We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not for backpackers”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Honestly, I don't understand what all that hype is all about and why they are sooo heavily booked all the time, even during the low season.
We just showed up there and they lady said she could accomodate us only for 2 nights (we needed 3), as she is completely booked with the group coming on a third day. Ok, no problem. On a third day we moved to a neighbour's property, hotel "Balcon del Mar" which is a much better option in every aspect (they have mini fridges in a room, very nice and clean communal kitchen, bigger bathrooms) and charge less for essentially the same room.

Anyway, our room was very basic with a tiny bathroom - one person could barely fit in there. No mosquito nets. They charge 5 dollars extra for the breakfast (if you want one) - we opted out. You can not use there kitchen (which was a bummer, since we were travelling with a 2 year old kid). Since our room was facing the house where owners stayed, we were subjected to listen to their TV with them. ((( (hate that)
On a positive side: rooms cleaned daily. Towels changed daily and the maid makes those fancy swans out of them .)) There is a nice little patio with a plastic table/chairs by each room, so you can seat there (if mosquitoes don't get you before).

This property did not work for me at all. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Mrs ,thank you for your comment those are what make us do a better job , No one visit a place that give a bad service to costumers , most of the comments that our possible visitors read coming from people who visit our place twice,we are a B&B so our reasonable rates include breakfast ., For people who arrive with no reservation like you we do our best to hold them in our place , but we need to respect reservation, respect reservation is what make us grow up in the area ,we do not have a kitchen guest but people who needs a fridge or a microwave can use ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    175
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
169
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed only one night, but El Icaco was great! The breakfast was the best included breakfast I've ever had at a budget hotel/hostel, and the place is literally steps from the ocean, with hammocks looking out on the beach. All this plus a private room with my own bathroom for less than $20 USD and it really can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cholet
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

a nice place to stay and very quiet so so good and ready to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebarteam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Arriving in Tortuguero was like a scene from Jurassic Park, after we landed off the local transport (a boat through the canal) we instantly felt like we were in paradise.

First impressions of Hotel El Icaco were really nice, hammocks outside to relax on, a ladder up a coconut tree free for the picking. The room we had was very nice and clean and perfect for our needs including an ensuite bathroom.

The breakfast (included in the price) each morning was really good and everyone was really friendly.

My only tip would be LOOK AROUND for different prices and guides and tours as prices greatly vary across all of the tour operators, and the experiences do as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Anyone traveling to Tortuguero I would strongly recommend staying here. It was $25 a room (there were two of us), very clean, they changed the sheets and gave us fresh towels each day. You are right by the beach and a short walk to town so its nice and quiet. There were hammocks you can lie in and hear the ocean while you read or nap. There was a table and chairs and a little patio area for each room which was awesome, we loved having our own area to sit outside the room. The grounds were very well kept and super clean. The breakfast is an extra $10 and not worth it! Overall, this place was fantastic and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I travelled to Tortuguero with the intention of seeing turtles,supposedly one type laying their eggs right now.The hotel staff were lovely, very welcoming and happy to help,but the room was average especially for the price.Lovely breakfast in the morn tho and the owners son walked me to the boat and carried my bag.Hammocks are very cool too.But no turtles, and be prepared for heavy duty,fast walking 6km hike across the beach at breakneck speed looking for said turtles($20),and if you get tired no letting up from Leanordo who will happily tell you you shouldnt have come on the tour, are obv out of shape and are disgusting the rest of the group.Lovely guy.My advice only go in July, when you may actually see a turtle.X

Room Tip: no tip sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livvyinthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst in Tortugero after having it recommended by a friend and very glad we did. The place is run by friendly staff, is clean and well equipped. Its not a luxurious hotel but has everything you would expect for the price. My only complaint is that we paid for a private room with hot shower but the hot water didn't work so we had to have ice cold showers day and night.
Overall though I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 7 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#11 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing