a dining area for all meals, and the food was well prepared, simple, and the menu varied. For me the fact, a seafood item was often on the menu, was wonderful. Our wait Staff, and Chef, ensured we were satisfied with our choices, as well as the quality, and preparation of the food. Looking out at the garden, I watched an iguana, sun itself, coy swim by in a small stream, and a turtle family vie with the coy, for the odd morsel. Truly, I have entered a little bit of Heaven.

Mere steps away, was the Azul Beach Club, right on the warm Caribbean Ocean. There are little thatched roof sun huts, and a friendly beach waiter to look after your drink requirements, or snacks. Being a lifeguard in my younger years, the thrill of Body Surfing each day, was in itself worth the trip. I often walked for hours up, and down the quiet, clean beach without seeing a soul, save for the off bird....Serenity was a constant companion. The good news, should you require a bit of noise, shopping, night life, Puerto Veijo, is a 10 minute ride by taxi, or use one of the bikes the Hotel has available.

If you have gathered I like this property, you are 100% correct. There is not enough space here to name all the professional Staff, Jorge for his brilliant management and training skills, and Colin for his vision, attention to detail, and his daily oversight to ensure his guests comfort, and enjoyment needs are met.

Room Tip: The Howler room, would be my choice for a romantic getaway. Gecko tours arranged our whole itinerary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SprBaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I would recommend this place to everyone. The location is amazing, the beach is close with an exotic jungle in the backyard. Great food and staff. The atmosphere was just good.
If you're going to Puerto Viejo I would recommend this place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I choose this place due to all the other wonderful trip advisor reviews as was not dissapointed. I ended up staying in two rooms as I extended my stay. Both room 2 and 4 were comfortable and offer a view of the ocean (the building is at a slight angle so at the end of the balcony all rooms get an ocean view). Room 2 had a better shower but room 4 had a better wall mounted fan, otherwise they were almost identical. If you can afford it, just based on glimpses, I would recommend room 1 (howler room) as this one has by far the best view (and a bath).
The staff throughout were all great, nothing was too much trouble and no question too stupid. The tour company on site are also very well organized and book most transfers and tour last minute.
The only con, and it's nothing the hotel could address, is that being a black sand beach it gets very hot in during the day and to take a dip in the ocean requires a good run (or feet that feel like they are burning). If you aren't able to run, don't want to wear shoes into the ocean and really want to swim in salt water rather than the pool I would advise looking for some place on one of the white sand beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elm01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was booked for us so we didn't have a choice, but would go back there in a second! The grounds are impeccable, the staff friendly, the food delicious and fresh. We stayed in one of the Sloth Cabinas, second floor. Quiet, breezy, hammock on porch. Short walk to the beach in the morning to enjoy coffee and peace, except for the crashing of waves on the gorgeous beach. Gecko Tours on the premises made it easy to book tours for the next day as needed. Would highly recommend this lovely place for couples as it a romantic venue set on the Caribbean coast. Not exactly for singles or groups.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My fiancé and I discovered Banana Azul online before we ventured on our vacation, but didn't have plans to stay there because expedia was showing no availability for our time period. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in Puerto Viejo that Banana Azul did in fact have availabilities. We would recommend calling to book directly with the resort to get your best rate and availabilities. The staff is very friendly, trusting, and everyone spoke English (and was more than willing to help us with our Spanish). Colin the owner is often present and mingling with the guest and is a wealth of information. The resort has a tastefully elegant yet rustic vibe that allows you to feel one with the natural surroundings. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and each had something to offer. Room 3 was a great value that offered an ocean and garden view with privacy. The view from our Howler Room balcony was postcard perfect, lush flowers, vegetation, wildlife, and an ocean view. So far this has been our favorite place in all our travels! It was so hard to leave, but we will return!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms allow for a cool breeze to sweep through your balcony french doors for a refreshing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funbasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
724 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing