We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Nearby Hotels
Rana Roja Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$502
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mawamba Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$595
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turtle Beach Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens(Tortuguero)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pachira Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Evergreen Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$608
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aninga Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$608
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
127
186
60
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
186
60
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkbreakfast not includedcanoe tourbig roomplace to stayclean roomsquiet locationstayed nights herebook tourssoccer fieldnice breakfastcouple of nightsnight walkearly morningno air conditioninghostelhammocks
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were 'recommended' this hostel by what we thought was a representative of the 'associacion de guias' whilst waiting for the bus at Cariari. Turns out he wasn't an independent rep but had called his mate to meet us at the dock upon arrival to take us to Icaco and presumably get the commission - this was a little annoying as we had got chatting to a guide on the boat who also was intent on getting the commission by taking us to the hotel and upon arrival neither man was happy with the situation! Not that it was anything to do with us!

They both walked us to Icaco - we looked at the room, decided to stay, and just left them to fight out the commission amongst themselves. They also wanted us to sit down discuss our tour plan for the next day but we told them to leave us to get our bearings first and we'd find them later if we needed to.

Anyway, Icaco is a pretty basic hostel - two double beds in our room with poor mattresses, TINY bathroom, knees practically touching the door when sitting on the toilet! The rooms are cleaned every day which is good and there each has a little patio area with table and chairs and there are hammocks that you can chill out on whilst looking at the sea/browsing the internet on their wifi.

Our room was $25 - you could get breakfast for an extra $10 but we felt this excessive and just sorted ourselves out.

Incidentally, I have some severe reservations about the 'turtle tours' - but see my other post for this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Honestly, I don't understand what all that hype is all about and why they are sooo heavily booked all the time, even during the low season.
We just showed up there and they lady said she could accomodate us only for 2 nights (we needed 3), as she is completely booked with the group coming on a third day. Ok, no problem. On a third day we moved to a neighbour's property, hotel "Balcon del Mar" which is a much better option in every aspect (they have mini fridges in a room, very nice and clean communal kitchen, bigger bathrooms) and charge less for essentially the same room.

Anyway, our room was very basic with a tiny bathroom - one person could barely fit in there. No mosquito nets. They charge 5 dollars extra for the breakfast (if you want one) - we opted out. You can not use there kitchen (which was a bummer, since we were travelling with a 2 year old kid). Since our room was facing the house where owners stayed, we were subjected to listen to their TV with them. ((( (hate that)
On a positive side: rooms cleaned daily. Towels changed daily and the maid makes those fancy swans out of them .)) There is a nice little patio with a plastic table/chairs by each room, so you can seat there (if mosquitoes don't get you before).

This property did not work for me at all. Sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Mrs ,thank you for your comment those are what make us do a better job , No one visit a place that give a bad service to costumers , most of the comments that our possible visitors read coming from people who visit our place twice,we are a B&B so our reasonable rates include breakfast ., For people who arrive with no reservation like you we do our best to hold them in our place , but we need to respect reservation, respect reservation is what make us grow up in the area ,we do not have a kitchen guest but people who needs a fridge or a microwave can use ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed only one night, but El Icaco was great! The breakfast was the best included breakfast I've ever had at a budget hotel/hostel, and the place is literally steps from the ocean, with hammocks looking out on the beach. All this plus a private room with my own bathroom for less than $20 USD and it really can't be beat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

a nice place to stay and very quiet so so good and ready to go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebarteam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Arriving in Tortuguero was like a scene from Jurassic Park, after we landed off the local transport (a boat through the canal) we instantly felt like we were in paradise.

First impressions of Hotel El Icaco were really nice, hammocks outside to relax on, a ladder up a coconut tree free for the picking. The room we had was very nice and clean and perfect for our needs including an ensuite bathroom.

The breakfast (included in the price) each morning was really good and everyone was really friendly.

My only tip would be LOOK AROUND for different prices and guides and tours as prices greatly vary across all of the tour operators, and the experiences do as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews