We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amidst the Rain Forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Ont.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amidst the Rain Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our tour, which was long enough to enjoy the area. Our room was large, with comfortable beds, and screened windows, which allowed the air to flow through and the Howler Monkeys to begin their chorus at 5.00AM each morning. We saw lots of iguanas and a snake on the property which was rich with lovely flowers and vegetation. There was a large pool and small bar right at water's edge. There was not much selection at the buffet breakfast and dinner. We had a guided tour of the canals and local town, but since we were travelling on our own and not in a large group, we were included in a tour with very few English speaking people. Our guide was very passionate and knowledgeable, but spent far more time speaking Spanish and seemed to give us less information.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    536
    171
    45
    16
See reviews for
241
561
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

You have to bear in mind that there are very few hotels in the Tortuguero National Park so there's little choice and all seem to be very busy. It's full board because you can't just nip down the road to a restaurant. There's a village across the river but for the brief time you'll be staying here it's not worth trying them out.

Our room was large with a veranda at the back. The gardens are well maintained and the staff very friendly. The food is a bit of a mad scramble and you'd be wise to arrive 10 minutes before they tell you to. If you think you can drop by after an hour you'll find that there's little left. The seating arrangements for groups was changed from day to day which was a bit confusing. While we were traveling on our own we have inevitably been put into a 'group' by the tour operator.

There's little to do in the hotel but you'll be there for the park tour anyway. Decent wi-fi at reception.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the rain forest. The rooms are simple but clean and the beds are very comfortable. The food was excellent and the hotel grounds are well kept. Just walking the grounds is nature at its best. We were there as part of our Caravan Tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed in a small lodge in Tortuguero 15 years ago and it was the highlight of my trip. I was expecting the same type of laid-back experience this time and was disappointed. Pachira Lodge caters to large group tours and was run somewhat like a cruise ship with tightly regimented meal times, tours and activities. We enquired about a private birding tour and were told that there were no birds to see! We opted out of the village tour and took kayaks out on the canal and explored the grounds near the cabins where we spotted lots of birds. We joined an early morning boat tour the next morning. Unfortunately, our guide was more interested in flirting with two young women than in spotting wildlife. He had no binoculars or bird guides and argued with us when we pointed out birds. He mis-identified several. We have taken part in a number of guided activities and have hired guides throughout our travels in Costa Rica. They have all been incredibly knowledgeable, passionate and professional. This is the first time we encountered a guide that was unprofessional. After this experience, we did not take part in any other tours at the resort.

As for the resort itself, it is OK but a bit tired. The kayaks were OK, paddles were chipped or broken. Rooms were OK; food was OK; service was odd. My friend ordered a beer at the bar and they put ice in it! The pool is nice and the grounds are nice and there is plenty of wildlife - but if it is the jungle experience you are after, I would recommend Selva Verde over Tortuguero.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank get_out_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a very unique lodging that is based in the Tortuguero National Park - each couple has their own cabin with porch and rocking chairs, and the wooden walkways are above the ground. Yes, you only get 1 small bottle of water each to refill at the main station and have to bring in your own toiletries and hairdryer (if you want) in one small carry-on, but it was quite quaint in the forest with the critters (even though we had to remove one large insect at one point) and even in February it was not too hot even though there are only screens and a ceiling fan. If you want to experience nature, this is actually an experience and you have to accept it for what it is. We did not have any theft, and the night of entertainment (music and dancing) was adequate. Small swimming pool and bar on the premises. Basic restaurant with buffet. Note: In late February it only rained during the night and did not rain in through the screens due to the slanted roofs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoebeGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were on the same tour as Pete. (prev. review) The theft from safes of fellow travelers was extremely unsettleing. The fact that our tour director did not address this to the group is unsettleing as well. Also,the fact that Caravan puts literaly hundreds of travelers in this lodge weekly in high season boggles the mind of the volume of money stolen at this property. Between $40-$50 per 25 rooms 3 times a week??? We were out on a river tour (2hours) which is a nice window of opportunity for the thief. This person (people) also did not take all the money so as to not raise instant red flags. If not for a woman on our tour that has a meticulous personal bookkeeping system, it may have not come to light. Most people said they thought they might have miscalculated their cash until we started talking among ourselves and realized we were not alone. Caravan needs to make this right!

Room Tip: Do NOT Use The Safe!!! Employees Have Master Key And Use It
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clark1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The problem here is to review the lodge in isolation rather than the whole Tortuguero experience. The Pachira has adequate rooms. You shouldn't expect too much in a National Park and you don't get too much, No a/c, no tv, phone or window glass. No sink plug either but this seems quite normal in CR. The restaurant is quite alright with adequate choices at all 3 meals and friendly efficient staff. We really only used it as a sleeping place between boat trips in the park and I enjoyed it, especially sitting on my rocking chair on the porch of an evening watching the birdlife and listening to the Howler Monkeys in the morning. The bar was lively enough with a small band playing in the evenings but the best entertainment came from the monkeys and other animals that were in and around the lodge, eg raccoons, possom, iguanas, land crabs and various birds. Drinking water is available from dispensers around the restaurant area at no charge as is tea and coffee. Other reviers have mentioned room safes but we never had one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Property: Pachira Lodge
Address: across the main canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing