We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place and A Caring Competent Owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Viva Beach Houses
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Jeannie owns and lovingly cares for a beautiful botanical property, part of a jungle area, which flows onto a fantastic beach. The cottages that she and her husband so meticulously built are a wonderful place to be. Her staff care about the guests. Nearby there are some very good places to eat and/or we prepared meals with the more than adequate kitchen. Jeannie supplied us with advice on being there and places to go. This place is a treasure, Thank you to Jeannie and her staff for making our introduction to Costa Rica so great.
John & Barb, Saskatchewan

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learningfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

During the last fifty years I have traveled in more than 100 countries and lived on five continents. When my wife and I happened onto Casa Viva three years ago we knew that we had found something special. We have come back every year since then. This winter for five weeks. As everyone agrees, the houses, the gardens and the beach are beautiful. The beach is the cleanest that I have seen anywhere and the lovely wooden houses are cleaned every weekday. Some of the kitchen equipment is elderly but quite adequate. The local restaurants are limited and we did our own cooking without any problem. Jeanie, the owner, was very helpful when we needed something. I do not understand the report about Jeanie's ill humor and argumentative behavior, except to note that all arguments require two participants. My wife and I have found Jeanie to be friendly, helpful and interesting.and think of her as a friend. The "vicious" rottweiler likes to have her stomach scratched. If the person from Vancouver who complained about "gecko poop" (about the size of two flyspecks) knew anything about the tropics she would have known that people want them in their houses to eat the mosquitos. Sealed, stale-smelling air conditioned hotel rooms do not have geckos.
The report of the robbery is unpleasant. There is crime in Costa Rica as there is everywhere. Something can happen anywhere, including at home.(In a lifetime of travel I have been robbed three times - once in Berlin and twice in Madrid.)

Casa Viva is a little piece of Paradise. We love it.

Room Tip: We prefer house number two or three
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed in this house for 10 days with our 3 kids. The gardens and wooden houses are (or used to be) beautiful. The beach is great. But .. The owner is just not fit to handle tourists. The house was dirty and poorly maintained (if at all). Non of the kitchen equipment was working, the beddings and towels dirty and old. Everything was covered in gecko poop.
What a shame, another owner and a little money could turn this place into a real gem.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank HilaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family stayed here the week before Christmas 2012. The houses, gardens, and beaches are beautiful. The owner was very helpful.

However, coming back to the house after dinner at a nearby restaurant, I surprised two thieves who were in our house. One of them was holding a gun in both hands pointed at me from about 10 feet away and told me something in Spanish then in English “don’t move”. I immediately turned around and ran out of the house telling my family to run. Later in the evening the police showed up but did not track down the thieves. They had stolen over $5,000 in camera equipment, a notebook computer, cash, and credit cards. The house closer to the beach was also robbed with similar items stolen in addition to swimsuits and other items. Later on that night, the electricity went out for most of the night – it was like a scary movie. We cut our vacation short and departed the next day.

The thieves entered the house through the only set of double doors (there are five sets) which was missing two security pins. The doors and locks were not damaged. We are suspicious that the thieves had access to a copy of the key to the house. The people renting the adjacent Casa Viva house that was also broken into thought the same thing. In their house, the wood window grille had been broken from the inside out (the wood pieces were on the deck outside, not inside as would be expected when somebody is pushing in the wood to break it from the outside, and the opening was not really large enough for somebody to crawl through).

The items we had in the safe were untouched. Although larger than many hotel safes, the safe was not large enough for all of the camera equipment and computer. We will not be returning to Casa Viva because of this incident. I wonder what would have happened if our family had stayed in the house for dinner that evening; would the armed thieves come in and demand our valuables? I don’t want to take that chance.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
14  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

After our 3 week roundtrip we wantend to relaxe and experience the real holidayfeeling. The big nice house, great porce with hammocks and beautifull garden did the job for us. With the see and small beach with 40 meter are great aswel. What's nice is that you get the benefits of being next (About 7km) to Puerto Viejo and the silence of being outsided of it. Only thing, the see doesn't get quiet, nor can you put it out ;-).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-le-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were in CR for 2 weeks, Spent some time inland then headed for the Coast - We had a couple of nights than we had to find a place to stay before heading to another hotel we had booked from Home. We got to Casa Viva had a look at the place and asked if it was ok if we stayed all week.
Jeannie said no problem so we cancelled our other booking and used our beachouse as a home base for the rest of our trip.
We loved it - Fire flies were fantastic - Howler monkeys terrific alarm clock - amazingly well build houses - top notch. Fun going out for dinner at Slevens & also terrific being able to cook in our beach house.
Its steps from a fantastic clean beach

Room Tip: We had house #2 and loved it Spacious - Quiet - Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This place was quite a find and stood out from other places we stayed in. Lovely cabinas situated a mere stone throw from Punta Uva beach in magnificent gardens. Very private and tranquill. The small 1 bed cabina we stayed in was beautifully done and furnished. I think there are just two of them, the only negative point is that they are joined onto each other - but that could be fun if you have nice neighbours. It has a small kitchenette, little fridge, comfy bed etc. The owner was not there during our stay but the Spanish chap, Francisco, looking after the place was super helpful, friendly and accommodating. Just loved sitting on the veranda watching wildlife go by. Top spot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Punta Uva
Cabinas Punta Uva
#17 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#16 of 121 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 2 in Playa Chiquita
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Beach Houses

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Viva Beach Houses Hotel Puerto Viejo
Casa Viva Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing