We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcoming, like staying at an uptight relative's house”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were traveling as three and stayed two nights. We were drawn to stay here because of the clean and well kept presentation.

We soon felt as though anything we did was disturbing that well kept environment and that we were staying at an uptight relative's place and were not paying guests. We did not feel welcome at all.

The common area is beautiful but you will not see many people in it, nor will you really meet anyone here because the owners seem to always have an eye on you to make sure everything is arranged just so.

We were hoping to stay in a cheaper room than the one we were staying in but it was taken on the first night. The second night we were staying it became free and asked if it was possible to switch. We were told it was not because then they would have to clean the room we were staying in as well as the one we would move to. We were not thrilled but understood. But then they cleaned the room we were staying in anyway! So we did not understand at all why they kept us in the more expensive room - their excuse did not seem to make sense.

The walls are thin and because we stayed in the room behind the reception we started hearing all sorts of noises early in the morning.

There is no common kitchen area so count on eating out a lot.

We asked for ice one evening for a couple of drinks we made in our room and you might have thought we were asking for a kidney donation. The male host scrapped the bottom of an ice container to give us the last remnants of ice.

Definitely not a place to stay if you want an easy going atmosphere and to meet people. Definitely a place to stay if you want to feel like you are staying at an uptight relative’s house. Not enjoyable at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were 5 friends that visited Puerto Viejo and Pura Vida in october 2013. All five of us totally agree that we could not have had a better and more wonderful stay than we had. The staff was very friendly and helped us with information (good restaurants!), laundry, water, clean towels etc. This hotel is also very well kept and a cosy place to stay in when in Puerto Viejo. Furthermore the price is a bargain. We would definitely come back to Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've found in our travels that the hotels run by Germans are always fabulous. Germans execute taste, class and comfort with organization and efficiency that never compromises comfort and amenities. All of your needs are met in this beautiful location and the rooms were gorgeous! I remarked to my friend I didn't want to go to sleep because the room was so pretty I just wanted to keep looking at it. :)

Room Tip: We chose the front room and enjoyed it. The one thing about this room and maybe the others is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I am so happy to have stayed here. Almut and Luis are the best hosts making your stay as smooth and relaxing as possible giving you lots of advice. The hotel is above standard of what you might get in Puerto Viejo. The room I had was very clean, had a wooden floor, mosaic bath, fan. Breakfast is additional but worth it! The hotel is not directly at the beach but that is definitely no issue as you walk 4 minutes down there at enjoy better comfort than down there. Best price/quality ratio!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We rocked up here without a booking at almost 9pm on a Sunday night. We ran the bell at the gate a few times but nothing happened. We called out a few times and luckily the owner came out on the balcony to see what we wanted.

I have seen other reviewers mentioned that the husband is not very nice. I have to say although he was not exactly friendly it wasn't a huge issue. We dragged him out of his house, he came let us in, gave us a couple of options for the night, even gave us a discount on the room we picked. Checked us in and then even showed us where we could find dinner without us having to ask. We stayed for 3 nights and saw him around, he always said hi and was happy enough to help when I had questions but apart from that didn’t encourage conversation. As long as you don’t take his lack of smiling/friendliness too personally then I think it is ok. The lady was a lot friendlier but only once you engaged her, otherwise both owners are rather aloof.

The room we got was right behind the reception, huge room with 3 beds. The bed was clean and comfortable and the towels were changed daily. There is a ceiling fan which was more than enough to keep cool during the night, we saw someone checking in who asked for aircon. You really don’t need aircon. There is no proper floor mat in the bathroom, there is a little spongy mat in front of the toilet and the sink but they don’t absorb water so just get wetter and wetter each time. Also the curtains are very flimsy and not quite wide enough to cover the windows properly. During the day the room was quite bright but there is very poor lighting in the room, even with all the lamps on it is mood-lighting at best. It was painful packing with such little light. Since we were right behind the kitchen/reception there was a lot of noise in the morning when they started to setup breakfast. We did not try the breakfast as it seemed really expensive for what you get.

Lastly we caught the Mepe bus from San Jose to Puerto Vieojo. On the way back we booked the door to door Interbus service through the hotel you go in a van, it takes about the same about of time and costs quite a bit more but it is so much more comfortable and hassle free so I highly recommend that option if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the reception - a lot of noise i the morning from the kitchen/breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were backpacking through costa rica and some travellers recommended that place to us. This hotel is really beautiful and clean. It was the perfect place to relax from all the dirty backpackers places we stayed before in costa rica. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just awesome! We wanted to stay 2 nights but stayed 4, and after our trip to panama we decided to come back and stay another night because it was just so great! The location is also really good since it is in Puerto Viejo where most places for Eating are located. It is best to rent a bike and go along the roads to all the nice beaches. This place was our best choice on our whole trip and we would always come back for another time!
And you get fresh towels every day!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We supposed to stay in Puerto Viejo 1 night...and we are finaly stay 4 nights.
Everything was perfect, the price was very good, ambiance and energy powerfull.
We rent a bicycle for 5$ each for the day... to rent a bike and go visiting Manzanillo playa and did snorkling.
The 2 owner work and live in the place, both of theme and all the rest of the staff give us a excellent service and help us to go to tortuguero...
If someone complain before about the nature like the rooster or bird singing early in the morning...they might not understand the whole nature.
I look my photo of Puerto Vieijo and i know for sure that i will be back soon...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,518 reviews
1 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#8 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Address: Avenida 67 | South Of Bus Stop 270 m, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £31 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pura Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing