We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tight Schedule”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tight Schedule”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for one night and two days, and while the reviews of Evergreen Lodge are generally good, it just wasn't what we were expecting/looking for during our trip to Costa Rica. If you have never been to the jungle, and you would like all meals, travel, etc. taken care of/programmed for you, this might be for you. The rooms are decent and the guides do a really nice job.

We have both previously been to the jungle and think we probably would have enjoyed the experience more if it was our first jungle trip. Mealtimes were about 45 minutes each, and if you arrived at the later part of that time, most of the food was gone or had bugs flying around it. The food was mediocre at best, though the waitresses/waiters were friendly and attentive. We had a 5 am canal tour as part of our package, but the reception desk closes at 9 or 10 pm, and we couldn't communicate with them when we arrived back from a 10-midnight tour to let them know we weren't interested in attending. We left a note on our hotel door indicating we did not wish to go. They saw the note and woke us up anyways, "to double check".

The best part of this experience was going to see the sea turtles lay their eggs in the evening, but neither the 8-10 pm group nor the 10 pm-12 am group saw any that day. It was still an adventure!
I imagine the three day/two nights package would have been a bit calmer as far as scheduling goes, but I can't say this swampy river lodge left me wanting to come back and try it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimaBean1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    280
    57
    13
    9
See reviews for
136
343
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a well run program and in Jun Jul the rainy season the lightening storms go mad with war like volume. The noise out side the individual rooms like Bora Bora on poles explodes with power
And drama the jungle is alive.

Room Tip: Get an individual room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MostUNESCOsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived at Evergreen Lodge via a 45 minute boat ride through the jungle, a great way to start our stay. We enjoyed our stay; heck, we even enjoyed be awakened by howler monkeys at 4:45 am every morning! The accommodations are probably as nice as can be expected in such a remote setting, and the lack of air conditioning or glass windows was easily outweighed by the sheer beauty of the location. There's beauty and wildlife everywhere all around you. If you go to Tortuguero and/or Evergreen Lodge with realistic expectations, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Evergreen Lodge is right by the river and inside the rainforest, making it as close to nature as possible, yet it has all the amenities you want to have a wonderful stay.

Upon arrival (booked it through Jungle Tom Safaris), they welcomed with a pretty refreshing fruit juice drink by the dock.

All bungalows were built elevated on top of the lush green and yes, at night, one would totally feel surrounded by the nature sound of toads, geckos and glass frogs. It was surreal. There’s also plenty of space apart from each bungalow that gives excellent privacy. The room itself was very comfortable.

What was excellent was the lodge has its own trails and we got to hike through and saw some great frogs and animals. There was even a grey neck woodrail mother with her babies in the nest!

Tortuguero is known for its rain and the lodge has provided all the rain gear, from rubber boots to hike through the trails, to umbrellas and even ponchos.

The meals at Evergreen were rich and varied with many different types of meat and fish and vegetables. But I loved the good coffee and crackers that they had available at 5:20am before the morning ride to Tortuguero Park.

People here were very friendly and made sure each guest was well taken care. The bar by the pool was good with plenty of cocktails.

My bungalow was fairly close to the activity center so I did get excellent wifi.

They also offer excursions and have own ziplining but since I only stayed for 3 days so did not have enough time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TaminatorSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
675 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It took us an hour by boat ride to get to the lodge and we were not disappointed. Would recommend a two-night, three day stay at this great lodge in a lovely setting. The food was simple but great, salads every lunch and dinner. I stayed in a standard room but think the next time I would stay in a bungalow as you are more private. WiFi is only in the reception area or dining halls, but it did not matter. This is a place to just relax and enjoy the natural beauty. Make sure you take the canal rides to see all the birds and the reptiles - of course, the monkeys are fun to watch climbing in the trees. The drinks at the bar by the pool are excellent. This place reminded me of a mini Amazon cruise. I was pleasantly surprised. If you go to the little town of Tortuguero, know that some of the jewelry there is really exquisite and very reasonable. The trinkets are nice too as it is a touristy town. Loved the people in Costa Rica, very friendly and very proud of their county. A must see if you travel to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: I would stay in a bungalow - they are very simple, but the views are wonderful. You are awakened by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What i can say... i really enjoyed stay here with my family. big room, big bathroom with very good shower, the food was amazing and well cooked, swinmin pool clean and really beautiful garden full of birds, monkey , reptiles and more.... probably one of the best places in Tortuguero.
We will be back again but next time we will stay minimun 3 nghts... Tortuguero is a fantastic place .

Room Tip: i think any room can be good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The whole trip was very well organized. They pick you up in a tour bus and then you take a small boat to get to the hotel. The cabins are very simple, but clean and nice. Don't expect any luxury, there is no TV, no AC, and only wifi in the reception area. But then again, a weekend of total relaxation is great!! We stayed 3 nights 4 days which was great. They keep you entertained. You have a tour Tortuguero town. It's very small, but there are some nice souvenir shops, there is a Pizza place that's delicious; we ordered some pizzas and they delivered them to the hotel. The kids were happy to have a pizza night. The tour in the National Park Canals was just beautiful. At the hotel you have a nice pool where you can cool of after a hot day. YES!! it was terribly hot! And there are kayaks yo can use. You can see a lot of wildlife at the hotel. I would say the only inconvenient were the zillion mosquitos and the heat. So pack a lot of repellent and take a fan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMMM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 5 minutes by boat from the main entrance to Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 11502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing