We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owners, very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed there few days and we were not disappointed at all : the bungalows are very spacious, clean and confortable. We had dry and clean towels every day which was perfect as the climate is rather humid. Every morning we had a different breakfast and it was always excellent and abundant. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. They really care about people feeling good in their hotel. We had very interesting talks with them. The staff is very nice and smiling as well. When we arrived we were welcomed by a bunch of howler monkeys which stayed around for few days. It was quite frightening but so exotic ! The only drawback was the noise caused by the hard rain on the roof during the night. Otherwise it was perfect !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hello,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Also, thank you for commenting on the breakfast, we are always trying to keep it different and filling. Yes, the howler monkeys can be quite loud, especially for how small they are, they always remind us that we are in the jungle. Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again!

Cheers!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

My week at Tierra de Suenos was easy, beautiful and unique. From the small rustic cabins to the eye catching flora, everything was immaculately kept. My way to my room was a fauna filled nature walk every time. Most impressive were the people. From the owners and the reception to the maintenance and the cook, they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I look forward to seeing it all again.

Oh! And I forgot to mention E.T., the "ferocious" hotel dog. What he lacked in size, he made up for in spirit and personality.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tchap72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi!

I love the title! That is what it is all about here, rest and relaxation! Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We also enjoy the nature all around us, the plants, wild life and insects. We hope to see you again! Pura Vida!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The owners Fatima and Ahmed worked hard maintaining the cabins thoroughly and often! Yes there were a few bugs but the very comfortable beds come with mosquito netting for a reason and you are in a rainforest! Monkeys,sloths,tucans,frogs,and beautiful grounds with endless flowers grew throughout the property and near the cabins.The rooms were nicely done and the meals were excellent as well. The staff was OUTSTANDING and friendly and met our every need, including buying a coffee pot for our room. Their suggestions for restaurants and tours were very good and Anna, Randy, Henry, and Freddie, and ET the owners cute dog and Papaya the resident kitty were awesome.WE appreciated their hard work and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on the Caribbean side. The ONLY suggestion would be to add a refrigerator, coffee pot, and gas stove in each cabina. We really missed having these things and trying to keep food and drinks cold with ice and a cooler was a bit of a hassle. They did let you store food and ice in their refrigerator in the lobby if needed which was nice.Even with out these amenities we still would stay here again. The beach is a short walk through a trail across the street and is the best beach around -Playa Chaquita. It was clean, no one on it and had enough shade. It also had the clearest water and was pretty good snorkeling near the coral reefs. Better than nearby beaches like Punta Uva and Playa Negra. be sure to eat at Jungle Love, excellent pasta dishes with great tuna seared steak. and Pura Gura- gorgonzola filet. Maxies in manzaillo was very good for whole red snapper fried or grilled.Puerto Viejo there were so many places but try Koki and right next door as well but I forgot the name! Be sure to visit the Jaguar Rescue Center a couple miles from the hotel. They rehabilitate injured animals and release them back into the jungle- excellent place on volunteer basis. Also go to Cuhuita National park about a 15- 20 minute van ride a trail which you will see wild monkeys, sloths birds, lizards crabs, insects in their natural environment on your easy walk- you might want to hire a guide to help you find sloths(its hard if it's your first time) and monkeys and it is all donations as well.The other suggestion I have if you go during Holy Week April- do not go to the city everything shuts down(Thursday and Friday-Good Friday) and its nearly impossible to find a drink anywhere-beaches are usually packed with locals getting out of San Jose. So if you can avoid this week try to.

Room Tip: The Zen house has a bar, bed, and a kitchenette upstairs and bed and bathroom downstairs regular ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hey there,

Wow! Thank you very much for the outstanding review! I am beyond thrilled that your stay and experience was great! Fatima and Hamid say "Thank you very much, merci beaucoup!". We agree with your restaurant recommendations and also agree that everyone should visit the rescue centre. Muchos gracias! We hope to see you again!

Pura Vida

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tierra de Suenos the last week in February and we had a fantastic time! The rooms were beautiful and clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Most of all, the staff was fabulous. We both got sick during the stay and the staff graciously took care of us, made us soup and light meals and checked in on us to make sure we were ok. Of course being sick on vacation is no fun but we couldn't have imagined a more comfortable and welcoming place to stay. We also got a huge kick out of Ity (the little dog). He was such a fun character to have around!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hey,

I am happy to hear that you had a good time here! Too bad you weren't feeling, but it makes me happy to hear that the staff took as much care of you as possible. Thanks for the great review and we hope you come back again, but hopefully you will feel better!

Cheers,

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We decided to stay here because we did not want to stay at a typical resort, and we liked the fact that it was a little ways out of town so that we wouldn't be stuck trying to sleep in the middle of puerto viejo's night life. We were very happy with the location, set back in the forest but a quick walk to the beach, and right next to Botanica Organica and a few other great restaurants. We also thought our bungalow was cute (loved the hammocks on the porch) and that the website did a great job setting our expectations of what the accommodations would be like. We were pleased to find the bungalow clean, cool, and simple, with hot water, and welcome chocolates on the pillow. Keep in mind, this is the rainforest and so we also dealt with a few bugs, a frog in the bathroom, the sounds of nature outside (including a night-long downpour heavier and louder than I have ever experienced - but then again, I thought this was cool and exactly what I had come for). One thing we were not expecting: apparently in this part of costa rica you cannot throw toilet paper in the toilet, only in the trash can, so be prepared for that. It wasn't really a big deal, but we had no idea. Breakfasts were fantastic, with fruit smoothies, fresh fruit, and a main course. They gave us free bikes to ride around on all week, and the staff were generally helpful and very friendly, with the caveat that there are a lot of different people coming and going in terms of staff members, so you are not always dealing with the same people, and sometimes requests can get delayed or messages crossed. All in all this place was great and definitely fits in with the vibe in the area, which is laid back and a little rough around the edges.

Room Tip: FYI, the larger bungalow is the only one that's not located right next to other bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_me716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hey there,

Thank you very much for the review! I am very happy that you mentioned the downpour in the evening, it truly goes to show you that this is a rainforest. We also enjoy the wild life and interesting insects that you can find here in Costa Rica. As for the toilet paper, yes I had the same response when I first came down, it is just the way of life here. Glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again!

Pura Vida!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Ok, call me a city girl, but even in the jungle I might expect that my room (when $100/nite and referred to as an upscale bungalow) might have fewer than 20 bugs flying around within its "walls" (read: screens) at any given moment. I like the idea of Tierra and might have better dealt with the deafening animal sounds and creepy-crawlies a bit better if the whole thing had been set in an actual rainforest or even an area with some semblance of authenticity. BUT, on the side of a busy yet narrow road in a dirty backpacker town... no thanks. I'm going with average because of the absolutely wonderful staff, great breakfasts, and proximity to the beach. Just know what to expect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hello,

Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the service. As for the screens, we have gone and replaced any that were broken, and have decided to stick with screens as it helps with airflow. It can get quite hot and humid and screens are best to keep air moving. We really enjoy being in the rainforest and are happy that we are able to stay as eco-friendly as possible.

Thanks again,

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I read through a few of the negative reviews for Tierra de Suenos, and I can understand why they were disappointed or upset when they got there. However, this is in Costa Rica, so it isn't meant to be a luxury vacation (at least in my opinion).

I loved staying here and would definitely be open to doing it again if the opportunity arose.
Yes, the beds were wet from the humidity, but that is to be expected when you are staying in a place with rainforest during the wet season.
Please note: Your clothes WILL be damp if you leave them exposed to the air, but that is something you have to face all over the Caribbean coast of CR.
The breakfast was excellent every morning, and the owners were very friendly. I loved their dogs, too, as I am a dog person.
One thing that I wasn't prepared for, but did find amusing was the howler monkeys making noise early in the morning. The rooster, however, was a different story. I was ready to kill that thing.

Because there is no air conditioner, the roof and windows have to have gaps to allow the air to escape, this allows a few creatures (bugs and lizards) to wander into the houses. I will admit, that was slightly annoying to deal with, but understandable and expected.

Pros:
- Very friendly owners and staff.
- Delicious breakfast.
- Close enough to the town for a bike ride.
- Very close to a nice (basically private during the low season) beach.
- True Costa Rican experience.

Cons:
- Damp beds and clothes.
- Bugs may enter your room.
- Mosquito nets do have a few holes, but nothing TOO big. I still didn't have any bugs land on me at night.
- Rooster crows early in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobonotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Hi!

Thanks for all the feedback! Yes, we like to stay eco-friendly and we try our best to keep it to the style of Costa Rica. We really appreciate that you mentioned tidbits about the life style here. I agree, the howler monkeys are quite fascinating! I can say that the rooster has left the property so there are no more early morning wake up calls (besides the howlers). Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!

Pura Vida

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra de Suenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £60 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra de Suenos Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine your exploration of the raw beauty of Costa Rica with a vacation that will suffuse your whole being with health and wellness. Tierra de Suenos Lodge is the only Wellness Center on the pristine Caribbean Coast offering a traditional and holistic approach to health. With a diverse staff of holistic healers offering everything from healing with nutrition, massage & other body-work , yoga and meditation, and a luxurious infrared sauna. Spend your vacation reconnecting with your inner self while surrounded by the beauty of the jungle/beaches. Your Costa Rican Wellness Center offers cozy hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine beaches of Playa Chiquita and the spectacular rain forest. Paradise and the Pura Vida awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Tierra de Suenos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Suenos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tierra De Suenos Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing