We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #5 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This accommodation is situated right on the beach and about a 10minute walk from the boat dock. There are a couple of small markets near the boat dock but I would bring your own supplies if planning to cook since these markets are extremely limited.
Icaco does have kitchen access but they have limited utensils and it isnt the cleanest kitchen around.

We payed 25us for a double with a private bathroom. We were told there were cheaper rooms but these were all full. There was also a more expensive private bungalow with beach views. The rooms were nice and clean, had a fan, small table, hot water and no TV. They provided soap and towels. They also had a hammock area near the entrance close to the beach. I think there were about 7 hammocks and these were usually always full.

The staff were friendly and always answered any questions we had.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

We took the local buses and boats to get to Tortuguero from San Jose. Adolfo from the hotel met us at Cariari and guided us to the 2nd bus and the boat to the hotel. He was helpful in arranging tours with himself. The place is more of a hostel with private rooms and baths. It was clean, can get loud though since all the rooms have windows facing the main courtyard. There are no ACs but there are fans and relatively hot water in the shower. Place is right on the beach and close to the park.
The canoe tour in the morning with Adolfo was awesome, got to see most of the animals in Tortugeuro. He was great at spotting things we never could have seen.
You can also just walk into the Tortuguero park on the right of the hotel, they dont really check tickets so try walking in by yourself. We saw a lot of animals in the first 30 mins by ourselves (even 2 snakes!).
Make sure to bring cash to Tortuguero as the hotel and the tours we booked through Adolfo don't take credit. You should either bring cash from the airports or as a last resort at Cariari (our credit cards werent working in the ATMs here so don't depend on this location).

Room Tip: Calling is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We we're expected in the port by Adolfo who took us to El Icaco. The owner is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are VERY clean and the location... could not be better!

Room Tip: I think that any room will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We did the package deal with the boat ride from Moin, all meals, a hiking guide and a canoe trip. All of this is arranged by the innkeeper, Calixto. He is a great guy, very friendly, and cares about making it a great experience. Our guides were generally very interested in making sure that we saw as much as possible, and one of them knew just about everything there was to know about the plants and animals. The food was delicious, and Calixto set us up to eat sometimes on the porch in front of our room, and other times in a little restaurant for variety. I am even a vegetarian, and they found ways to make it interesting for me! The room was plain, but very comfortable and airy, with adequate protection from bugs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Hotel El Icaco is quite basic but very good value and we enjoyed our stay here. My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was basic and had some damp marks on the wall but it was clean and we had a fan, pretty comfy beds and a warm water shower, everything we needed really. There is a communal hammock area which was nice to have and breakfast was good, served on your own patio table. As this hotel was on the beach side it felt a bit cooler which was definitely a bonus as Tortuguero is a humid place! Tortuguero itself was such a great place, one of the highlights of our trip. We went on a canoe tour and saw caiman, monkeys, iguanas and lots of birds. The local people were so friendly and welcoming and made sure we had a great time. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hotel El Icaco offers private rooms with hot showers for a very reasonable price. Breakfast is included and is very good. Always fresh fruit with juice and coffee and either toast and eggs or pancakes. They serve it to you at a small table right outside your room! They can arrange tours for you when you check in. I was met at the dock and my luggage was carried to the hotel. The beach is not really safe for swimming but I went in waist deep and enjoyed the surf without any problems. They have hammocks set up which is great for relaxing and you can hear the surf in the background.
A good place to eat in town is Dorling's bakery. It has very good baked goods. I tried Miss Junie's but think it is over rated. The food was disappointing and it took an hour before it came.
There is an internet cafe in town that charged me 1.80US or 900 colones for half an hour which is reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

In a smaller place, where everyone knows everyone else, you stick out like a sore thumb as a tourist, and make for an easy mark. Calixto, and his attentive staff made sure my friends and I were safe, well-attended and dealt super-reasonably with us. Our transport was waiting on arrival. The rooms at El Icaco are nice, if simple, which is common there, and though there are limited meals, the rates were very reasonable and there is constant upgrading of the facilities making it the BEST place, from a strategic tranquility point of view. We had a marvellous time, and even got to see the turtles, several times, steps from where we relaxed during the day. Where else can you find an owner that sends you elsewhere when they cannot bundle exactly what you seek ? The communal facilities are also a big plus, and made for good bonding experiences with the other tourists. I will be back.
-J.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontravelslite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.3 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: Mtr South From the Soccer Field 200 | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing