We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casona
Ranked #5 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during a time when it was continually raining. The room was comfortable, and everything worked. We had a fan. The breakfasts were good, and we were able to arrange all types of activities through La Casona.

There's one issue with La Casona that could be easily rectified. The courtyard you must cross to get to most of the rooms is dirt. In the rain it becomes mud, and the result is that you must remove your shoes before going into your room or else you'll track mud into it. The stepping stones were inadequate. Perhaps the courtyard could have walkways made of rock...

Room Tip: An upstairs room might provide a view of the ocean. This is a guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezerette46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    50
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in this family hotel and had a very pleasant stay. We had booked a package with breakfast, lunch, dinner and 3 tours. All the food was very nice and various. Andres, our tour guide, knew a lot about the nature and the animals. The rooms were cleaned every day. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a very good hotel for that price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel. The staff was very, very nice. They lend us un umbrella for the heavy rain, and they were very helpful giving us local information. The room was simple but comfortable and clean. For 2 usd we had breakfast at the hostel. It was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in La Casona for three nights. The room was clean and nice. There was a service every day (cleaning, new towels). The breakfast was served in the restaurant, which was actually closed because of low season (they would have cooked for you on request!). There were various types of breakfast, best was the banana-pancake! The staff (Sara and her mother) are extremely friendly and helpfull! We booked one boat-tour with Sara's Brother, he was an amazing guide with a huge aknowledgment about flora and faune! The location is close to everything, because tortuguerovillage is very small and cute, no traffic (no cars!). We enjoyed our stay and recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-Bruno-VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had booked a double room with private bathroom. Luckily we were upgraded and got a room which also had a private, really clean and well equipped kitchen. Towels were changed and the room was cleaned daily.
The inhouse restaurant offered good food for reasonable prices. The included breakfast offers tropical fruit, bread, butter and jelly and is served in the restaurant. They also have other breakfast dishes on the menue.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

PROs: This hotel offers simple, but nice double rooms with private bathrooms, as well as an onsite restaurant. The rooms are very clean and come with a proper ventilator (not aircon) and all you need. The moskito nets seal perfectly. The location is just about 150 meters from the boat arrival/departure point, so only short walk. The staff is very nice and even it was not part of our booking, they offered us free breakfast. In Tortuguero definitely one of the best places to stay for a mid budget. The restaurant is nice and surounded by a nicely maintained garden area. The hotel is very safe. Definitely recommendable!!

CONs: There is nothing for this price and service I did not like.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

They took us in when Miss Miram lost our reservation. The room was clean and large. The construction was poor: the floor was sloped and the bathroom looked like an after-thought add-on. We had a noisy bunch out on the balcony that night. Our room overlooked the dining area and from the window the food looked pretty good. The service was good, and we felt safe. We did feel more comfortable at Casamarbella with also had a better location on the water

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#10 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
#6 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona

Property: La Casona
Address: Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing