We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband may not share my opinion but I did love this place. Be mindful that this hotel is very rustic. You must travel by boat for over an hour to reach this destination. There is no air conditioning and no windows. There are just screens and curtains. The rooms are a bit warm during the day but can get very chilly at night. You can also hear everyone speaking as they past by your room but that did not seem to be a problem since most people did not stay up late at night since your days are so full. The pool was relaxing. The pool bar was great and after dinner, there is a dock to sit at and enjoy the evening. The food is good but is what you would expect from a buffet. The staff could not be more that helpful. This is a wonderful place for animal watching. If you are looking for luxury, do not go here. If you are looking for comfortable adventure, GO!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiehound0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    533
    170
    45
    16
See reviews for
240
560
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our first stop after San Jose was perfect. The site is absolutely wonderful right in the rainforest, along the canal. The bungalows are set apart one from the other for privacy and tranquility. The rooms are big and clean. The dining area is lovely and the food, buffet style, is good. There are lots of animals and birds to watch. The boat tour in the canal is great, so is the visit of the village. Even though it was not the season for turtles, it was worth the long bus and boat travel in and out of Tortuguero. Considering the distance, you must stay at least 2 nights.

Room Tip: They are all good, but the ones further away from the main building, specially the bar, are more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely lodge style rooms all set in the rainforest. Lovely pool and bar area with pontoon onto the river. Food is fine but not great - buffet style. the guides were good and we saw lots of wildlife. annoyingly they don't seem to be able to buy tickets in advance so having got up at 5am we had to wait nearly 40 minutes for the guide to queue at the office to buy the tickets. Not sure if this is something the hotel can sort? perhaps buying them the night before? Saw lots of wildlife around the hotel too, iguanas, hummingbirds and monkeys in the trees above the cabins. Bar staff very friendly but drinks are expensive as everything has to be brought in by boat. A lovely peaceful setting to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying that you don't go to Pachira Lodge for the accommodation....you go to get close to nature and on that front this place delivers in abundance. The guides are brilliant and exceptionally knowledgeable. We saw some fantastic wildlife and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The accommodation is perfectly adequate, so this is just a commentary on what to expect...not a criticism ;Rooms are simple, beds comfortable, no hairdryer,TV,coffee making facilities. Hot water for showers, can be a bit hit and miss. Fan cooled not air con windows are open with mesh protectors which worked great .I'd sum it up as simple rather than basic.
A few things that in my opinion would make a great addition would be a simple bench to put your bags on...most people here are on tours and so living out of suitcases, somewhere to put the bags would be great. Free WiFi in the lobby was hopeless..so slow. Upgrade the free WiFi and make it available in the rooms.
Finally the food. It was fine, small buffet selection, tasty enough...not sure vegetarians would agree though as there was little alternative for them.
All in all a great place. I would stay here again no problem. The staff were fab, wildlife amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

From beginning to end, our experience of Pachira could not be faulted. We were picked up in San Jose and for the coach journey were well informed by Alex our guide. The journey was never dull and we even got to see a sloth en route. It was exciting to get on the boats to get to the lodge. The lodge is on the main canal opposite Tortuguero village. Despite it's size, the lodge never felt full. The cabins were comfortable and you could watch toucans and howler monkeys without leaving your veranda! Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Food was tasty and plentiful but not haute cuisine. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieyaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here during my trip around Costa Rica which I have just returned from. Found the Lodge's basic though was not expecting any other due to its location. They were clean and adequate for the stay as we did not go there to stay in the room! Was a bit of a shock to hear the howler monkeys in the very early hours of the morning, (I didn't know what they were to start with and didn't know they were that loud) ) and them running across the roof during the night time which kept us awake the first night. Though once we knew what they were it didn't the next night and we were in the Rainforest so to be expected!

The whole resort it a very busy resort with lots of groups of people arriving/departing each day which does spoil it a bit. The boat tours were good though I am sure the wild life knows that there are lots of people and boats about and stay out of the way. Food was fine, were buffet style meals so you can choose what you want to have. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed two nights in February 2014. Although this hotel is a little tired looking, the accommodation basic and the throughput of travellers high, there are things to commend it. The waiting staff were gracious, the admin staff very helpful and guides personable and informative. The hotel complex seems like a big friendly holiday camp and the whole operation is very efficient from the welcome cocktail, to meal times and tours provided, I think it does a jolly good job considering it's location and fast turnover. You don't always have to have first class facilities to enjoy and appreciate your surroundings and the efforts hotel staff make. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Property: Pachira Lodge
Address: across the main canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing