We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tortuga Lodge pleasures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2012

It is difficult to exaggerate the quality of the service at this establishment --from hotel staff and from the guides who accompany guests on excursions--and just the sheer pleasure of staying here. The food is also excellent, made mainly from local produce. Admittedly it rains a lot, even during what is supposedly the dry season, but the rewards of seeing some of the huge variety of local wildlife and fauna greatly outweigh the discomforts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiketiludrop, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Peter B48,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Tortuga Lodge & Gardens.

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You're right, we do have an extraordinary group of people working at the lodge, they thrive on delighting guests.

I'm glad to hear that you had great wildlife sightings, Tortuguero could well be the easiest place in Costa Rica to experience the biodiversity of Costa Rica.

If you are ever in Costa Rica again you may want to consider visiting our sister lodge, Monteverde Lodge & Gardens.

Felices Fiestas!

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfactions Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
There are newer reviews for Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

The Tortuga Lodge & Gardens is - hands down - the best hotel experience I've ever had. Upon arrival, my friends and I were greeted on the dock by 3-4 employees welcoming us with waves. That immediately endeared this lodge to us. The manager clearly explained to us weary travelers about the dinner times and other important details about the lodge and confirmed our itinerary while we gratefully drank delicious drinks. The fact that he encouraged feedback about the lodge only solidified my initial reaction to this place: amazing. The room I stayed in with two of my friends was perfect. We had three beds to ourselves (two twin beds and a full). Even with that layout, we had plenty of space to maneuver. The floor was a delight to walk on - smooth and clean. Our room overlooked the river. The grounds of the hotel are stunning. You are right on the water and the pool also faces the water. The gardens are nice but I HIGHLY recommend dousing yourself in bug repellant prior to any hike (I learned the hard way what happens when you don't). The food was spectacular. I was on vacation celebrating a friend's birthday. Unbeknownst to us, the chef baked a cake and the staff dimmed the lights and sang "Happy Birthday" to her. What's extra special about this is my friend is a vegetarian so the chef covertly checked with my other friend to see if it was okay to have eggs in the cake. The nature tour, led by Fernando, was fantastic. The lodge loaned us sun screen, a hat, and great binoculars for the tour (we were so ill prepared). Fernando is a wealth of knowledge about the area and was extremely nice and engaging. The rest of the staff was fantastic, as well! My friends and I participated also in spending an out with children in a local village who are learning English. It was a fantastic experience led by a fantastic teacher. I highly recommend participating in this activity. Overall, I WILL be back to this lodge on my next visit to Costa Rica and I recommend EVERYONE stay here!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merislan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Tortuguero Lodge could write the book on how to provide excellent customer service .... from the moment you are picked up until the time you leave you are treated like someone they care about. The boat drivers, tour guides, management, cooks, waiters, waitresses, gardeners and chamber maids all make sure that your trip is most enjoyable. It is the "extras" that they do at the Lodge that makes your stay a memorable one. Yes, they makes sure that you 'experience' the wildlife and yes, they make sure that the meals are excellent and beautifully presented and yes, they make sure that the rooms are clean and comfortable but it is the hot chocolate and warm towel waiting for you at the end of a cooler, wet, boat ride or the fresh iced passion fruit juice waiting for you at the the end of a sunny, hot, boat ride that makes this lodge just one step above others. We had a wonderful three days at Tortuguero Lodge and would not hesitate in the least to recommend it to others!

Room Tip: We were on the main floor and it was great!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlovebelizeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I am a single lady in her sixties, travelling alone. The staff at Tortuga Lodge could not have been more friendly and helpful. The accommodation and food were excellent. It rained all day the day I arrived, but it was nice just to chill out on my verandah without a guilty conscience! The next two days were sunny and the boat excursions were very successful - monkeys, sloths, caimen, river turtle, iguana, and numerous birds.

Seeing some of the large excursion boats (which were full) from other lodges, I was so glad I had booked Tortuga Lodge, which is smaller than most of the other lodges.

I live in the UK and had arranged this trip as a one-off (ie not as part of a Costa Rica Expeditions tour). All the arrangements were made by email and everything went smoothly (I paid online using a debit card). Having been to Tortugero before, I flew both ways, which gave me extra time at the Lodge - but the planes are very small (6-seaters including two pilot seats) so if you are not keen on flying, you could travel both ways by boat and vehicle. Having arrived from the UK the previous evening (10.00pm) I stayed at a hotel near the airport, from which I was picked up at 6.15am the following morning. Costa Rica Expeditions kept my large suitcase for me and, on my return, delivered both it and me to the Nature Air terminal at Pavas.

This was my 5th visit to Costa Rica and I am looking forward to the time when I can afford to return! I will definitely include Tortuga Lodge in my itinerary!

Room Tip: The higher rooms are meant to be better because of the breeze, but there were no problems with my gr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spend 4 days at the hotel, and it was simply one of the best stays in any place, anywhere. The service was friendly, the food was excellent. I will really recommend the place to anybody who needs to rest and have a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We celebrated part of our honeymoon at Tortuga Lodge. From the start (the boat ride at Cano Blanco) to the last handshake from staff as we left and the hug from our wonderful guide, we couldn't recommend this resort more. The staff were extraordinarily attentive and appeared to really enjoy working there which makes a huge difference to us...it's nice to see smiles on people's faces and living examples of pura vida! Watching the giant sea turtles was an extraordinary once in a lifetime experience, but so was the boat tour around the sanctuary, hanging out in the pool overlooking the river in the afternoons, sitting al fresco for each meal that was wonderfully prepared, and resting in our gorgeous river view room (really recommend the river view). We still long for the beet gazpacho, citrus salad, and fresh breaded fish we had that first lunch.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were there for two nights in August 2012--two adults who had never been to Costa Rica before. The hotel's canal tour with a well informed naturalist gave us the best photos of our entire trip, the night on the beach watching giant sea turtles lay their eggs was just magical, and everyone at the hotel seemed to be in a self-imposed contest to provide the most outstanding hospitality ever. Food was great. Service was personal and thoughtful. The room was lovely and comfortable. We visited three locations in Costa Rica and are eager to return to the country to see more, but Tortuga Lodge is the one hotel we will return to.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing north may pick up less nighttime music sound from the Village of Tortuguer...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
2.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
711 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Address: Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: £110 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tortuga Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 River View Downstairs Terrace Rooms. 12 Upstairs River View Balcony Rooms. (A little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips") 2 River View Downstairs Junior Suites, with connecting door. 1 River View Upstairs Penthouse Suite with 2 baths. 1 of the Downstairs Rooms is Wheelchair Accessible with 2 baths • Beds: 4 Downstairs Rooms and 5 Upstairs Rooms have 1 King Bed. 6 Downstairs Rooms and 3 Upstairs Rooms have 2 Double Beds. 1 Downstairs Room and 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. 1 Downstairs Room has 1 King and 1Double Bed. 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. The 2 Junior suites have 1 King and 1 Double Bed • All rooms have: In-room safe, hot water, ceiling fans, reading lamps, hair dryer, free wireless internet and large screened windows so you experience the sounds of the rain forest. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: Personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: Cuisine: What a Costa Rican Grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. Caribbean themed cocktails, and no we don't mean pina coladas, although we'll make you one of those too. •Atmosphere: Quiet, laid back and with an emphasis on the natural surroundings - most buildings are open air. • No background music. • Suggested activities at hotel: Palm and Orchid Gardens. Plan on 1 or 2 hours. Award winning Riverside Pool. Plan on at least 1 hour per morning or afternoon per day. Hammocks everywhere. Plan on losing track of time in one. 2 computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Tortuguero can only be accessed by boat or by domestic or charter plane. • Tortuga Lodge offers complete packages including round trip transportation, lodging, meals and excursions. • Suggested stay: 3-5 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Lodge And Gardens
Tortuga Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Hotel Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing