We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beach front, more than you would except!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great location, beach front, more than you would except!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel has a beach front, and good service. The staff is polite and helpful. The rooms spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Kayak tours and restaurants are very close by. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantanaAndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    177
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
171
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The rooms are small, but more than adequate-the outside seating areas are nice, there is no AC but the fan keeps you cool enough-the bathrooms are great. The little kitchen area is good-it would be handy to be able to access this area post 7pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I loved this hotel! Location is excellent, one of the best in Tortuguero owing to it's proximity to the beach. It's a short walk to the national park and the shops but far enough away to not feel on top of the more touristy part of town and very quiet at night, truly relaxing. The hotel it's self is clearly basic as you would expect from the room price, but the staff are very helpful and friendly (even arranged for us to be met in cariari and escorted for the final bus and boat journey which was great as we got lots of local knowledge before we even arrived and saw so much wildlife on the boat!). The room was clean and no problems with water at all while we were there (unlike other parts of costa rica). The breakfast was tasty and there are nice areas to sit in hammocks and listen to the sound of the ocean and outside each room to sit and relax after days wildlife spotting in the national park. I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting a more local feel or a cheaper option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I will start with the obvious. El Icaco is a great value for the money. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Water was not available at all times of the day but this is because of a shortage on the island. As we were there a new water pump/well was being installed for use only by this property. The manager let us know immediately about the issue and gave us the best times to shower for most effective pressure. The breakfast, as said by another reviewer was delicious and way better than the simple continental breakfast offered by most hotels.

What really stands out most about El Icaco is the customer service. We were greeted as we arrived by the property manager who was very welcoming. We had everything we needed while we were there. My son hid his IPAD under his pillow to listen to music and we left without it. The manager went above and beyond the call of duty to get it back to us. There is no mail system in Costa Rica so the owner took it all the way to San Jose and left it with our car rental agency. I can't imagine many other people being willing to do all this. We really appreciated it and will never stay anywhere in Tortuguero again. It is this type of service that is more important than anything else to me. Good people that you know will take care of you even after your bill has been paid and you are 1000 miles away. Thank you EL ICACO!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the B&B El Icaco. The rooms were very clean and the employees nice and helpful. The hiking tour they offered was more a promenade than a hiking tour, but we saw some animals (snakes, spiders, monkeys..). Only the fact that the water was not running during the day was a little bit unpleasant (as it was not only the shower which did not work but also the toilet flush). All in all a good option to stay in Tortuguero!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very nice accomodations right near the beach. Rooms are simple and minimal, but clean and perfectly adequate. No air conditioning but the fans were plenty to keep cool at night. A short walk to the town center. They serve a free breakfast each morning and it was delicious!! Much better than a typical continental breakfast. Service was fantastic. Victor took us on a night hike and early morning canoe ride to see wildlife and was very friendly and knowledgable. There is a covered area where there are several hammocks for use, and was so nice to relax! Beautiful beaches, awesome sights and an all around great experience. We felt very safe and had no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaL160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We didn't stay here but they were very friendly and understanding that we had to cancel and didn't make a problem of it. Next time when we are in Costa Rica we will definitely stay here! Looks like a very nice place

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MayaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 7 in Tortuguero
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.9 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#12 of 34 in Tortuguero
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing