We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the jungle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Baula Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Cottage Grove, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

A simple, sweet & peaceful escape w/a fine waterside lounge, good food, friendly service, lovely grounds & nice little pool. A great place to hang out for a couple of days after more hectic travel, watching howler monkeys, parrots & canal traffic. A good value & a wonderful ride in by water bus!

Room Tip: We had the quad in the corner, which was comfortable and very economical for the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmer-at-heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    98
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
52
99
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This lodge is great. You get there by water taxi ( 2 hour) because it is in the MIDDLE OF NOWHERE. We came on holidays at La Baula Lodge to see wildlife and fauna. It was great!! I did not attempt to use internet in my room, we slept there and spent family time with our child, but the internet at the lodge was great , The food is pretty basic and I would have liked it to be a bit more spicy but it was good comfort food , served hot and with a smile. The salads and especially the dressings were excellent.
Again the rooms were basic, clean and comfortable.

Grounds were lovely we were able to spend time with the toucans, howlers and the live in Iguana. My biggest complaint is that I couldn't get a mojito.
If you want the best western go for it, but I think you will regret it , you may never get to stand under a trail of hundreds of Morpho butterflies beginning their migration. I get a little crazy when folks write reviews and make comparisons that just don't work here. This is a protected National Park, and we like it that way. Don't lower your expectations, just change them, so you can really enjoy this amazing spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelers654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great little lodge in the middle of the jungle. Only accessible by boat as it is located in the Tortuguero National Park on the river. Please keep this in mind when visiting here because the rooms are very basic with only a bed, bathroom, and windows. Toilet paper must be thrown in the garbage (not the toilet) as is customary for most of Costa Rica. If you're looking for plush memory foam mattresses, marble, and stainless steel, you won't find it here - but it you're looking for peaceful surroundings, great people, and to experience another culture, you won't be disappointed. Aside from the nightly music, the only other planned activities are provided by the surrounding Howler monkeys and tropical birds. There is a nice pool on site to enjoy during the day. Meals are buffet style featuring typical Costa Rican food and an array of lush tropical fruits. There is wi-fi available at no cost to guests. The best thing about this lodge is the staff. They are absolutely amazing. They will bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinnurse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes for la baula when out water taxi pulled up to it. My four year old and wife said that it looked pretty. That was the high point.

They were not expecting us and throughout our stay only one person made an effort to help us. (Luiz). Staff told us meals were bad to go to the main town to eat. The mattresses were unbearable and the toilet was not clean. Walls were paper thin. No internet the entire stay. Only redeeming features our its grounds and pool. We saw many birds and howler monkeys up close on the premise.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights as part of a G Adventure tour. The grounds are beautiful and the toucans and howler monkeys will keep you entertained. There is also a nice pool, although with our tour activities, I did not get a chance to swim in it.

The staff are friendly and attentive and we were greeted with a yummy glass of juice upon arrival off the boat.

The rooms are basic, but clean. We did have a raccoon problem though that disrupted our sleep. It had managed to get in between the roof and the ceiling and made quite a racket at night. The staff tried to root it out but it remained there for the duration of our stay.

I found the food just fine. It is local Costa Rican fare and I found it tasty and plentiful.

Beautiful views of the moon rise at night on the dock beside the bar.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Basis but descent lodging. The food needs improvement. Both breakfast and diner were below standard as far as we are concerned. It should be noted that the lodge is in the middle of the jungle, so that has to be taken into consideration. Surrounding gardens are beautiful and it is just far enough from town to not be troubled with the hordes of tourists visiting Tortuguero.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinguin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46703
Level Contributor
293 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The lodge is basic with a ceiling fan and three windows. The pool area was nice. The meals were fantastic. The garlic fish was awesome! The beer isn't cheap at $4 per bottle. I saw monkeys, toucans, and parrots on the grounds of the lodge. It is on the canal and would be impossible to walk to the beach. Town is a short three minute boat ride. The room was clean and shampoo and soap were provided.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#10 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Property: La Baula Lodge
Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing