We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tierra de Suenos Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Perla del Caribe(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Moabi(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tree House Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
95
54
26
19
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
54
26
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincluded breakfast isupstairs lounge areareally nice place to staypuerto viejoflat screen tvdeluxe roomsbooked this hotelbeds were comfortablecomfortable hotelwould definitely stay here againcentral locationenjoyed our staybars and restaurantsprivate baththe ground floorstayed here for nightsthe main drag
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

After coming in from Panama and staying 1 night across the road in a hammock this place was like heaven. Nice rooms, great location, pool, complimentary breakfast was fabulous! The owner let us check in early which was awesome!!! (I really wanted a shower!! Lol) my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The price is great for all the amenities. Looks like they are doing some upgrades and expansion! I look forward to coming back! In fact I would love to move in!!! Dear Lizard King, are you hiring?!?!
Lol :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christilynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Christi Lynn,

Thank you for being awesome guests and for the wonderful review. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Puerto Viejo. Thanks again we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This inn is located right on the strip in PV, close to everything and super convenient.

Breakfasts are awesome and huge. We tried every single item and all were excellent.

Room quality was OK, but that is to be expected in a remote beach town. I.e., room was somewhat dark, no place to keep toiletries in bathroom. Our door wouldn't close completely for most of our stay and our water did not work on one occasion and both issues were fixed or attempted to be fixed right away by the staff. The service is really excellent and I doubt we could have done better in terms of comfort without spending a ton more money.

Bonus points: they do have hot water and the tap water is drinkable. I did not use the pool but it looked very clean. They offer bike rentals for $5 a day.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to humidity or used to living in a cold climate, spring for a room with A/C. Rent a bike and ride ten minutes to Cocles beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Misscrusty,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the water not working on one occasion. There's a good chance we were upgrading our water system. We are currently working on a new design scheme for the dark room and shelving for the bathroom. We appreciate your "Bonus points" and we hope you'll be our guest at the Lizard King Hotel in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My sister and I stayed here as we were traveling through Costa Rica to Panama and absolutely loved Puerto Viejo. We had a great experience at Lizzard King. It wasn't in our guide book and we just stumbled upon it, but found it the perfect balance of cute and comfortable, friendly and yet affordable. The owners were very helpful, warm, easy going and non intrusive. They were there when we needed them and yet not overbearing in anyway. The open space which can be used as a breakfast/coffee/wine area also doubles as an inviting area to just hang out when the weather is icky. The rooms were comfortable and pool was pretty. We had a great experience here and highly recommend it to couples, families, whomever traveling through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Holly,

Thank you for writing a review. It's reviews like yours that fuels the moral of the team and helps provide a better guest experience. Thank you very much for your input and we look forward to your future stay at the Lizard King Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We just came back from a wonderful vacation in Puerto Viejo. We stayed at the Lizard King for 10 days and we loved every minute of it.
The location is amazing (on Puerto Viejo's main road, 2 minutes walk to the beach, forest, many restaurants and bars), the room was very clean and comfortable, the pool was a hit with our two little girls and above all the attentive care Bethany, Luis and their staff provide to their guests is making you feel at home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hi Shlomit and Family! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I hope everyone in the family is doing great. We hope to have you back soon and many thanks for being wonderful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The customer service here was fantastic. When we first arrived, during a rain storm, there was a small leak in our room. They immediately moved our items to a bigger room and carried in a fridge when we asked for one. They then proceeded to fix the leak within 20 minutes of us reporting it.
The workers are really sweet and made conversation with us everyday, providing us with travelling advice including maps, great sights, cheap places to eat and even advice on where to go and how to travel around the rest of Costa Rica.
The food is amazing and all homemade fresh in the morning. The pancakes are the best I've ever tasted.
Conveniently located about 2 mintues from the beach and 4 minutes from the hub. There is a bakery next door and a soda just opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Remi,

Thank you very much for you review. Bethany and I have missed having you and Tiggy as guests. We hope to see you during your next visit to Puerto Viejo. We hope you have had a safe and sound trip back. Thanks again and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews