We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tortuguero Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$125
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miss Miriam 2(Tortuguero)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
US$102
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manatus Hotel(Tortuguero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
27
11
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
11
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen turtlesjunglerivermonkeyslodgeboattours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spend 2 nights here as part of a Caravan Tour. This property is only accessible by boat or plane and is in the jungle. We arrived by boat after an amazing ride down the rivers and canals. We saw so much wildlife - sloths, monkeys, caimans, lots of birds and a nest of baby turtles rushing to the Atlantic. The property is absolutely gorgeous with well kept gardens, paths, etc. The rooms are basic (no A/C, TV, phone) but clean and comfortable. The restaurant is right by the river and the food is excellent as was the service. Pool is great too. If you are looking for a 5 star place this is not for you but if you want to see lots of wildlife and enjoy the jungle you will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceOnt_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We just got back last week... Beautiful place ...we had no rain - lots of sun! We saw monkeys, cameens, lots of birds, frogs and turtles in the river. We saw one green turtle that came up to nest but she changed her mind! :(
The food was awesome! Loved the pool. Saw a dolphin in the river too! Read and napped in the hammock! Great experience!
Thank so much!

Room Tip: Ask for the room by the pool!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Top notch operation that serves your every demand each day. Gardeners, Waiters, Bartenders, Cleaning Staff, Cooks, Hosts, Managers.... Tons of staff to cater to your preferences. I have never had so many choices for breakfast in the morning.... They prepared our fish that we caught to eat each evening over and above the wonderful meal provided already. A definite 5 star resort in the jungle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our family (grandparents, parents and two children, ages 11 and 8) spend three wonderful days at the Lodge. From the moment we were greeted by the staff on the dock as our boat approached the lodge to two of the staff standing on the runway holding umbrellas over us as we boarded a plane for Arenal, all of our wants and needs were met with a smile. The lodge itself is clean and the rooms were as good as could be expected of a jungle lodge reached only by boat or plane. They were clean, spacious and comfortable. The food, served family style in copious amounts, was delicious, mostly local cuisine. While we had a guide, the staff who accompanied us in boats was very knowledgeable about the incredible wildlife and extremely helpful in finding birds, caimans, monkeys, lizards etc. above, below and in the river and canals near the Lodge. We cannot praise the lodge more highly although having read other reviews, my suggestion is to remember that you're literally in the middle of a jungle and should adjust your expectations accordingly; i.e., no air conditioning and jungle noises (mostly howler monkeys) at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Our family of 6 stayed here and had a great time! Staff was helpful, kind, friendly. Great guides and wait staff. Tons of food served family style! Great setting. No AC, but didn't need it. Seeing the turtles was a highlight of our trip to CR!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remember_two_things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews