We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands-on with turtles vs. tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I recently went to the private Pacuare Reserve, where my brother and I were the only guests. All the other folks were turtle researchers. As a result, rather than stand in a crowd at a respectful distance from a turtle, we were out on the beach 8 PM - 3 AM, helping to measure and tag leatherbacks, as well as relocate their nests to higher ground. It was an unforgettable experience.

If you want to participate, you need to book through Selva Bananito Lodge, another amazing place well worth visiting a bit farther south.

At Pacuare Reserve, (not the same as the Pacuare River Lodge), we had good food and nice accommodations, (if basic- no electricity and it is designed for research, not slothful tourists!), and the people were very good to us in terms of taking us for hikes, explaining their work, etc. Highly recommended for the adventurous, families with mid-teens and above.

4  Thank OverseasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanna_6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacuarenaturereserve, Propietario at Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas_Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carxata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaturalezaTOTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
34 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,161 reviews
31.5 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
278 reviews
33.5 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
915 reviews
32.4 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
1,163 reviews
32.6 mi away
Toucan & Tarpon
Toucan & Tarpon
#9 of 36 in Tortuguero
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve

Address: | Pacuare Reserve, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: £86 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place hidden in a dense jungle forest along the Caribbean Sea, a quasi island surrounded by the ocean and canals. You can only get there by boat. A place with no electricity, no luxury, only raw nature, wildlife and tropical fauna. The only other people here are the reserve staff , biologists, researchers, students, volunteers or another likeminded visitor or two. Our Ecolodge is comprised of Casa Grande, Casa Baula y el Pueblo. Casa Grande is a timber structure with 3 guest rooms, a common living area and a huge balcony offering a view of the ocean, forest and the lagoon. The bedrooms are simply furnished, comfortable and pleasant. The downstairs common shower has solar powered warm water. The Agami Room has an ensuite half bath, and the Tortuga and Kongo rooms share a half bath. Casa Baula is a 2 bedroom cabin with bath. El pueblo offers rustic, dorm style accommodations with shared outdoor facilities. Jungle hikes and canal tours are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Grande Ecolodge at Pacuare Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing