We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great cost vs. value!”
Review of Cabinas Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas Tropical
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, great cost vs. value!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We found this little place by chance and were very surprised. For $44 for a double room we had everything we needed: a clean room just the right size, nice bathroom with beautiful tiles, big shower with hot water, small fridge, flat screen TV and a big quiet fan, shelves with plenty of space. Each room has a small terrace up front with 2 chairs, a small table, and a hammock. It has a beautiful garden inside the gate, so it is also safe. It is in a back street so away from the center but close enough to be reached by foot within minutes. In the morning there is coffee and tea for free, and the maid cleans your room every day, if you need her to. They also rent decent bikes for a good price. It is all in all very nice and inexpensive, considering other prices in Costa Rica. Everyone was friendly and helpful, when we needed anything. Reading some of the lower ratings, I believe that the owner has done a lot of improvements. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The place outside looked really nice and is well done. You have very comfy hammocks outside of every room. We liked that. But inside the rooms it should be done a bit. The sheets where so old, and should be changed. Even if they might be washed it doesnt feel very nice. Also the moskito net is not long enough. It was always open when we woke up at night.
There is an old carpet on the otherwise nice woodenfloor. No need of a dirty carpet... in the bathroom where spidernets. And even if they are new, after the first night they could be cleaned up by the roomservice.
The owner (women) was nice and very friendly, the place was not far from the center but except of that I would not stay there again. There is a much nicer place just around the corner.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunadi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Cabinas Tropical last December. The staff was very helpful & accommodating. Our room was impeccably clean when we arrived, & was kept that way daily by the friendly maid service. We rented bicycles in like-new condition from the hotel, which made us free to bike for a quick dip at Playa Negra, explore town, and ride the beach/jungle trail to Playa Cocles. We enjoy watching the numerous birds in the garden from the deck. The location allows the opportunity to engage with the endangered Afro-caribbean (Patois) culture/language. I would like to return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in Cabinas Tropical in January 2014, We really enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back next year. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the tour at the jungle with Juana and Rolf, very kind people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Have been there with my wife two week ago arrived at night.the next day we spent on the great beaches in the city and we did the fun of our life until we got back to the cabinas tropical,apparently the place is under construction (when we arrived we didn't see it cause the owner hide it and also he did not mention it upon checking ) any how there was not water in the room cause the closed the main pipe to the cabinas because of the construction and we needed (and all of the guests) to Wait until they will open it... After the water returns we where missing towels cause the took they for laundry and didn't return them yet!!! Moreover because of the construction there are terrible loud notices from 8:00-17:00!! Impossible to stay there, we left after one night.the most troubling thing was actually the attitude of the owner when we come to complain. Oil thing his name was Rudolf.he just was absolutely rude,ignore us and tell us that we knew all of this before and that it is our problem!! Unbelievable!!!
Be carful !!! And we be aware!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Porto viejo is a great
place to stay ,we stay there for 4nights,unfortunately the staying in cabinas tropical ruined our time there. One afternoon we wonted to rest in the room by we couldn't ,apparently the place is under renovation and there is horrible noises of construction from 9am till 5pm. When I turned to the owner for explanations to ask him why he didn't mention it when he did us a tour before be booked in he just waved me and told me that I knew about it and that I'm a lier and Afterwords he turned around and left and ignore me. Furthermore, when I told him that he is being rode for leaving in the middle of the conversation, he told me that I only paying for the opportunity to stay and that I'm not an 80 years old that needs a nap!! I haven't had a bad service like that ever! Not recommended at all!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Or2013or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cabinas Tropical for five days. We we're only supposed to stay for three nights but it was just such a nice place. The room was great, clean and huge. Haven't seen a bathroom this big any other place during three months of travelling. I have to say we stayed in one of the bigger upper rooms. The downstairs ones are smaller. We had a semiprivate balcony with hammock, chairs and table. The location is a couple of blocks of the main street but it feels really safe and you are away from the party noise. It still just take minutes to get to the beach.
Best part was doing the rainforrest tour which the owners offer. Rolf is extremely knowledgable and Juana just spots every animal there is to be seen. If you stay here you should definitely do the tour. It is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#17 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tropical

Property: Cabinas Tropical
Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 00506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Tropical 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tropical Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing