We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were here for a week and had a BLAST. The Gecko Trail Adventures desk that is in-house was wonderful as well, and provided us with endless entertainment. Super clean rooms and restaurant. Nice big breakfast each morning. BEAUTIFUL landscaping (everything was pristine the entire time we were there), and literally sits on the beach. It was the best week ever! Will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: The Ocean rooms have a great view, and big decks. Also have French doors that you can keep open to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannalawson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you plan on coming to puerto you have to stay here. We stayed here for a week in may in the howler room and it was so amazing. I cannot say one bad thing about it. Most of all the staff was incredible my gf and I had a upset stomach prior to arriving in banana and the staff did everything to take care of us. From owner to waitress all amazing people really care about you when your in there home. Other than the people the facility is amazing beautiful and clean. It has to be a must if your going to puerto.
Andy

Room Tip: Get the howler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anddavlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Banana Azul in November based on a recommendation from a friend. Our second trip to Costa Rica has lured is back to the fun yet relaxing town of Puerto Viejo and Banana Azul had exceeded expectations. The hotel and beach club staff know how to treat their visitors well.








Stayed: May 2014
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel! Had a wonderful time enjoying margaritas on the beach (bar on the beach). Nice pool. Best couples massage I have ever had, and right on the beach. Average food geared toward tourists. Easy bike into town, you could also walk there within 45 mins or so. Comfortable rooms. But best of all, they started serving coffee at 5:30am so that you could enjoy a cup while watching the sun rise over the sea, bliss. Really a very very nice hotel and would most definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Away from puerto viejo, you can rent a bike or walk along the beach. It is also advisable to get a room with AC. The fans were not enough for us, it was too hot. The lodge is wooden, it creaks and so does your bed, ceiling, walls... Expect to hear noises as the wood cools from the day's heat. The linen had stains, the towels provided need to be also refreshed as they look old. No fridge in room, very little amenities. Not sure i'd recommend it for families with small children.
The beach has darker sand, thus called playa negra and there is rip tide most of the time so lots of warning signs, be careful if you swim on the beach, no lifeguard.
The food was good, the staff at the restaurant was great, the staff at reception gave the impression to have been more tired. The restaurant also does these chilly sauces, we loved one and bought a few bottles.
Not sure if i would return, perhaps the secludedness, fan system and rip tide has put me off. Its also a long drive to San Jose. Its a dangerous drive, we saw 4 accidents on our way over. Lots of trucks at very high speed on narrow roads. Very stressful.

Room Tip: Get a room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Peaceful, nature awareness, steps from a very quite, peaceful and lovely beach. Amazing stay if you'r oriented to enjoy nature, beach and sea. The pool does come handy! Breakfast is amazing and the staff and service, starting from its owner taking care of quality makes a difference. He even gave a free BBQ Sunday to guests and friends: great reflection of how people are in Puerto Viejo. In short: Lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federico p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was only able to stay one night but enjoyed it very much. I had the apartment which is a two bedroom unit with a very nice large bath. The living room is completely open on two sides, but stayed dry and cool even in a very hard rain. I woke early to a very hard rain and came to the living room and laid in the hammock watching the rain and reading a book. It was a great way to start the morning. The beach is just a few yards from the dining room. The food and service were great. I would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,061 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £34 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing