We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfection!”
Review of Cabinas Monte Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Monte Sol
new york
2 reviews
“perfection!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have now visited Cabinas Monte Sol for the second time. My first time was in 2010 and I've been waiting to come back. It totally feels like home. Peter and Iris, who own, run and manage the facility are incredibly kind, accommodating. They are always willing to provide advice, comfort and a dose of fun conversation. It's a happy environment and all of the rooms are immaculate, clean and cozy. It's in the perfect part of town, as it is near the center, but far enough away that you can have a tranquilo evening in a hammock if you prefer. The central area of the hotel is so unique. It has comfortable and quite spots, with various tables that are gorgeous and hand built. You can comfortably sit and for check in on your computer, or just chill out, listening to the sounds of their polite and lovely family or the sounds of the jungle. So much love and happiness is abundant in this dwelling. It is not a bar or restaurant, which is positive. There is enough going on in the center so it's nice to come back "home", have a cold drink and just converse with others who are traveling . There is always the option of stopping by Ms. Elena Brown"s , the restaurant on the corner before Monte Sol, for delicious local food and experience locals and the flavor of the town, or you could walk across the street to De Paso, near hammock village which has a nice environment as well. You sit at a table on the sand with the waves as your background music. Cabinas Monte sol is truly a special place that you must experience.

Room Tip: The Jungle house in the back is very special. inquire about it, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
31
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in the room upstairs with the queen bed. Only had to share the bathroom and balcony with table and hammock with one other room. Lovely building, super clean, set back from the beach a little and the noisy bars so was very tranquil.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - location is great, room was clean, felt like we were staying in a treehouse in the jungle! The howler monkeys are right outside the window! Plus the owner is incredibly helpful and accommodating. A kitchen would've been handy (as we're on a budget) but everything else was great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sbruder23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We moved here after a horrible experience at another hostel in Puerto Viejo and were so relieved we did! Cabin as were clean, new and so were the mosquito nets- not that you need them. The rooms are completely sealed. Bathrooms are really nice and clean. Central meeting area is cool and has a nice relaxed vibe. Was also nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Thank you Peter and Iris for hosting such great place. I went with my partner and my 14 old month baby and this quiet, clean and comfortable space was simply perfect for us. Great prices, great location and super beautiful jungle trees all around. I will recommend it to friends and hope to be back there as much as I can!

Room Tip: Recommend the big house for families, is roomy , very nicely equipped kitchen and good beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alejandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It is maybe a bit unfair to give a poor review to Monte Sol, given that we didn't actually get to stay there, but we had quite a disappointing experience. We had emailed asking about vacancies, and had a response saying that a room was available. We replied confirming that we would like to reserve the room. We didn't hear anything further, but when we arrived in Puerto Viejo there they hadn't got a room for us, as they had forgotten to book us in and confirm our reservation. This was obviously a little problematic, as we arrived late in the afternoon during high season, when most places were booked up. They were able to find us a room above a restaurant nearby for the night, which was very helpful, after which we found somewhere else ourselves. The place itself looked nice, but I would urge anyone booking here via email or telephone to double check their reservations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Cabinas Montesol was a very lovely place not directly in the city of Puerto Viejo (12minutes walk from the bus arrival point) but close to the beaches Punta Uva and Playa Cocles (10min / 20min bike ride). It´s a calmer area of the city but you have all you need: Bike rental (recommended!), restaurants, breakfast places... We loved our perfectly clean room with mosquito net and terrace including hammock. Everything is new and stylishly furnished. Owner Peter is super friendly and helpful. Only a community kitchen was missing by now which would be nice because Puerto Viejo in general is quite expensive...

Room Tip: We had room 1 with bathroom ensuite and we have seen that all rooms of this kind are exactly the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#16 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Verde Guest House
Vista Verde Guest House
#10 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Talamanca
Cabinas Talamanca
#70 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Tower Hotel
Sea Tower Hotel
#13 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Aban
#4 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Monte Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Monte Sol

Property: Cabinas Monte Sol
Address: Apartado 45 | 150m Behind Elena Brown's Restaurant, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Sol's rooms and apartments are situated in a calm and natural environment just 600 feet (200 meters) from the sea at the south end of the village of Puerto Viejo.The lovely and clean rooms are set in a relaxed atmosphere, which makes Monte Sol a perfect base in Puerto Viejo and for further travels in Costa Rica, or onwards to Panama. It will be your home between the rainforest and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Monte Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Monte Sol Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing