We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jungle is what you get!”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The jungle is what you get!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice domain, with lots of activities. When we visited the place, we had lots of rain, which made it difficult to reach the place and even more difficult to get back. One big disadvantage: the huts have a metal roof and when it rains, the noise is overwhelming; so you'd better bring some earplugs.
The food in the hotel restaurant is very good (luckily, because there is nowhere else you can go).
A real must see is the nightly walks to see turtles laying eggs on the beach. (check out which time of the year you go!). But the canoe trips through the area are also worth doing, even if they start very early in the morning. And don't be surprised if you hear the howler monkeys when you are still in your bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folker_lamote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    293
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
140
362
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The food was good, although the desserts could have been a little better (maybe we just are used to the sugar-infused desserts in the States). We really liked the tours we went on. Although they need to better warn you about the hike of the grounds. When we were there, the mud was 1.5 feet deep in places. Someone ended up falling in (so make sure you don't wear anything nice). I liked that they were honest about the turtle tours and warned us that there hadn't been many sightings lately. We didn't go, which was good since they didn't see any. The river tour was wonderful - we saw so many birds and wildlife. We also liked the pool and the bar.

We were also thrilled when troops of 40+ monkeys came through the resort twice in one day. We got great pictures. One's tail actually hit my daughter as it jumped from one of the railings to the next. We also saw a huge land crab (they hind in the holes), two huge grasshoppers and a snake.

Room Tip: Ask for corner suites to get a breeze flowing through the rooms. It got very muggy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with teenager which would have been difficult if had stayed more than 2 nights as there is very little to do having said this as long as you pack in some sight seeing trips on the river or to see the turtles hatch you will be fine.

A must is to take out a kayak and paddle your own way along the tributary and also the main river, my teenage son and I saw and actually touched a 5ft Caiman whilst we paddled our own way which was one of the most memorable experience.

The Eco lodges themselves are basic but fabulous and the noises of the secondary rainforest are immense made all the better for not having glass in the window openings(they use mesh instead).

Being the rain forest it does what it says on the tin and a lot, so take rain gear and resign yourself to getting a little wet, if you accept this the experience will be very rewarding.

I would recommend a short stay here of maybe two nights, you can do three nights but not sure you will find enough to occupy yourselves although if you just want a rest with the incredible backdrop of the rainforest and glorious sounds then go for three.

Food is basic but good and staff are very friendly, oh and they do have WiFi if you need it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mlv00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is not just a review of the Evergreen Lodge but the whole package. As other have said the journey to Tortuguero is one big adventure. We have never experienced anything like this before. It was just amazing travelling along the Rio Suerte and then discovering the Evergreen Lodge was a wonderful start to our holiday in Costa Rica.
There was a warm welcome and a refreshing drink on our arrival. The cabins have all you need, good shower and washing facilities, comfortable bed and a lovely porch to sit and relax on. Although there is no glass in the windows only a fine mesh, this together with the ceiling fan, kept the room at a comfortable temperature and we both slept well.
You don't need an alarm clock here, the jungle wakes up around five in the morning! I will never forget the sound of howler monkeys.
The food at the restaurant was good and plentiful. I wish we had had more time there, we only managed the swimming pool once but it hit the spot on a tropical afternoon.
One word of advice, don't try and wash any clothes here, they won't dry in the humidity and you will end up throwing them away!
We looked at a variety of tours of Costa Rica, some didn't include Tortuguero. We travelled with Collette and were so glad they did include this wonderful place.

Thank you Evergreen Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughnut-Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Evergreen Lodge for three nights at the start of our two week family holiday in Costa Rica. The lodge can only be reached by boat ... a wonderful river ride on flat bottomed boats through the rainforest. Guests arrived in groups on the same boat with a guide and itineraries, excursions and meals were all taken in these groups for the duration of our stay which left us feeling a little processed or " packaged" . However, this seemed to be the only way possible to visit this part of Costa Rica and we wouldn't have missed it for anything. We stayed in wooden cabins on stilts immersed in the forest. They were cosy and beautifully furnished but we would recommend that you take some gaffer or duck tape to seal up the gaps in the mosquito mesh and above the doors.The lodge has a beautiful setting, right in the rainforest with monkeys swinging in the trees above the cabins and the sound of frogs and cicadas all night long was an unbelievable experience as were the variety of enormous bugs and spiders in our rooms at night!!! The food, although buffet style, was delicious and there was a fair amount of choice . We enjoyed the excursion to Tortuguero town and exploring the canals by boat for wildlife was amazing. We saw Caiman, white faced capuchin monkeys, spider monkeys,sloths, weird and wonderful lizards and iguanas, poison dart frogs,toucans and amazing birds and our guide and boat driver were experienced and passionate about spotting them and about sharing their knowledge with us.We did not enjoy our planned excursion exploring the forest trails at Evergreen lodge.Our visit was during the rainy season and we were provided with rubber boots (although there were not enough sizes to equip everyone) and warned that at times the water would come over the top of our boots. We were actually wading waist deep in muddy water. It was very frightening with the uneven ground beneath us ( tree roots and sinking mud) and some people lost their boots in the water or fell over .We felt it was irresponsible and dangerous for the guides to have taken us on this walk and we would never have done it had we known what lay ahead.We did not see any wildlife.On all other accounts the guides were excellent . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Evergreen in spite of this and our time in Tortuguero was definitely one of the highlights of our time in Costa Rica . It was a real jungle experience!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is reached via an hour long river ride. It is an oasisin the jungle. The turtle shaped pool is amazing, clean clear cool water cools you off in an instant in the heat and humidity that prevails this location.The cabins have no glass in the windows but are fully screened, so there is no problem with mozzies (mosquito's) in the rooms at night. The hotel has a well stocked bar and dining room, where breakfast is served. Pineapple to die for! A TV room and WiFi centre is also handy. Raised wooden walkways lead from cabins to all areas of the property. Don't expect a tranquil nights sleep though - monkeys throw coconuts onto the roofs of the cabins! Bird life is profuse and the howler monkeys make sure you get up early - no need for alarm clocks.Walks into the jungle are available and rubber boots are provided. On the other side of the river to the hotel is the ocean where the green sea turtles come to lay their eggs before the babies make their journey to the sea. Volcanic black sand beaches with rough non swimming waters provide a stunning backdrop.. Boat trips up and down the river will provide multitudinous animals (sloth's, Jesus Christ lizards, howler, spider and white faced monkeys, rare endangered green and scarlet macaws,caymans and a phenomenal variety of other bird-life. It is a rain forest so expect rain. Thin plastic ponchos just don't cut it, heavy duty ponchos or gore tex jackets are a must..The hotel is eco friendly, the staff are friendly as well.

Room Tip: All the cabins are the same...it's a one class hotel. But everything is excellent, if not a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CashoCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were just in Costa Rica a few days ago and this tour was one of the excursions that I was most excited for, mostly because it was going to be an overnight tour where our resort is literally in the rain forest, accessible only by boat.

The tour guide was at our hotel on time and we departed from the San Jose/Santa Ana area to the port, where we would then board and head towards Evergreen Lodge in Tortuguero. The bus ride was about 4 hours long, which an early stop for breakfast. Our driver was very knowledgeable and hilarious! He even pulled over a couple times on the side of the road just for us to take pictures of the beautiful scenery. Upon arrival at the port, there was a lot of people as this was the dock that took people into Tortuguero. Just a heads up, the port has a bar, where you can also buy drinks and such, but they charge $1 just to use the bathroom. I think that's ridiculous as this was the first time ever in my life that I had to pay to take a piss. I would have just done it in the bushes if there wasn't so many people around! =P

The boat ride was about an hour or less. Upon arrival at the dock of Evergreen Lodge, we were greeted by our tour guide and given fruit smoothies then given our room numbers. The rooms were quite minimal, but I wasn't expecting much anyways. Small rooms, no TV (it would be terrible if there was a TV considering you ARE in the rain forest where you should be enjoying the outdoors anyways), and no glass windows. Instead of glass for the windows, there was a screen (the material from screen doors).

The area around the resort was amazing and we ended up walking around looking for birds, monkeys, insects, and other wildlife all over! There were a ton of spiders, army ants, Capuchin monkeys, Howler monkeys and we even saw a Cayman! Keep your eyes peeled for the army ants as there's are usually a lot all over the ground. Try your best not to step anywhere near them as they will bite you with the quickness and it stings like crazy.

Our tour guide, Kevin, was a cool friendly guy, who actually lives on Tortuguero town itself gave us a tour of his town, the Tortuguero National Park and the resort grounds. Definitely a very different experience compared to any other resort I have every stayed at! Evergreen Lodge is a MUST!

Room Tip: You are actually assigned rooms, so I don't think you really get a choice. But all rooms are equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBlueJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,025 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,038 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 5 minutes by boat from the main entrance to Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 11502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing