We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Pachira Lodge in Costa Rica”
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at Pachira Lodge. The staff were great and the whole place was clean and comfortable. There was lots to see in the beautiful gardens and in the forest just outside it. They went out of their way to make my daughter's birthday special. The kayak tour and zip wires were great fun and the guides were very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juthy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is my first time to Costa Rica and to Pachira Lodge. The rooms are nice but very small. There is no air conditioning and only screens with bars on the windows. The bathrooms and bedrooms are open to the other rooms The food was just ok. Basically the same meal for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The wildlife on the boat canal tour was great. Seeing the turtle lay her eggs was a really neat experience. The guides were very nice and informative for the most past. I really only have one negative thing to say and it was when my chair leg went through the floor no one at the lodge really seemed to care. No one checked on me to make sure I was ok the entire time I was there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are rustic but clean. No air conditioning but the overhead fan really helped at night. It is very humid (you are in a rain forest) but it was actually relatively comfortable at night. The food is just ok. Not a large selection each meal and very mediocre but not bad (just not as good as the places we stayed in other parts of CR). The wildlife is great. We saw howler and spider monkeys, sloths, crabs, many different birds and we went on the night turtle tour and saw a green sea turtle laying her eggs. The pool is nice and cool (definitely helped with the humidity), but many of the chairs at the pool were falling apart. Going to the town was interesting and had a Jamaican feel to it; we were told that many Jamaicans were among the first settlers there. Definitely worth a two night stay. Don't forget your bug spray, camera and binoculars.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB1969Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I cannot say enough about how great the staff and service where at Pachira Lodge. The food there is just fine, nothing to rave about. The rooms are simple and clean but in fantastic surroundings. The rooms are clustered in groups of four and the walls do not go up all the way so you do feel rather close to your neighbors. Since we were a couple traveling alone, the staff happily upgraded us to a stand alone cabin.

From start to finish, the people driving the boats, driving the bus, the wildlife guides -- just fabulous. This is what would have me return to Pachira over other lodges in the area. From our cabin we saw sloths, watched as an adolescent howler monkey howled is way across the tree tops, watched spider monkeys frolic together.

On our canal tours we had the boat driver and a wildlife guide both of whom had eagle eyes and lots of information. Watching the turtles on the beach in the light of a full moon was also spectacular.

I also was amazed at the service after the trip was over. I accidently left a package on the bus. I called and emailed the office thinking I would never see my package again. Not only did they retrieve the package they delivered to my hotel in San Jose (I was not due there for another three days) and followed up when they knew I would be in San Jose with a telephone call to make sure I had it. Thank you to Aldo, Catherine and Fernando for being so diligent -- made my week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've been lucky enough to visit Tortuguero several times but this was my first time in Pachira Lodge (January 2013) Like most of the lodges it's rustic, but clean and comfortable and benefits from a good sized swimming pool. There is a good choice of food and the staff were helpful and friendly. For me Tortuguero is all about the time spent on the canals and spotting wildlife and even after many visits over 20 years, it has never lost its magic. If you visit Costa Rica you should definitely visit Tortuguero and Pachira is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

An urbanite, I went with a group of 12 adults,who are studying Spanish, to Pachira Lodge with trepidation. From the moment my luggage was loaded into one boat and we got into the other for our hour long trip through the canal I was hooked. What a great experience! The lodge reminds me of a state park lodge only much more exotic. Rocking chairs on the porch were fun, especially for watching the monkeys. The guides on the treks through the rain forest and down the canal were fabulous. The only bummer was the late night race in boots through the forest to watch the turtles lay eggs. It left us all with raw calves and blistered feet--don't wear boots! The pool was adequate for a relaxing afternoon post hikes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was to years ago that we stayed at the Pachira Lodge, first time in Central America, the trip to the lodge was great, the boat ride is the best way to begin the stay. The welcome to the lodge was good, and the staff were helpful, the food was great, BUT!! the rainforest is 'awesome' (not a word I use often) the birds and animals make your camera a 'must have' at all times. Don't miss any of the trips as they are superb. OK the lodges are basic, if you want luxury, the rainforest is probably not the place to go!!!
Did we love it?? Yes we did
would we go back??? Yes we would
I have tried to submit this review and it asks for m
In fact we are returning in august this year, just to make sure we were not dreaming the fisrt time,
Why didn't we go last year,,, we went to Ecuador instead. good, but not Costa Rica , and certainly not the Pachira.
Try it!! you will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Try to have a detached lodge, they seem to get more activity from the wild-life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foamdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Address: Across The Main Canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: £208 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is strategically located only 5 minutes away from the extraordinary Tortuguero National Park, and right across the main "canal" facing the town of Tortuguero. Surrounded by a network of very scenic canals, this is considered one of the most exotic regions of the world, characterized by its rich in flora and fauna. Strategically located. 88 comfortable guest rooms. 14 hectares (34 acres). 5 minutes from Tortuguero National Park main entrance. Stay at one of our comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water and ceiling fans. Enjoy all our buffet-style meals that are included. Let's cheers with our wine when for dinner. Be our guest at our bar and enjoy our excelent service. Let us show you this paradise with our bilingual tour guides, during the entire trip. Take advantage of our daily departures from San José, with no minimum of passengers required. Travel safety as we get you around comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing