We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lizard King Resort- Incognito in Puerto Viejo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Lizard King Resort Hotel in Puerto Viejo is one of the better places to stay in this town, with an included breakfast that was the deciding factor in staying longer than I’d originally planned-the pancakes are highly addictive! The rooms are clean, and the staff is warm and familiar, two things I’ve learned not to expect when traveling, especially on a budget. Standard rooms have vintage charm, and the modern rooms have all the amenities- all overlook the pool. If the Mexican Restaurant is open, the chefs work magic and often offer organic specials straight from the family farm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegreentease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms had cable and air conditioner and it was very clean. They even helped us arrange and put together travel events and sites. The food was good, especially the breakfast. One of there best features is there WIFI and internet service right in the hotel. They also had a pool which looked inviting although i spent most of my time at the beach which is only a 10 minute walk from there. Overall, it was way better then i expected and i plan to be back there next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank new_yorker2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lizard King for approx 5 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The owners (Lillian and Louis) are lovely - Tvery helpful and safety concious regarding the resort and who comes in and out. The resort is all constructed of wood (built by Louis!), with an open, relaxing feel, breakfast was delicious, the rooms are very adequate, with 2 fans (ceiling and floor), TV, and clean bathroom with a hot shower. The pool area is gorgeous (although somehow we never managed to take a dip as we were out exploring a lot and it rained!). It felt like having a caring mother when I got sick for a night or so, as Lillian was willing to bring my breakfast to the room as I couldn't move..and even wanted to take me to the doctor should I have needed it! They were also kind enough to look after our bags whilst we disappeared to Panama for a few days! The website originally said free internet and that there was a mexican restaurant - the internet was down for the majority of our stay and the restaurant was closed - but only due to the Lillians's son (who is the chef) being injured in an accident - so can't comment on the food. I am sure it would be lovely though. Definitely worth the money we paid to stay and we will definitely stay again should we be back in Puerto Viejo again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This hotel was listed in The Lonely Planet as "high end" but it is far from it. The website touts the pool, Mexican restauant and Martini bar but currently the restaurant and Martini bar do not exist. They are building and are working on them but they are not available. And to make it even worse, the workmen begin bright and early in the morning - 7am-ish (at least on Saturday when I was there) so forget relaxing. If the hammering and sawing don't wake you up then the resident dog will with it's early morning barking. And finally, if that isn't enough then the hotel workers will wake you with their constant knocking on the doors. The rooms are average for a budget or midrange hotel in Costa Rica (certainly not "high end") and the bathrooms are not nice. The towels completely ruin the experience as they look like they have been borrowed from someone's rag bin. On the bright side, the rates were reasonable (espeically considering the state of the property), breakfast is included and is good and the pool is nice. My internet request never received a confirmation and my email never received a response so we had to call directly. There are many better hotels in Puerto Viejo for similar affordable prices. Once the renovations to the bar and restaurant are done perhaps it may be worth the stay but in the meantime I advise skipping it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We completely enjoyed our stay here. As another reviewer noted, this is a budget hotel. My husband and I checked out 13 hotels in Puerto Viejo before settling on this one. We were looking for the best value for our money and we certainly got it!

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We loved that use of the internet was included in the price of the stay. They made a wonderful hot breakfast each morning served with fresh juice and coffee. It was served in thier great bar that is both tropical and classy at the same time. It was a very relaxing and calming atmoshpere.

This was the cleanest budget hotel we stayed in. The rooms were spotless and they brought us fresh towels everyday. We were also very impressed that the windows were all well screened in and there was a mosquito net. Many budget hotels do not adequately protect guests from the risk of malaria and other diseases spread by mosquitos. The owners of this hotel clearly care about thier guests.

We thought the pool was awesome. It is a simple, square pool that is perfect for cooling off from the heat. I wouldn't want to lounge around it because the beach across the street was so lovely. It is a great pool for a swim.

The hotel was also close to town, so we were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was also far enough from the clubs to not be loud at night.

Overall we had a fabulous stay at this hotel. It was quaint, romantic and wonderful. I don't think there are better budget accomodations in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Beth_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

I was disappointed when I got to this hotel. Yet again I followed the advice of The Lonely Planet guidebook, which puts it in the "top end" category, and states that it cost $90 a night. So on this basis I was expecting comfort. I didn't find comfort. I certainly wouldn't describe it as "top end" (I dread to think what budget is like) and it was a mere $30.
I found it like sleeping in a bug filled, boiling hot shed. It had windows, but you couldn't really open the curtains due to privacy issues. Also the rail fell off when I tried!
If you are used to this kind of hotel it is probably fine for you. The bed was comfy, there was a fan, a manky towel, a soap dispenser, and even a television (I had to move rooms and pay a little extra to get one).
There wasn't a glass provided in the room, so I had to go and buy one from the shop in order to pour myself a drink. There was a scary looking Rottweiler dog skulking around, but at least that means your room is unlikely to get robbed I guess. The lady at reception seemed helpful, she let me stay in my room until 2.30pm on the day I checked out, for an extra $10. The bar/restaurant seemed to be getting refurbished when i was there, I saw no one drinking there. There is a pool, but no loungers.
I don't think there are any decent hotels in this town. It all seems to be backpacker style sheds with no A/C. It is a shame because it is a cute little town with a gorgeous beach, but I could only tolerate this accommodation for one night before heading off to San Jose to have a bath!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kat4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

The Lizard King Hotel is a great budget hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed here for $30 a night and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is owned by a mother and her son, who are both incredibly friendly. It seemed like no matter what hour it was the owners were there to answer questions or just chat with. The rooms are basic, but very roomy and had powerful fans to keep the place cool most of the day. The rooms surround a pool, which is small but refreshingly cool. The place is stocked with plastic chairs if you want to relax by the pool. The hotel is also nicely located just outside of downtown on the main road and is within a stones throw of three pretty good places to eat. The place includes an internet cafe, which for reasonable price will give you about the fastest internet you'll find in puerto viejo. Although the hotel includes a "restaurant" I wouldn't recommend eating in with so many better options just a short walk away. The owners were telling me the most recent editions of Lonely Planet misquoted them on the prices, so don't be thrown off if your guide book doesn't match this review. I promise rooms aren't $80. All in all this was a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good budget option.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank earthbound_drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#23 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#19 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#29 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Playa Chiquita
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#26 of 113 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing