We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #5 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Very good place by the sea with clean simple cabins good enough for staing few days in Tortuguero. The village is very nice and I can highly recommend it for amazing trips trought the jungle or along the canal. Breakfast here is very very simple, safe your money and have a big breakfast in the villiage by same price. The souvenirs shops are overpriced.
We stayed here for two days by 25 $ per person without breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were clean and cozy. It is right on the beach, the rooms do not have a view, but the view from the hammock is priceless. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again and have no hesitation to recommend this B&B.

We did our booking on hostelworld.com

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TkPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a bit pricey, 25 a room didn't seem to matter how many people you have. The view from their hammock cabana is pretty sweet! It's pretty close to the beginning of the 22 mile stretch of beach the tortugas lay eggs and hatch from, about mile #4. We came at the end of hatching and if we hadn't seen a tour stop for one of the last nests we wouldn't have seen them. Overall the hostel is serene and the people friendly. Good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilyapotomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

good setup - the hammocks were very relaxing. Tortuguero is definitely not a party destination but this is a great place to stay if you want to see the abundant wildlife.

The hotel offers "free" breakfast from 7-9:30. This is good, but most of the morning wildlife tours on the island run from 6-9 so, if you go on a tour, you're almost guaranteed to miss the stated breakfast hours. They still served us breakfast when we got back from our tour at 10AM but I'd recommend other travelers check about this if they're on a similar schedule.

Room Tip: if multiple guests are in a room, make sure that your room's fan oscillates. We had a fan but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevintrotter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The rooms are very basic but the location is gorgeous – right by the beach and near the centre of town (if that exists!). Breakfast was simple but adequate. A nice little place to stay in a gorgeous part of the world

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the El Icaco. Staff member came to take our bagage and guided us to the hotel.
When we arrived, the owner took time to explain to us activities to do on the island. We did the turtle tour with the hotel, it was amazing. The hotel offers breakfast and confortable basic room. It is close to the beach and the restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Nicely located directly at the beach where the sea turtles nest. Nice hammock hangout area and reasonably clean rooms with private bathroom. 24/7 reception/security personnel which do their best to help. Small and basic kitchen area which is not accessible during late evening or night times. I enjoyed my stay there and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAlfred_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.3 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona
La Casona
#4 of 10 in Tortuguero
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: Mtr South From the Soccer Field 200 | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing