We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Accomodation”
Review of Turtle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NEPEAN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Accomodation”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this place Which was overlooking a beachfront.The food was buffet style and always rice and beans were in the menu and was good. There was a pool table and bar and swimming pool. A boat station at the lodge where people came and left by boat. The boats were good but no body bothered to wear any life jackets even when they had them.them. Morning and night tours on canals and jungle walking tours are some activities available from this lodge. The rooms were clean but no AC. The fans and electricity was there Some spider monkeys,White faced capuchin monkeys and howler monkeys came to our lodge though spider monkeys visited us more often as they had some preferred fruit trees in our garden The beach was not great with a lot of debris and not clean The staff was friendly and helpful
It did rain continuously whole day and we had to stop all our activities for the day Fortunately we were flexible.

Room Tip: Be prepared for rain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    190
    57
    9
    9
See reviews for
123
211
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to Costa Rica at the end of May 2014.

Turtle Beach Lodge was our first destination, and it opened very positively gates to know Costa Rica, its nature and its people.

We liked very much warm welcome at the Lodge, quality and ponctuality of transfers and especially excellency of the guides. We also had opportunity to discuss with guides of other groups, and we concluded that almost any of them would provide an unforgettable souvenir of the excursions in nature.
Unfortunately i forgot by now name of our main guide and some others, I would have liked to write it here too.

The only small bemol was food: while it was really tasty, we were receiving practically the same things all three days of our stay, independently if it's lunch or dinner. some other people, who arrived earlier than us, confirmed us the same. It is a pity, as Costa Rica cuise on the Caribbean side is much more varied.

Yet, in overall, we spent a great time! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Turtle Beach lodge. Very friendly staff and a nice pool.
This lodge seemed to be rather expensive but our price included all excellent tours with a guide, transportation, and food so it was a great value. We saw lots of wildlife including a basilisk lizard running across the water and then getting snapped up by a caiman as it crossed.

A great tip I'd like to give out for anyone traveling to Costa Rica is the name of the tour operator we used - we used a gentleman named Erik Hidalgo who arranged everything for us from Tortuguero to Arenal to Monteverde for much less than any other tour operator I found and for less than I could have done myself including all transportation. This was for a family of 9 and some of it was rather last minute. He did a great job and we will use him again to come to Costa RIca - he can arrange anything anywhere- a life saver. - his company is CostaRica Trip guide 1-888-324-9326

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemant n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I think quite a few lodge in Tortuguero have mixed reviews. Mine is kinda mixed as well, although I have to admit I did have a very good time and would probably go back to this place, as others are not better as far as I can see. We were in a small group of 5 people which was perfect. There was one larger group in the lodge and some others as well, but it felt really quiet and comfortable there. Grounds and location are just awesome. Was picked up in San José even before the official time and had a nice drive across Braulio Carillo NP and breakfast towards the boat dock in Cano Negro. After that great boat ride and a short stop at the Tortuguero village. A daywalk and morning boat tour were included, and the guide offered to walk us around the premises at night as well, which was awesome and very kind. Kenneth was a great guide anyway! Booked a night boat tour extra which was nice as well (had some showers during the boat rides, but hey, it's the rainforest!) and another guide joined (he was much worse, did not know the difference between crocodile and alligator!) and provoked some caimans during the ride, picking up a small one as well. Did not like that and should not be the case! Food is very decent, but could be slightly more diverse, some more fruit for example. People in general ok, not overly friendly. Room: everything I needed (basic but good), except for the bed: please for this price the only thing you have to invest in is a good (not the best) mattress. This one was just foam and bended like crazy...not good for anyone's back, and certainly not for mine. Enjoyed the beach area though, pool and just walking around: monkeys, sloth, snakes, spiders, frogs, toucan, caimans, the whole caboodle! Awesome and again: some flaws but will come back hopefully one of these years...:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

nice hidden lodge with direct access to the turtle beach, don't expect to see turtles unless you are travelling in october/november, the beach is no real bathing beach,
but nice to have both the jungle and the beach just in one place. you have to know that staying an a place like this means contact with animals/insects etc., it is a part of the experience, you get to see monkeys, birds, chameleons, lizards, frogs, bats and many ants. The boat as well as the jungle walking tour are a must do and included in the packages, even if you stay just 1 night. The food is ok and all meals are included. You even get breakfast on the way to and lunch on the way back, the shuttle is included and drops you off even as far as at the airport!
If you want the best tour, look/ask for FERNANDO, best guide ever!!

Room Tip: All rooms are almost the same, No Glass-Windows!!! only mosquito nets as windows, keep in mind you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samitomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and very attentive. There is very quick access to the beach and the grounds are very beautiful and relaxing. We recommend trying the different tour options. Also, if you stay an extra night, they give you access to use of kayaks. Even if you decide to rent them, I highly recommend doing so. This is the best way to explore the area in its natural environment and allowed us maximal viewing of all of the different wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our family of 4 which includes 2 teenage girls had a wonderful experience at Turtle Beach. We booked directly with the lodge prior to arriving in CR. While I personally wasn't sure how this part of our trip would be, our concerns were put to rest almost immediately after we were picked up at our hotel the first morning. We were the first on the bus and Warner our guide immediately made us feel welcome and that we were very much important as guests in CR and of Turtle Beach.
Warner was an excellent guide and provided us with so much information and background about the country and areas we travelled through en route to the coast. He was so passionate about making sure we saw and experienced as much of our surroundings as possible.
We arrived at Turtle Beach and really enjoyed the fact that it was "away" from it all. We had a chance to unwind and enjoy some time by the pool as well as take in an extra walk around the property. Warner did his best to locate and show us as much of the local wildlife / plants / birds as he could. We also added the "Night Tour" in on our second day and were happy we did. We went out after dark on the boat and got to see even more birds, snakes, caymans etc.
Our family can not say enough about our time spent on our trip to and stay at Turtle Beach. We think that it is a definite "must" on a trip to CR. We would definitely recommend staying at the lodge for 2 nights as it is a long trip to make for just one.

Room Tip: Our family of 4 had a room that would sleep 5. It was one of the outside rooms in the fourplexes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank non1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.9 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
4.6 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Lodge

Property: Turtle Beach Lodge
Address: Cano Palma, Tortuguero 1, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The area of Tortuguero is rightfully called The Amazon of Costa Rica because access is only by boat on Jungle Rivers. Turtle Beach Lodge, 5 miles north of the town of Tortuguero, is a secluded resort spanning 175 acres with miles of jungle trails, a meandering private canal, and a half mile of beach adjoining still more isolated beaches. The lodge accommodates approximately 80 guests; assisted by a well trained staff and guides who ease you into an exciting jungle experience. Stay in the beautifully landscaped cabinas, swim in our turtle shaped pool, relax in the adjacent shady hammock hut with food and drink from the restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Turtle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing