We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in Tortuguero National Park”
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Baula Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour, it was nice, very basic rooms, the staff were lovely and friendly, the food was rather unpleasant buffet type food which I had trouble with, there was a nice pool and sunbathing was nice enough by the pool. The town centre is about 5 mins across the river by boat, and about a 10 min walk is the beach which is sublime. Would not go back but nice enough to have stayed...mind the howler monkeys waking you up at around 5am, pretty loud....!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeytaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour. As others have mentioned, were greeted on the dock with welcome drinks. Rooms are very basic, no windows (screens only). Room we stayed in needed a coat of new paint. Shower was one of the worst we had experienced on our trip. Bugs are quite bad around dust, again some of the worst our entire trip. Staff were helpful. Hotel has a nice pool, however shade is limited in the pool. Food was average, with salad, rice and beans showing up for almost all meals. No fan in the dining hall. Wifi available at the restaurant or reception desk only. No in room safes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of an Exploradores tour. The room was basic but huge and really clean, in a beautiful tranquil garden. The staff greeted us on arrival with welcome drinks at the boat dock which was nice.

Food was pretty good for a buffet - lots of healthy options and hot items.

Best thing about this lodge was the staff - they were very nice and welcoming.

Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I spent a night here as part of a tour to Tortuguero National Park. The rooms are very basic but quite ok for an overnighter (I've experienced worse back home), and the food is simple but good. The best thing about La Baula is the staff, very welcoming. Don't miss a trip into town (short boat ride), very small but very colourful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were here for two nights. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is also nice. Friendly staff and a good place to sit on the river for drinks before dinner or breakfast. Easy boat trip to town. One bartender was kool .When we returned from a turtle trip late at night he met our boat with our drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

La Baula is a nice place to stay in Tortuguero, rooms are simple but yet very clean and quite confortable. Staff is very nice and helpful. Nice views of the laguna from the lodge. Food is ok, but there are better places in the village to eat. Transport to and from the lodge is paid (taxi boats). We would return to this place!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mocrgomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything we inquired about, we received. We wanted a kayak tour and within minutes they notified the guy . Asked about seeing the turtles, and we were put on the list and got our time. Pool was very nice and clean. Even got to use the hotel's kayaks to paddle around a bit. In the restaurant, staff was always ready to serve. Food was excellent. They were very accommodating because, even though we did not do the all-inclusive price, often we would decide to eat at the hotel at the last minute. They got us to the airport on time. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing