We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed here 2 nights on their package and service was the best we have ever had! A wonderful jungle experience with knowledgeable guides, Rooms were very romantic - they even light the candles while you are having dinner~! The food was excellent and abundant, the pool was great - right at the water's edge. Truly an experience we will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    151
    35
    3
    3
See reviews for
314
548
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We used Costa Rica Expeditions to arrange our entire stay in CR. They also own Tortuga Lodge. The picked us up at our hotel in San Jose and took us to a local airport where we boarded a charter plane to Tortuguero. It was a beautiful sunny day and the first experience for my 11 year old daughter and me to be on board a small prop plane (it was just our family). We could see pineapple and banana plantations along the way. When we landed the hotel manager and boat captain were waiting for us on the landing strip. They welcomed us and took us over to the Lodge. Crossing the lagoon I noticed that the whole staff was out in front waving to greet us! They then ushered us to a wonderful breakfast on the deck. We walked in their jungle gardens, swam in a fresh water pool, took a nature tour and drank coconut water that night from coconuts they had just picked from the trees. It was a simple, comfortable room, a great environment and a memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitetailConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, like everything else connected with Costa Rica Expeditions , is warm and inviting. Staff and service is impeccable, with everyone going above and beyond to please. Our room was comfortable and screened, so no major concerns about the wildlife coming in for a visit. There was a momentary lack of hot water in the early morning; something about switching from solar to another source. After a short wait, we were back in business. I think this issue probably goes with the territory since the area is so remote. That being said, the Lodge does a splendid job of making it look easy to cater to all of our creature comforts. Our included three hour boat tour was great, good fun. The waterways are like something from Jurassic Park and we saw all of the expected wildlife, plus snakes, spiders, and even a hummingbird nest two inches from my hand. (I've always wanted to see one. It even had an egg in it) We spent a few hours exploring the little village of Tortuguero. It's definately worth it if you have the time. It's very quaint and the people are charming, as most Costa Ricans seem to be. Tortuguero is definately worth going out of your way to see, and Tortuga Lodge is definately where we will stay when we go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepgoingVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Tortuga Lodge and enjoyed every minute. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, and the guides very knowledgeable. The lodge has just the right amount of jungle ambience to be absolutely charming but very comfortable. The dining room is open air and situated right on the canal. Every meal was delicious. We saw lots of wildlife on the grounds and on the boat tours.
This place runs like a well oiled machine.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Globeseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville,Tn
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We just returned from three days at Tortuga Lodge and loved it! We truly wanted to feel like we were in the middle of a rain forest, and this lodge was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was the best we had during our visit to Costa Rica. We saw lots of animals during our stay, including 5 iguanas around the pool. The boat ride through the canals was wonderful. The lush gardens around the lodge are beautiful.

This place is not the Hilton, nor is it supposed to be. But If you want a comfortable eco-lodge with great service in the middle of a rain forest, this is the place to be. I would love to go back! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocAdvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Everything at this lodge was excellent! The staff could be nicer and more helpful. The food was outstanding. The guides were excellent. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Tortuga Lodge is obviously at the top (= most expensive) end of Tortuguera packages. It’s on a smaller more boutique scale than some of the others more favoured by big groups on package tours. When we were there, most of guests were couples, with just one smallish group in for one of the nights. We were subsequently a bit bothered by big groups rather dominating hotel restaurants during the remainder of our trip. The smaller scale of the place also made a big difference for the wildlife boat tour, which has to be the main reason for coming; our tour had just six of us, and the guide, Norton, was excellent. Other hotel boats looked a bit packed out in comparison. The lodge is on the mainland side of the main channel as opposed to the beach side (where the larger lodges are, even though it’s not a beach to swim from), and this probably makes it better for wildlife, and it’s further from the village too, which must also help. The gardens are full of birds and iguanas, and we had sloth and troops of howler monkeys within feet of our balcony in the mornings (though they do start their racket at the first glimmer of dawn!). The rooms are a good size, and excellent, but it’s worth trying to get one of those on the first floor, as this provides better views down into the gardens while in a hammock or comfy chair. The only issue we had with the room was the lack of light. It was wet (very) and overcast for our visit; and the combination of veranda overhang, thick insect screens and pathetically feeble light bulbs (saving the planet?) meant that it was extremely gloomy inside, almost too gloomy to read. Otherwise the facilities are fine; a small pool and an attractive riverside restaurant and bar, with good views of passing river otters and cayman. All the staff, especially on Reception were interested, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, with the chef obviously trying hard to do international cuisine. No doubt in order to justify the high package prices, however, we did feel somewhat overwhelmed with food; both lunch and dinner (no choices – set menu) was soup, salad, main and dessert – all very generous proportions and somewhat heavy on the sauces; altogether more than we needed in the heat. We had three nights; most people seem to stay the standard two. We tried the trails behind the hotel, which were a bit disappointing: very muddy and lots of mosquitoes; but lots of poison-dart frogs to compensate. We also took the hotel’s on-demand boat across the channel to the end of the airstrip and walked into Tortuguera along the beach – about fifty minutes. If you have time, it’s certainly worth wandering through the village, which is self-evidently car-free, and has a nice laid-back West Indian feel to it. Rather than drive in and fly out, we got the hotel to drop us back at Siquirres to collect our rental car, which worked fine. Rental companies seem happy to drop cars for collection almost anywhere in the country for a fee (we paid $40 for this). We used Vamos, who seemed a cheap and cheerful outfit, who provided a slightly tired but serviceable Terios for very little money. We had a puncture on our second day, but we can’t blame Vamos for that.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiketiludrop, Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
Hi Michael,

Thank you for the great review. I wanted to add that while ground level rooms certainly make you feel like you are more immersed in the rainforest, the second level rooms give you longer views of the river and in some locations you can see the tops of the trees in the gardens where the birds are doing their early morning foraging. It all depends on each individuals taste, I'm really glad that you enjoyed the ground level rooms.

You're right about the environmentally friendly light bulbs that make it hard to read ! We are working on a better solution for this.

As far as the trail goes, you're right, it can get very wet back there, but I'm glad that you had a poison dart frog show to make up for it. We are slowly building an elevated walkway, but it will take some time before we get the entire trail done.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us in Tortuguero again soon.

Sincerely,


Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
483 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
2.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Property: Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Address: Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tortuga Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 River View Downstairs Terrace Rooms. 12 Upstairs River View Balcony Rooms. (A little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips") 2 River View Downstairs Junior Suites, with connecting door. 1 River View Upstairs Penthouse Suite with 2 baths. 1 of the Downstairs Rooms is Wheelchair Accessible with 2 baths • Beds: 4 Downstairs Rooms and 5 Upstairs Rooms have 1 King Bed. 6 Downstairs Rooms and 3 Upstairs Rooms have 2 Double Beds. 1 Downstairs Room and 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. 1 Downstairs Room has 1 King and 1Double Bed. 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. The 2 Junior suites have 1 King and 1 Double Bed • All rooms have: In-room safe, hot water, ceiling fans, reading lamps, hair dryer, free wireless internet and large screened windows so you experience the sounds of the rain forest. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: Personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: Cuisine: What a Costa Rican Grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. Caribbean themed cocktails, and no we don't mean pina coladas, although we'll make you one of those too. •Atmosphere: Quiet, laid back and with an emphasis on the natural surroundings - most buildings are open air. • No background music. • Suggested activities at hotel: Palm and Orchid Gardens. Plan on 1 or 2 hours. Award winning Riverside Pool. Plan on at least 1 hour per morning or afternoon per day. Hammocks everywhere. Plan on losing track of time in one. 2 computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Tortuguero can only be accessed by boat or by domestic or charter plane. • Tortuga Lodge offers complete packages including round trip transportation, lodging, meals and excursions. • Suggested stay: 3-5 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Lodge And Gardens
Tortuga Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Hotel Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing