We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Nice and quite atmosphere. The rooms were really good and comfy , staff friendly and helpful !
Spend my last week here after 2 moths costa rica, and came back home super relaxed.
Make sure to check out the yoga platform with sunset and surf lessons with herschel !
Thank you so much sean and edwin to make our stay in puerto viejo so nice.

The belgian girls -

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeFrauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just got back from a week in Puerto Viejo at Cashew Hill. Andrew, Ally and Edwin were wonderful hosts, and my family had a great time. We enjoyed many of the activities which Andrew helped us organize. Our cottage was spacious and very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and the atmosphere relaxed. We loved our stay and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

It has been 3 months since I was in Puerto Viejo staying at Cashew Hill and not a day has gone by that i haven't thought about the atmosphere they have created. We arrived at night and were greeted by Edwin who helped us settle in and gave us a nice cold cerveza. When morning came we were shown around the beautiful grounds, you feel like you're in paradise, oh wait you are! Every lodge has it own creative decor, we were lucky enough to stay in the kinkajou. My daily ritual after waking up and before going to bed was laying on our hammock off our bedroom. During my time here i would listen to the music of the rainforest and the waves crashing a few blocks away. One night i fell asleep to a rain shower. Pure serenity. Andrew is the owner and he really know his stuff he has truly embraced the Pura Vida life style and make sure your stay is nothing short of amazing. Reese is always near by, a beautiful great dane that just wants to be your friend. The whole staff is so friendly and they will help you with anything you need. They provided us with their trusted friend and tour guide Junior. If you are staying in Puerto Viejo you must have a tour with junior. He is a true local, his positivity and infectious smile rubs off on you. Plus he has excellent music always playing. Ask for one of his cooking classes! Plan on making friends during your stay here because the recreation center they have offers hammocks, rocking chairs, a pool table and a bar that is always filled with interesting people from all over. Plus the bar runs on a honor system and that is just something special right there. During our days we relaxed on the beach, went shopping at the flea markets, zip-lining , waterfall tour, bike ride down the coast line (on one side you have gorgeous rainforest and on the other you have open beaches calling your name, it is hard to know where to look). The night life is filled with excitement all the bars along the beaches are all lit up, live music is coming from everywhere, you also get to see some local showing off there fire dancing skills, impressive . Weather your visiting or a local, Puerto Viejo attracts a different kind of person, people who are all looking for adventure, tranquility and good hearted people, plus so much more. I truly love cashew hill and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyTheTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in Costa Brava cottage for 3 nights in March. The cottage is very specious with all necessities and very clean. It has a porch and 2 hammocks. Location is perfect, close enough to walk to restaurants and far enough to feel in nature. Andrew and his wonderful stuff made our stay a pleasure. Andrew is very knowledgeable and helpful. We followed his recommendations and enjoyed sloth sanctuary, bike rides to Manzanillo,walks in Cahuita National Park, Cocles beach and good restaurants. We highly recommend Cashew Hill Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were only here for two nights and unfortunately hit bad weather on the first day, but the welcome was amazing and the cottages are delightful, brightly and quirkily decorated, each one individual and well spaced for privacy. We were two couples and stayed in Kinkajoo and Salsa Brava cottages. They were clean and very spacious with cooking facilities and good showers. The only minor drawback was the lack of hot water to the kitchen sink - could be a problem washing greasy dishes, otherwise excellent. Andrew and Allie were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them - and Reece the Great Dane was always up for a game! The location was perfect, just on the edge of town and within easy walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants, but take a torch when going out in the evening. It was very peaceful at night with just the jungle sounds. Lovely bar area for relaxing - rain or shine! - and meeting other guests. Although our visit was slightly marred by the rain, it was more than made up by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Weather not the best but could not ask for a better place to stay or better hosts! Be sure to go to the Jaguar reserve. The beach is spectacular. Great shops and several (178) local areas to eat all great. FYI kids do not care if it is raining, try the local Mepe for travel fun experience. Playing with the local wild life is so cool no I am not talking about you Andrew ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Cashew Hill cottages for 2 weeks in Feb. It is a 6-8 min walk into town and the beach. The cottages are basic but clean and large. Only downfall is no hot water(lukewarm in the shower only). It is quiet and the tropical jungle with the birds and wildlife is peaceful. The best part is the friendy and kind hosts, Andrew, Elli, and Edwin, you are great!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Property: Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing