We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms are big, very clean, beds are comfortable. Rooms are private. Staff were welcoming with a cocktail upon our arrival . Luis is a great guide, we spend two says with him, he is very knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about tortuguero. The pool is great, very relaxing. The trail behind the hotel is fun and we can see a lot of frogs and insects. We saw many birds, monkeys and iguana around the hotel. Service is great, food is good. We really loved our stay and would definitively go back. The service is personalized.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank HURDAN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We loved the lodge. The only issue is the rain and humidity. Despite air conditioning in the rooms (a real plus in that area), clothes do not dry over night.
The rooms are all comfortable and clean. The location is great for wild life (spider and howler monkeys came through, along with a variety of reptiles, birds and insects).
The food is great and the service friendly.
Luis was our guide at the hotel - and was very good. We learnt a lot about the local area, community and wildlife.
We also learnt a lot from Gustavo, the bus guide, on the way there (the bus was provided by the lodge).
We would thoroughly recommend going there as long as you do not mind rain and are not squeamish about wildlife. We would definitely go back, but would look to go in the dry season.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in 4 different hotels while in Costa Rica and Manatus was my favorite. We were picked up at another hotel in San Jose by Jason our guide and Hector driver for the first leg of our trip to Tortuguero. we stopped at a wonderful cafe for breakfast which was included. During our 11/2 hr long drive Jason told us interesting facts about Costa Rica we also went a little out of the way so he could show us a 3 toed sloth in a tree on the side of the road and was able to get out and take pictures. We were then met at the dock for the next 1 hr trip by boat by Ronald the driver and Luis our guide who would be with us the rest of our stay at Manatus. Luis was a wonderful wildlife guide and from our first meeting he was pointing out wildlife to us from flowers, birds, lizards and and monkeys. From the minute Luis saw us walking out of our room he would come with his smile and binoculars to show us wildlife. The rooms were very clean and quaint although this is not a luxurious 5 star hotel it definitely meets all of your needs. The food was also very good and the staff Sergio and Jason our waiter/bartender were very good, they know you by name and were very attentive. We had the privilege of being awakened at 430 AM by the howler monkeys in the trees right outside of our room. I can not praise Luis enough he was very enthusiastic on our canal tours into the rainforest. The only negative thing I can say is that housekeeping did not leave us enough towels. Overall this was an excellent experience and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed with my family for 2 nights and by the end of it I was begging to stay more. Everything from the staff, atmosphere, rooms, food was great.

The highlight of the stay for me was being taken to the beach by our guide (Ray) to watch a sea turtle lay her eggs. It was an experience I'll never forget.

I'd love to go back someday and get away from the fast paced lifestyle of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikola_Tanaskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with all the recent reviews of this hotel. It was one of the best places we stayed in Costa Rica in March. We had two days of complete pleasure, from the moment we stepped onto the boat for the 90-minute journey on the canal to the hotel's landing stage. It is a beautiful area and even though it was popular, we often felt we had the waterways to ourselves on our nature trips. The hotel is set in its own self-contained and well maintained grounds, giving you the impression of a very private oasis. All the staff were extremely friendly, remembering our names even for such a short stay and engaging with us in a very personable manner. Our warmest thanks go to them for making our stay at Manatus so special. All aspects of the hotel were perfect: colourful, comfortable and cool bedrooms (the air-conditioning was very welcome!) with a bonus outside shower (also welcome!), great meals and a prettily appointed swimming pool. Nature was all around us and we were fascinated by the leafcutter ants. Only sorry that we didn't have time to explore the nature trail at the hotel. I would love to go back there some time; definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Manatus was our favourite hotel in Costa Rica , it wasn't the highest starred rating we stayed in. But it is a very special small romantic hotel with the most charming and friendly staff, considering on average they " turn " guests around every 3 days it was amazing that they not only remembered your names but even what drinks you preferred ! They were unobtrusive , helpful and really made our time special.

Food was excellent with a good choice and freshly cooked , breakfast the same.

Each lodge / villa is designed in such a way that they are completely private, 2 queen beds, outside seating and an outside shower, with iguanas sunbathing in the trees outside your room , truly delightful there is peace tranquillity and wildlife on the doorstep.
From the minute we arrived , via the boat , and were greeted with refreshing flannels and cocktails you knew this was special , and it didn't disappoint.
We spent 2 days on the boat with our guide exploring the waterways , seeing Crocodiles , Caymans, Spider and Howler Monkeys , Water spiders, golden web spiders and the amazing Jesus Christ Lizards plus a whole host of birds , too numerous too list.
The gardens and grounds are beautifully maintained and returning here after the day out was so relaxing. I don't normally " gush " or " wax - lyrical " about Hotels but the Manatus deserves every praise heaped upon it a truly memorable stay.

Just one word of warning for future guests , which has nothing to do with the Management or Staff at the Hotel. We were keen to see the possibility of turtles on Tortuguero beach and to do a night time walk of the rain forest, our guide " Chito " said he could arrange this as a 3 hour trip from 7pm - 10pm , 4 of us paid 80 Dollars each for this , DO NOT be conned into doing this as we foolishly were ! Sure enough the boat picked us up on time and dropped us off in the village but from here it went rapidly downhill , we were taken on to the beach by a local , not a guide with no torches and no spoken English it became very apparent we were not going to see turtles so asked for the walk to the rain forest, which turned out to be the woods at the edge of the beach , we had been well and truly conned , our own fault but an easy mistake to make when you trust your guide. Who by the way picked us up the following morning and didn't even have the good grace to ask us how we were !
However this did not detract from the truly amazing time we had at the Manatus Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorcsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked the package for two nights and everything ran like clockwork. Loved the small feel of the hotel and the room was lovely with comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and food amazing. Loved the trips. Be prepared for rain and bugs on the trips :)
Don't forget to do the trail at the hotel, short walk but lots of little red frogs to see!

Room Tip: We had room 11 furthest walk from restaurant but private. The rooms are not designed for sitting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: £232 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing