We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to pick my favorite thing about this place!”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Was it the wonderful people (some of the nicest we've ever met)? The unbelievable experience of watching the turtles laying their eggs? Was it the howler monkeys outside the lodge? The tours of the waterways with close-up encounters of lizards, birds, more monkeys, fabulous flowers? The tropical beverages awaiting us as we debarked the boat?

This was one of the highlights of our amazing trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjcousins1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

If you love being in green places, with lush vegetation, nature hikes and total privacy this is your place. You also must love Biology and nature - as you are truly in the middle of a rain forest. It is a once in a lifetime treat and this is one of the only hotels in this area not touristy or with too many groups. You pay the price though as it is very expensive.

Really all you need is a night or two if it is part of your trip to Costa Rica. Once you go on the boat tour (ask for a special tour with Ray Brown - a local who has lived here his entire life and very passionate about the rain forest and natural medicine) a hike and enjoy the all-inclusive meals at Manatus, this is pretty much all there is to see in the area, unless you are scientist studying ecology.

The chocolate cake at Hotel Manatus and Garlic Red Snapper is a must on the menu at the hotel. Make sure to ask for Leo - very gentle soul and always at your service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonVivantGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The entire experience at the Manatus -- including transport and trips -- was absolutely one of the highlights of our stay in Costa Rica.
It's a pleasure having every detail taken care of, from start to finish, and in such a professional, ineresting way.
They arrange everything. We were picked up from our San Jose hotel very early in the morning -- the pleasant driver & guide arrived exactly on time. The drive to the first stop was also fascinating, as our guide pointed explained and pointed out sights on the way -- we didn't feel the time at all. Outdoor breakfast buffet near a stream in Guapiles was wonderful.
The boat ride through the canals to get to the hotel was also part of the fun.
And then we arrived at the hotel: wow! the grounds are gorgeous, and so are the rooms.
We saw more wildlife on the grounds and in the several trips as part of our package, than we did almost anywhere else: frogs, iguanas, snakes, birds, monkeys, lizards, and more. Fantastic!
All meals were ordered from a menu. Not an enormous variety, but very good quality and presentation, and they were quite accommodating to special requests. very pleasant staff.

We, too, did the turtle nesting night tour (for an extra fee), which was also an experience. At first, it seemed a bit disorganized --- we waited on the beach, standing in the dark, for an hour. But then, it was our group's turn, and we actually saw the green sea turtle laying her egss.
Amazing!

Highly recommended. Expensive, and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My family of 5 stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and had a really good time. The rooms are nice and comfortable, although we had to split into two rooms. Each room is separated from the rest which makes them very quiet. The fare included all meals and tours around the canals and both were very good. Food was a la carte from a menu, only thing we had to pay on the side were drinks. The two waiters were very nice, friendly and accomodating to our specilal food needs. The rest of the people on the staff were also very nice and helpful. My only comment about them is that they keep a basket with tropical flowers at the entrance of the reception and on the way to the restaurant and on this basket they keep a boa constrictor, but nobody told us this and when walking by we had the scare of our life, we just saw a snake right next to us (we don't know much about them and did not know it was harmless) and being in the middle of the jungle it was just scary! I suggest they tell their customers so they expect it when walking by.

As for the tours, the tour guide Chito was super friendly and knowledgeable about the animals of the area. He went out or his way to show us a little bit of everything. We had a great experience since it is the time for green turtles to lay eggs on the beach, so we went on a night tour to see this. You should know that this tour requieres for you to walk on a jungle/beach with no light and the sand is full of the holes the turtles make for their nests, it's not too bad and very worth it (just wish we'd known ahead of time that we'd be doing it in the complete dark).
Luckier still that since the laying eggs season is almost over we were able to also see the turtles hatching and it was the most amazing expericence for both adults and kids alike.
So all in all I fully recommend this hotel to couples (very romantic) and families alike.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincoticos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Best way to start trip to CR! Everything was amazing, from the tours to the food and of course to the outsanding bungalow! Service is also remarkable, Leo in the restaurant was always very attentive. Was an amazing experience! I totally recommend it! Thank you Manatus for the great 3 days!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelia_torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked a two night package at Manatus. We were picked up very early in San Jose. There were only four of us on the shuttle bus. The driver didn't speak english, but there was another staff member on board who spoke very good english and acted as a guide. Aaron pointed out different plants and highlights on the trip to La Pavona where we met the boat. The scenery was beautiful. The van was comfortable and clean. The boat was definately a bit fancier than the others waiting at La Pavona!

The rooms at the hotel are huge, spotlessly clean and beautiful. The outdoor shower is a nice touch. We lucked out and had fantastic, hot weather! Not a drop of rain; we definately used the air conditioning! The pool was very clean, a staff member was always around to scoop out leaves! The grounds are beautifully manicured with some short hiking trails. There are howler monkeys who visit the property and plenty of iguanas lounging in the sun!

The food was exceptional. This the only hotel in Tortuguero that doesn't offer meals by buffet only. The menu was small, but there were nice choices for all types of preferences. The meals were presently very nicely and were tasty.

The staff were all very helpful, spoke at least some english and went out of their way to meet the guests' every request. The tour guide was entertaining, bilingual and a whiz at spotting wildlife. We saw turtles, three kinds of monkeys, lizards, and birds. We did the optional night turtle tour and watched a green sea turtle nest. Amazing! Not to be missed if you are there during nesting season. We used the hotel kayaks on our own too. The boat was well maintained and we were given appropriate safety equipment.

Tortuguero is a unique and fascinating place. Manatus is a perfect spot for enjoying it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glacier1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Tortuguero is one of the highlights of a visit to Costa Rica and doing it with Manatus hotel made it memorable. We stayed 2 nights. We were picked up early from our San Jose hotel and drove to the embarkation point for the bus. They provide a stop for breakfast on route and the guide gave interesting information about plants, crops, wildlife and climate on the 4 hour drive. We were taken by boat to the hotel. The boat ride takes about 50 minutes. The hotel is next to the river. We had 2 double rooms. They were spacious and comfortable with fans and A/C. There is complimentary wifi. There is small swimming pool which is good for cooling off. There is also a small gym area with a running machine, cycle machine and some weights. All meals were included and you paid for your drinks. The food was fairly good. There was a reasonable and affordable wine list. The staff were always friendly.

We went on 2 tours by boat in the national park, one in the morning and one in the afternoon on our second day. The landscape is stunning and unlike anywhere else we had visited. We saw a wide array of wildlife on each of the trips and the guide was informative. We also took the nighttime trek to Tortuguero beach to see green-back turtle laying there eggs. This is magical and, if possible, should not be missed. It does however involve a late night as the hotel may get a 10pm-12 slot. We got to bed at 1 am. I would also recommend using the hotels boots for this trip as the path is muddy/waterlogged. Also bring your own torch. It is very wet in Tortuguero and the boat for trips out has no roof, so bring a good waterproof and wear clothes that can dry readily.

The following day we were taken back to San Jose, with a stop for lunch. This was a relatively expensive trip but worth it to visit this incredible part of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adeno_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
1.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,308 reviews
1 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: £247 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing