We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dome Home in the Rain Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom. The approach and the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom.
The approach and the front door.
Paintings from my favourite local artist in the main dome.
Bedroom with relaxation seats in the windows
Queen size bed with canopy.
The stairs to the observation platform.
The observation platform features two adirondack chairs and a hommock.
spa style shower made from river stones. also, slate bench with rain shower head and hand shower.
Washroom counter with stone sink and bamboo faucet.
Our first guest arrived during construction!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jeffrey35
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dome Home in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Staying at Casa Corazon del Mar during our Jungle Vacation was an amazing choice for us. It is a three-room dome home, equipped with cooktop, refrigerator, bottled water, Fantastic Rain Shower, toilet, comfortable mosquito-netted bed, and a wonderful sitting area by the plunge pool. The large plants in the bathroom are a great touch. Exquisite! It’s your own little hobbit house, in the Rain Forrest, so relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. Kind of like camping, isolated and private, but with all the extras – can you imagine all this? Plenty of fresh air and fans, no AC noise to disrupt the quiet. There are lots of geckos, birds and dragonflies whizzing about. We even had a frog or two or three, jumping all around! Some are small, so keep your eye out for these colorful little guys.

Fortunately, John and Eric are perfect hosts, who also live on the property and helped in every way if needed. They even included a bottle of wine and some goodies for when we first arrived. We had such a fantastic stay here. Loved the plunge pool, where at night, we shut off the lights except for the ones in the pool and little tea lights inside. It was wonderful to sit back and enjoy the sounds of the jungle. Yes, Wi-Fi in the jungle really does work well. Sitting above the dome, on the upper deck with coffee and tea in the morning, was a great way to start the day. Make sure you get up early so that you can see and hear the animals waking too. Don’t forget to stop in town and pick up some bakery from one of the two fabulous bakeries and coffee shops, Bread & Chocolate or De Gustibus. You’ll be glad you did. Eric and John can give you some excellent suggestions for places to eat for dinner too. Amimodo and Stachu’s con Fusion were two of our favorites.

If you want the Jungle Experience, this is it. We know of some people who are not used to having all the critters around, but we loved being in the jungle with them. We even watched one frog do laps around the pool!!! I would say, that we’re not bicyclists or huge walkers, so a car was in order for us, we’re 64 yrs young. Marco’s Pizza, The Point Sports bar, and the beach is a bit of a walk from here, but other parts of Puerto Viejo are further, about a Km away, maybe 20min or so if you walk. We watched the bicyclists negotiate the roads and holes. No helmets here. Taxis are recommended at night for the short $7 ride. We loved our adventure with geckoes, toucans, pizotes, and incredible plant life. We even woke up to a flock of parrots chatting VERY loudly in the trees above the dome, but for only a short time. It was very exciting. You might even see the howlers during their early evening stroll.

The Casa Corazon del Mar was perfect for our stay. Don’t forget your bug spray. We used essential oils and they worked fine. Don’t forget a flashlight. It gets really dark in the jungle. Coming from the city you don’t really realize how dark it can get out here. You will need it to traverse the trail to the dome, but John always turned on the outdoor light, so we knew we were heading in the right direction, to our little hobbit home in a jungle paradise. Pura Vida!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the Rain Forest.
Liked least: No ice cubes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for choosing us. We are always so happy to provide a place for people like you and Christine to have a new experience. We hope to see you again in the future, we felt as though we were just getting to know you. All the best! I hope your weather is warming up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBowna...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Find out why CNN recently filmed here...”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It goes by many names. The dome house and the Hobbit house to name just two. What it is though is a beautifully built trio of interlinked concrete ‘igloos' with a private plunge pool and a jungle canopy viewing deck - all hidden in private grounds next door to the owners' home at the end of a secluded track just a few minutes walk from the black sands of Playa Negra on the shores of the Caribbean. It's not surprising that the CNN cameras were recently down to do a feature on this unique house. Driving from the north about a kilometre before Puerto Viejo you'll see the ocean in front of you and a sports bar on your left. As you round the bend take the first turn on your right - if you cross a bridge you have gone too far. The track has a few turnings. Take the first left, then turn right and drive to the end where you will see some big green gates. There is a parking bay on the left and the house is to be found at the end of a path that winds through the jungle for 30 yards or so. Everyone's first impression is the same - it's simply stunning! Everything is based on curves, and this is indoor/outdoor living at its best. The living room/kitchen opens onto the pool, and from it lead doors to the beautiful bathroom and the cosy sleeping quarters, with their huge, circular, wooden window shutters (secured with big metal bars if you want to keep the jungle outside). The kitchen is well-equipped, but do remember to pack all the essentials like coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, etc if you are going to be self-catering. If you are not planning on cooking much Marco's is just over the bridge on the beach road and does amazing but thin crust wood-fired pizzas to eat in nor take away. Alternatively there are loads of places in town - just a twenty minute walk away (although probably double that if you are heading to anywhere at the southern end of the strip). Given the great setting on the edge of virgin jungle I'd recommend spending as much time ‘at home' as you can, particularly if you like the close company of critters. From huge bugs with wings like giant leaves and bright green and red tree frogs, to sloths and other native fauna, this a nature-lover's dream vacation. Your hosts live on the same plot of land with their tribe of rescued dogs. Their house is further into the jungle and close enough that if you need anything (and nothing is too much trouble) they are only seconds away, but screened enough so you can still enjoy complete privacy. Sip a complimentary glass or two of wine on arrival and count yourself lucky you stumbled on this little corner of paradise.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique design and location
Liked least: Cleaner forgot to replace salt and pepper :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khrista69
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor quality, mildew, and not kept up. Paid for Hilton got a tent”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

dont do it!.
Next the place was not clean- the bathroom smelled badly of urine. By the third day I couldn't handle it anymore and had to scrub the floor. The shower although looked lovely splashed water all over the bathroom floor hence our feet were wet every time we went to the bathroom as it never dried, the whole time we were there. The bamboo tap was felling off, the door handle on the bathroom door, top pulled off when i closed the door.
kitchen- mold everywhere. Now I understand it is always damp with high humidity, but the freezer was moldy and made all of our food smell and taset like mold. The cutting board on top of the fridge was full of mold both sides. I had too wash the whole kitchen in order to make it clean enough to cook. The tea bags in the boxes all moldy in the box. Trash was never emptied our whole time we were there. After the third day my husband become sick with a head and chest cold. he has an allergy to mold.And is still trying to recover for the illness.
Bedroom.- because of all of the creatures and rain coming-in the windows we had to keep the windows closed at night and it was like sleeping in an sauna, then we are sweating and lying on wet sheets. the sheets never were dry. Never once n the 7 days, offered to wash or change them. Find upon arriving that the safe doesn't work, so had to lock the door to the bedroom, No door handle and the pins kept falling out of the bedroom door and the bathroom door. if we leave and had to lock things in our bedroom then we have to kept the widow shutters shut as well, so no air in the bedroom at all during the day/ night. It was very unpleasant experience for us.
living room, the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat in and the cushions were moldy/wet as well.
Pool- this we were so excited for and was the number one reason we choose your dome. greg loves to soak in a pool on holiday and to have our own that would be great. Would have been except it was dirty and never turned on. I had to clean it every day myself. i was told by John "good luck with that" . beach a lot further then 300 meters away. Also told you had bikes we could use/you didnt. .
The day before we left I did tell you I wasn't happy and things weren't great and only then did you offer to put our sheets in your dryer. DRYER!!!
You know what the creatures were not the issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: terrace
Liked least: mold uncleanly promising one thing and getting nothing exected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
This is categorically untrue and the person who wrote this knows it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyGorans...
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exotic and Luxurious Jungle Experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights this month and loved the unique surroundings!! This house gives visitors to Costa Rica the feel of what it must be like to live in the jungle while at the same time having the luxurious feeling of being at an exotic resort. We slept under the mosquito netting (though there were surprisingly few insects) with the windows open and enjoyed listening to the birds, howler monkeys and other jungle creatures as we woke up. The bathroom helps to add to the feeling of being part of a honeymoon suite with the uniquely designed shower layout. The upstairs patio is the perfect spot to sit and enjoy the warm temperature of Costa Rica even as it rains. The decor is thoughtfully placed to be warm and inviting while retaining the jungle spirit of the home. The location is close enough to town to be comfortable walking/biking distance but is quiet and private with only the owners nearby. Casa Corazon del Mar is the perfect setting for a romantic vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The experience of being in the jungle but also in beautifully comfortable surroundings.
Liked least: We really enjoyed eating dinner in town by that point in our stay but we should have made more of an effort to fix a meal at the house and enjoy its beautiful setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
It was a pleasure having you in our Casa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sus H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights over our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. John is an amazing host and was more than happy to help with any requests or recommendations in the area. Even before we arrived John responded promptly to our emails and was really helpful with any questions we had leading up to our trip. We arrived early one morning and John had arranged for us to be picked up from Limon. Upon arrival we were greeted with a fridge stocked with breakfast food which was incredibly thoughtful and not to mention appreciated after being up since 4am. John's local knowledge is fantastic and we really felt like we got to experience the best of Puerto Viejo.

The experience of staying in the house is truly unforgettable. Every design aspect to it was clearly very well thought out and we enjoyed our pseudo outdoor living in this amazing home. I wish I could go back and relax in the hammock with a drink right now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thanks so much! It was truly a pleasure having you here. We look forward to your return! All the best! I am so glad we were part of you beginning your journey of life together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amybenven...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just amazing! Owners John and Eric are wonderful as well and made our experience unforgettable. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for a beautiful adventure. We were met and escorted through the jungle by John who had already stocked our fridge with treats and wine. He and Eric have special hearts with six rescue dogs and a rescue cat! Love these guys! I have so many favorites about this place but My favorite part of the dome was sitting on the observation deck at dusk listening to all of the jungle sounds and watching the beautiful wildlife unfold around me. I really can't say enough good things about the dome and the guys who own it. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal57...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for three nights in this unique and beautiful house. We loved the layout, design and location of the house. The upstairs deck is a great place to relax with a drink and take in the natural surroundings. The shower is amazing. The pictures don't really do it justice.

We rented bikes and it was a short ride to down town. We even rode the 12km to Manzanillo then hit Punta Uva on the way back. I recommend that.

If you're squeamish about bugs this may not be the place for you but if you realize that you are a guest in their natural environment you can easily get by.

John, the owner, was a fantastic host. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us and the fridge was stocked with eggs, bread, butter and juice for the next morning's breakfast. He gave us the low down on the town and the best places to visit. Stashu's restaurant was the highlight of all the places we ate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing