We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want some history?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Miss Junies

Miss Junies
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Tortuguero
Cuisines: Caribbean, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
hants UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Want some history?”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a lovely place to stay. It is almost at one end of the main strip set in nice grounds with some waterfront. Rooms were characterful and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant one night and the service was friendly and the food was tasty. The historical aspect adds interest, go there yourself to find out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    26
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“restaurant needed more staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

perhaps we were there on an off night, but the restaurant really needed more staffing. people waiting at the door to be seated eventually gave up and left. we wanted attention with our meals and just had to make do.

from food perspective, we were not impressed either. my meal, a seafood mix, was too salty and i wasn't able to finish eating it. my companions said that their meals were adequate but not special.

only one of the many tropical fruit juices listed on the menu was available that evening.

we were disappointed after the fine reviews that we read.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MC-lovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel itself was great -- fan, clean rooms, fresh air with big windows, hot water --all of the basics. It's currently run by Miss Junies' children and they were incredibly hospitable and sweet. Excellent tour guides as well! We took the turtle tour and it was incredibly informational and fun. Beautiful hotel grounds and I would definitely go back.

The only downfalls are that there is no front desk. This makes it hard to get ahold of people to help with reservations, paying for the room, etc. There are a few staff, and understandably they are busy, but it makes things a bit inconvenient.

Another reviewer also mentioned their disappointment with the dog they have, which can't walk on it's hind legs, so it pulls itself along with two front legs. I have to be honest, it made me quite upset to see as it rained and he had to drag himself to a shed, barely making it...

The restaurant is WAY TOO overpriced. It is not worth the cost, even though the food was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home-style food with class”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my first time trying jerk chicken, and I'm happy to say that Miss Junie's now has me hooked for life. It was so delicious and served with lots of yummy vegetables. The menu offered a wide selection of dishes, plus there were enough beers and wines to choose from. The only downside was that there was no coffee on offer, plus only one dessert available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Caribbean food!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent food. I recommend the Jerk Chicken with coconut rice and beans! It's the best I have ever had. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it as I type this. The mackerel fish is also excellent. I've had the veggie meal too, also very good - comes with avocado, cheese, veggies, rice and beans.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Junies also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Miss Junies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing