We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mawamba Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Miss Miriam 2(Tortuguero)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Manatus Hotel(Tortuguero)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacuare Lodge(Pacuare River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
494
519
129
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
519
129
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan joseana mariacosta ricafrog housebutterfly enclosurethe riverearly morningceiling fanhot waternight walkcaribbean seabuffet styleboat ridetwo nightslocal villageour tour guidenight tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the lodge, and it did not rain while we were there it poured buckets. We had the thunder and the lightening all around. However, we still got on the lodges boat tour and went into town. We made the best of it, and tried to enjoy it. I even did a little souvenir shopping. I walked back along the beach admiring the very rough ocean waves, and the harsh surf as it pounded into the shoreline leaving foam and debris behind. I found an almond tree with 6 or more Macaw up in the top, so that was an exciting photo opportunity.

That night I went on a night tour in the rain to see the green turtle lay her eggs. We were lucky to see one dig a hole, and lay her eggs in action because turtle season was 2 more weeks out. The groups before us had not seen any in a couple of weeks, so that was exciting. It was scary walking on the beach in complete blackness, once you had seen how many logs, holes and other things you can fall over in the daylight. We partnered up, supporting each other up as we inched our way along the shore line in blackness.

The second day it rained hard in the morning, and I was scheduled to go on a morning kayak tour, but I did not really want to go out in the pouring rain and lightening. Other people did not feel that way, and said they enjoyed it. I went back to bed until the morning tour. The rain had turned into a drizzle, as we wandered around the butterfly gardens, and frog enclosures taking pictures. The rest of the morning was pretty much lay in a hammock, swim in the rain, try the WiFi, or read. I wandered around taking pictures of flowers, frogs, birds and such in the rain. It finally stopped raining in the afternoon and were able to enjoy an open top boat tour of the canals. We saw lots of monkeys, iguanas, lizards, sloths, snakes, and birds. Besides the seeing the turtle lay her eggs, it was the best part of our trip.

The food was good, the staff excellent, the rooms basic (had hot water) the lighting in the room was horrible. Bring a led light that you can use to read, see in your suit case, or find stuff in your room. Our fan worked, and I did get a little chilly at night, although during the day it was miserably muggy. The hotel has big umbrellas to use, but a poncho is a must for the rain.

All my clothes were soaked, so asked the hotel to dry a couple of pieces...cost $1.00 apiece. It was worth it to pack dry clothes back in my bag!

Bring bug spray, wear light weight long pants at night. Bring a waterproof camera cover.

Highly recommend a stay at the lodge

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Mawamba Lodge for 2 nights of a 10 day trip through Costa Rica. I am a teacher and was there with 24 students as part of a travel / school trip. The students LOVED this place. They specifically loved the hammocks and lounging in the gazebos with each other. Being from the suburbs of Chicago, USA, it was extremely different from anything we are used to. The little lodges were so quaint and reminded us all of a summer camp! There was no A/C and it was rather warm during our stay so it was a bit uncomfortable at night. Our room's ceiling fan didn't work properly so we were sweating! The first night we stayed there was a major thunderstorm and the electricity at the resort went out. The owners activated the backup generator and then informed the guests during dinner that they'd be shutting the generator off at 10pm. Which was fine with us and gave us a good excuse to make sure that all students were in their beds by 10pm! Power was back up around 11:30 and it was bright and sunny the next day! The lights in both the rooms and bathrooms were rather dim, but we didn't spend much time there anyway. We took a walk through the garden area and saw all the butterflies! It was so beautiful! The pool area was very nice and the food was great. Loved the fresh juice and fruit for breakfast. The pasta bar was great, too! The owner was so sweet and we spent some time speaking with him in the reception - where we were also able to cool off in the A/C! There was only WIFI in the lobby area or in the restaurant/pool area. It would've been nice to have it in the rooms, but it was also nice to disconnect a bit and that's part of the charm of this place. You feel like you are really getting away. The owner met us at the boats at the dock to wave goodbye to us. One day we took boats out on the water and saw some incredible wildlife including monkeys, sloths, caymans, rare birds, and snakes. It was amazing! That same evening we paid 20 dollars and did the walk up the Tortuguero beach with the hopes of seeing a sea turtle laying eggs. And we did!!! It was incredible and something our group will never forget. We will have fond memories of Mawamba Lodge and our time in Tortuguero.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lovethesun920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed there with my family and I really liked it, the food was really good, I liked the rustic feeling of the rooms and the gardens around it.

They offer different types of tours and the staff is really friendly!

You will see several animals in the actual lodge so that's big plus

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alejo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great experience at Mawamba. The staff was great with everything from emails to helping us with our future travel after Tortuguero. The grounds were stunning with wildlife all around. All of the tours were spectacular with an amazing guide Humberto. He was so passionate about Costa Rica and it's wildlife and could answer any questions we had, he was a pleasure to be around. At Mawamba you are in small groups that you stick with and you quickly form bonds which I think traveling is all about. The good was quite good with there always being a vegetarian option. While in Costa Rica you must stay at Mawamba Lodge for a truly rewarding experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visited In February this year which is a little early to see the turtles on the beach, though there is plenty of evidence of their existence. Standing on an low lying strip of beach between the Caribbean Sea and the swamp this resort provides a very good base for trips into the jungle clad network by which we observed so much wildlife including 3 toed sloths, numerous different monkeys and small cayman. The birdlife is so varied we struggled to keep track

Room Tip: Rooms are ageing a bit but adequate, and no tip really except you might get an end of row canin. The good is nothing to write home about , but that.s not why you.re there. The wildlife experience is brilliant, watching them nesting from your veranda, hummingbirds flitting by, sipping a glass of wine on the balcony . The pool area is first class and good to unwind, the Imperial beer, cold and clean, as good as any. Enjoy the boat trips out for a couple of days, the butterfly garden and the minute colourful frogs etc. excellent time there, but you won't be able to swim in the Caribbean, it is too turbulent, just sit and take it in at sundown.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews