We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Hotel Banana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Banana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The perfect setting of this lovely retreat is matched only by the wonderful staff and laid back, low key luxury. Great place to spend our wedding anniversary and there os no pretense about this place. Thank you for having us x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    243
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
920
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Negra, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

no tv no ac no phone no clock it was quite the experience love the lay out of everything staff were great it was totally awesome I was only there 3 days but would love to go back maybe someday nobody believes that I slept with the door wide open it was great

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Banana Azul was different than anything we had ever done. Rooms had no phones, clocks, TVs or even AC. We never closed the doors when we were there (April) and kept the fan on constantly. Very warm room during the day but cool enough to sleep at night and all the night noises of the jungle came in and made it a true jungle experience. We were swimming or sightseeing during the day anyway. BTW, there are some rooms with AC.
The staff is what puts this property over the top. It is not easy to get to the hotel but it is worth it. Staff have been there for a long time and they seem to love their work. All are friendly, remember your name and greet you warmly when you come down to the open-air dining area each day. It is something you find in a small place like this.
Don't expect to pick up a phone and call room service. However, you can walk down a flight, turn the corner and there will be someone to get you whatever you need- snack, cab, boarding pass etc. Also, Gecko Adventures in right there to book an excursion. We went horseback riding on the beach to Manzanillo and it was very beautiful.

Room Tip: If you need AC, make sure you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It has been over 20 years since my wife Terri and I visited Costa Rica. Our daughter Laurie found Banana Azul on this site. We were celebrating her birthday with a trip to Costa Rica. We stayed in The Apartment.

Terri and I have traveled all over the world, Banana Azul was everything that we were looking for; a Costa Rican jungle/beach experience, great food, room and nice people.

A special experience for me was when I neglected to remove over $100 from my shorts when sending them to the laundry. The next day I received clean shorts and a note attached with my money stating that they had found this in my laundry!!! This is typical of the service and integrity of the staff at Banana Azul.

Colin and his staff should be congratulated for creating a real Costa Rican experience.

We will definitely return to Banana Azul and we highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Pura Vida!

The Millers
California, USA

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were here for a week and had a BLAST. The Gecko Trail Adventures desk that is in-house was wonderful as well, and provided us with endless entertainment. Super clean rooms and restaurant. Nice big breakfast each morning. BEAUTIFUL landscaping (everything was pristine the entire time we were there), and literally sits on the beach. It was the best week ever! Will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: The Ocean rooms have a great view, and big decks. Also have French doors that you can keep open to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannalawson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you plan on coming to puerto you have to stay here. We stayed here for a week in may in the howler room and it was so amazing. I cannot say one bad thing about it. Most of all the staff was incredible my gf and I had a upset stomach prior to arriving in banana and the staff did everything to take care of us. From owner to waitress all amazing people really care about you when your in there home. Other than the people the facility is amazing beautiful and clean. It has to be a must if your going to puerto.
Andy

Room Tip: Get the howler
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anddavlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Banana Azul in November based on a recommendation from a friend. Our second trip to Costa Rica has lured is back to the fun yet relaxing town of Puerto Viejo and Banana Azul had exceeded expectations. The hotel and beach club staff know how to treat their visitors well.








Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
9.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana Azul

Property: Hotel Banana Azul
Address: Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Banana Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Azul hotel is a small and simple hotel north of town on Playa Negra. The small boutique hotel has been created with care using local products and a philosophy that emphasizes relaxation. We cater to adults, 16 years and over. Blooming gardens adorn the property, as does several freely-hanging hammocks, providing the perfect spot for afternoon napping or leisurely reading. A meandering pond inhabited by fish and turtles flows through portions of the property adding a lighter element to the ongoing natural soundtrack of waves crashing against the shoreline. The hotel consists of 22 beautiful guest rooms with private baths, fans (some with A/C), and free WiFi. Most rooms are on the second floor of the main building, and open onto a large veranda with sweeping ocean views and of the garden. Banana Azul offers its guests a quaint restaurant that serves a complimentary filling breakfast, variety of lunch options and refreshing drinks throughout the day and a relaxing three entre dinner option in a romantic atmosphere at night. Caribe Fun Tours is on site to assist with tours and transportation needs and can assist with a variety of package options including visits to the Arenal Volcano, canopy tours, snorkeling trips, and even rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Banana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Azul Hotel
Banana Azul Puerto Viejo
Hotel Banana Azul Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing