We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel Pura Vida is undeniably an excellent value. For $42, my boyfriend and I had a clean and spacious room with a private bath, ceiling fan, and a little outside patio. The location of the hotel in town is excellent and the place felt very safe and secure. They even have a gated parking area.

My one issue was the noise: the windows and patio doors are screened but have no glass so there's no barrier at all between you and the sounds outside. We were treated each day to a pair of roosters crowing in the dead of night, a parrot that seemed to be imitating a car alarm, the conversations of other guests hanging out on their patios, and one night, a screaming fight at the neighbor's next door. In addition, being on the first floor, you heard all the squeaking of the floorboards upstairs, and during the day, there were always folks chatting and doing work in the yard outside of our room. If you come here and are a light sleeper, definitely bring your earplugs.

That said, I might have given the hotel 3 stars if not for Cindy at the front desk who could be working at the Ritz Carlton. She was pleasant, professional, and so helpful! She explained the house rules, gave us points of interest on a map, and hooked us up with snorkeling gear, beach towels, tours, and laundry service, all with a cheery smile. She was probably the nicest person we interacted with for our entire trip and really made the difference in our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if possible. You'll have more privacy and won't hear your neighbors wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    60
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
108
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The room with private bath and balcony overlooked the back yard and had a kolibri feeding hanging in front. Very nice to have a drink and relax. The personnel was friendly. They refill your water bottles for half the price you would pay for in the shop. A nice an environmental friendly touch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it...the place itself is lovely with lots of attention to detail ...our room was very spacious and airy with a lovely balcony where we could watch the humming birds feeding every morning..the owners are very helpful and keen to make your stay as pleasant as possible in fact they actually made us a reservation at a nearby hotel when they couldn't accommodate up for our 1st night !
The location is perfect , nice and quiet but just a short stroll to the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankietfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Every time I come into Puerto Veijo I stay here. The price is right. We payed $32 for a room with no bathroom. For a few dollars more you can get a private bathroom and those rooms are gorgeous. The common area is very nice with lots of hammocks. There is even a spot to hand washed clothes and a clothes line to dry which is very useful after a day at the beach. Breakfast is served for an additional $7 which is composed of fresh fruit, cheese, and bread.

Our room had two beds, both with nets, and a sink. The bathrooms are very nicely done with tiles. Everything is spotlessly clean. There are numerous hooks in the room which is useful.

The owners are extremely helpful. They are more than willing to help if you have questions. They are also very good people. They are constantly taking in animals that have been abandoned and finding them good homes.

The wifi works very well but if you are on the second floor it will not work in your room.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice on my trip to costa rica and it was by far the best place on my trip.
Had a room with a private bathroom on my first visit, very nice and comfortable. The owners were very helpful with everything around and it really is a very nice tranquil retreat in the heart of sleepy puerto viejo.
They helped me with my heavy bags to the bus stop and looked after me when I was sick from some form of animal bite.
On my second visit the private bathroom rooms were full, had a room with shared bathroom which was the first time in my life I have ever used a facility like this but it was fine, very clean and didn't even notice anyone else was there.
Would definitely stay again if I return to this part of the world.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Angy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. The grounds were lush and tropical. It was very nice to relax here.

The rooms are extremely clean and tidy. And the property was very safe.

Breakfast could be purchased for $7, although, I didn't partake in this option. I found options in town that were comparable for a lesser price and more convenient to when I would wake up.

The only pitfalls I could mention about the place is the neighbouring roosters. They can be quite disruptive. But that's no fault of the owner's of the property. It's not like I am expecting them to tell their neighbours how to live their lives. Personally, I just rolled over and put my earplugs in.

The other downfall that I could see the owner's improving on is providing guests traveling without a computer access to the internet. The town overall, has very limited internet access. And the owner did mention that "they couldn't offer me internet access without providing it to other guests" which only tells me other guests have asked for internet access. It's something to consider.

Other than that, the price was right. And the property was clean and safe. And a nice distance to the bus, beach, and supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My friend and I were backpacking around Central America and this was the nicest place we stayed! We were passing through Puerto Viejo on our way to Monteverde and booked this place for the night. We wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms and great and are very affordable. Almut was a great host and the hotel has lots of areas to lounge. I definitely want to go back to Puerto Viejo and stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: 270 m south of bus stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing