We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tis Lodge is amazing”
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here with my brother as the first stop on a tour of Costa Rica. We chose it for the wildlife and location. All I can say is that if you come here you will not be disappointed. Beautiful location, great accommodation (as if you are in the jungle), delicious food, great service and fantastic staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Don't expect air conditioning or fancy facilities, this is the real thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MArk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We spent two days in Pachira Lodge. It was like staying in paradise, people is so kind and sweet. The place is magic... The rooms have no glasses and at nught you can hear sounds of burds, monkeys and rain. I couldn,t believe it was true. Is not a luxury hotel, but you doesn,t need, you are in the jungle with confort.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank CatiAppleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 2 nights here as part of a tour. We loved the accomodations, individual cabins in the jungle. Some might find them primative, but after two weeks spent in an Amazon river resort in Peru last year, we greatly appreciated the hot water and ceiling fan. The pool and bar area are just beautiful. We skipped a scheduled tour one afternoon and enjoyed the company of an iquana couple as our only pool area companions. We spent an afternoon in the town shopping and enjoying the local pub.Several of a group went back for more shopping, taking a water taxi for the short ride across the river. The food, while not fancy, was homemade and often delicious. The dining room is rustic and lovely.The very best part, however,was seeing the turtle hatchlings make their way to the sea, almost a religious experience. I was sad to hear that the tour company will not be visiting the area this year due to the difficulty of access due to the very poor roads. Hopefully the roads will be paved as this was our favirie detination of our 10 day trip.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are similar and relatively close to the other areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our stay at this hotel came together with the travel up the river to the hotel and tours in the rainforest and to the Caribbian during our stay there - the guide seemed to be connected to the hotel. The travel to the hotel and back was special, since you can only reach the hotel by sailing up the river in the rainforest (if you don't fly). On the way we got a good view of the rainforest and saw many animals - monkeys, colourful birds etc. The hotel was in the middle of the nature reserve, and the rooms were spread over a large area in the forest and had wide balconies, so you really felt you were in the jungle. The tours during our stay were interesting - we walked in the rainforest, visited the Caribbean coast and saw turtle holes at the beach, visited the Tortuguero village and also sailed deeper into the nature reserve. Although the weather was relatively good, and only one day was rainy, the air was very humid, so clothes got wet just by hanging them up in the room. The rooms were large, beds were wide and comfortable, but otherwise the rooms were very simple. The meals were good with enough choices, and there was free wifi in the common areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. This was one of the neatest places I've stayed. The rooms are actually cabins set above the ground, connected by walkways.
You can only get here by a 1 hour boat ride. The rooms are like college dorm style, no frills, screened windows, No tv or ac as mentioned previously. I did not miss them
either. What you will get here is an unforgettable experience of the rain forest. All the animals, birds and the 4am howler monkeys!. There is nothing like it, - watching them swinging from the trees to start their day!. The wild life we saw on the boat ride and at the hotel was unmatched anywhere else in Costa Rica.
The staff were very nice here, the pool is small but refreshing, The food was ok- limited buffet- (as everything needs to be brought in by boat).
This is not a Hilton, but definitely a unique experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank econnelly8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is locating on the river, in the rainforest. Rooms are located in cabins and need a bit of an update, but overlook it for the fact you are staying in the forest. It's a bit of an adjustment to be waking up to screaming monkeys and other wildlife. You can also hear everything that's going on in rooms next to you. The pool area is really nice and clean. Food is delicious. Wifi is free at the reception but you have to pay for in-room service. The spa was very good...getting massage outdoor was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is based in the middle if the rain forest and the experience is exceptional. This was the best hotel location I stayed in whilst in Costa Rica solely for the experience of being so close to nature.
The hotel is reached by boat alone so you are reliant on the food and drink as there us nowhere else to go but this was not a problem. All food served is buffet style but plenty of options available. There are also a number of water coolers around reception from which you can top your water bottles throughout the day.
The rooms are single storey wooden cabins throughout the resort and are basically equipped to ensure you get the true rain forest experience. Therefore there is no tv or air con. There is a roof fan however and the windows are not glazed but have insect proof mesh instead. As a result you hear the noises of the forest including the morning call around 4am from the howler monkeys. If this is not for you then neither is Costa Rica as the whole country is proud of its natural highlights.
There is free wifi around the bar or you can pay for it in your room if you can't leave the world behind.
This is a good base for the boat safaris during the day where you will see all sorts of wildlife thanks to the highly experienced guides.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
6  Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,117 reviews
1 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Address: Across The Main Canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: £210 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is strategically located only 5 minutes away from the extraordinary Tortuguero National Park, and right across the main "canal" facing the town of Tortuguero. Surrounded by a network of very scenic canals, this is considered one of the most exotic regions of the world, characterized by its rich in flora and fauna. Strategically located. 88 comfortable guest rooms. 14 hectares (34 acres). 5 minutes from Tortuguero National Park main entrance. Stay at one of our comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water and ceiling fans. Enjoy all our buffet-style meals that are included. Let's cheers with our wine when for dinner. Be our guest at our bar and enjoy our excelent service. Let us show you this paradise with our bilingual tour guides, during the entire trip. Take advantage of our daily departures from San José, with no minimum of passengers required. Travel safety as we get you around comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing