We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location and people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Beachfront, hammocks, gourmet breakfast and friendly, caring people. Calixto was fabulous. Even with our last minute reservation he had a guide waiting for us at la pavona. Roberto helped us to really know tortuguero. Loved the Caribbean decor and lifestyle at El Icaco. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynchlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    172
    53
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
168
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely place to stay with hammocks, great breakfast included, and clean comfortable rooms. The price is not super cheap, particularly if travelling alone, but for a few nights I thought it was worth it. Nice location, looking onto the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel has a beach front, and good service. The staff is polite and helpful. The rooms spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Kayak tours and restaurants are very close by. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantanaAndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The rooms are small, but more than adequate-the outside seating areas are nice, there is no AC but the fan keeps you cool enough-the bathrooms are great. The little kitchen area is good-it would be handy to be able to access this area post 7pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I loved this hotel! Location is excellent, one of the best in Tortuguero owing to it's proximity to the beach. It's a short walk to the national park and the shops but far enough away to not feel on top of the more touristy part of town and very quiet at night, truly relaxing. The hotel it's self is clearly basic as you would expect from the room price, but the staff are very helpful and friendly (even arranged for us to be met in cariari and escorted for the final bus and boat journey which was great as we got lots of local knowledge before we even arrived and saw so much wildlife on the boat!). The room was clean and no problems with water at all while we were there (unlike other parts of costa rica). The breakfast was tasty and there are nice areas to sit in hammocks and listen to the sound of the ocean and outside each room to sit and relax after days wildlife spotting in the national park. I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting a more local feel or a cheaper option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I will start with the obvious. El Icaco is a great value for the money. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Water was not available at all times of the day but this is because of a shortage on the island. As we were there a new water pump/well was being installed for use only by this property. The manager let us know immediately about the issue and gave us the best times to shower for most effective pressure. The breakfast, as said by another reviewer was delicious and way better than the simple continental breakfast offered by most hotels.

What really stands out most about El Icaco is the customer service. We were greeted as we arrived by the property manager who was very welcoming. We had everything we needed while we were there. My son hid his IPAD under his pillow to listen to music and we left without it. The manager went above and beyond the call of duty to get it back to us. There is no mail system in Costa Rica so the owner took it all the way to San Jose and left it with our car rental agency. I can't imagine many other people being willing to do all this. We really appreciated it and will never stay anywhere in Tortuguero again. It is this type of service that is more important than anything else to me. Good people that you know will take care of you even after your bill has been paid and you are 1000 miles away. Thank you EL ICACO!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the B&B El Icaco. The rooms were very clean and the employees nice and helpful. The hiking tour they offered was more a promenade than a hiking tour, but we saw some animals (snakes, spiders, monkeys..). Only the fact that the water was not running during the day was a little bit unpleasant (as it was not only the shower which did not work but also the toilet flush). All in all a good option to stay in Tortuguero!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 7 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing