We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic lodging in paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Lodge Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rustic lodging in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

If you looking for resort style lodging, this place is not for you. If you are not looking for luxury but peace and relaxation then you are at the right place. This place has a lot of wildlife around, you would wake up to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys, enjoy you breakfast in a buffet overlooking the river, take walks on the beach or through botanical garden on property. I stayed there for several day but I could easily spend several weeks there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    367
    86
    30
    8
See reviews for
177
347
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Wow, what can we say, this is a wonderful place to be, a beautiful location and an adventure and just as enjoyable getting here, its only accessible by boat or very small plane, and the trip through the canals on the boat to get here is so worth it, you can see all sorts of things on the way. There is a warm welcome when you get here and, although it was a bigger resort than we thought, there is a great feel to the place and you don't see loads of people all over the place all the time except occasionally at the restaurant at night.

Our room was very comfortable even without a/c. There is a Safety deposit box in the room which is an adequate size and Tea/Coffee available all day and night in the Restaruant. Each room has a couple of rocking chairs outside on the porch so you can sit outside when you want.

Its an excellent location for the Restaurant and Bar, you can watch the sunset over the water while you are having your meal or having a cocktail at the bar.

There is plenty to do here and everything is done by boat. The trips up the Canals are well worth taking as you will see Howler Monkeys and loads of different birds and animals in the trees. We saw caymen as well. Tortuguero Village is not far away and there are all sorts of craft shops there but remember this is a small village with limited resources.

You cannot swim either at the beach or in the Lagoon but a trip to the beach is a must.
A wonderful place to stay and we would come back again

Room Tip: Make sure you use Mosquito spray before you go into the Botanical Gardens here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Accessible only by boat or small plane. This was our second stop on a Caravan.com Tour. It is a VERY remote location in a National Park on the Atlantic Coast. The ONLY downside is there is no A/C ... and, it is VERY hot and humid year round. There is NO cool season. The big attraction is the nesting grounds for the Green and Leather-back Sea Turtles. Both are highly protected species. To be there in the Fall during the hatch is a remarkable and inspiring experience. The grounds are beautiful and next door is a well marked Botanical Garden trail. The beach is lovely and the sunrises picture opportunities are among the best in the world. Swimming in the warm Atlantic waters is highly cautioned against due to the very strong under-toe and steep drop-off. There are two wonderful swimming pools. One for family and one just for adults. The jungle boat tours are a must. Please of wildlife to see. The Buffet food is very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Laguna Lodge in Tortuguero, Costa Rica was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature. Be aware that there is no air conditioning and accommodations are primitive. There is a trip by boat to get there because there are no roads so it is a perfect place for pictures of river life. The Howler monkeys will wake you in the morning and watching the baby turtles come out of the sand was awesome. The food was tasty and service was excellent. Pools were cool and blue with up keep done, grounds maintained with luscious foliage. Perfect place to commune with nature.

Room Tip: All rooms are bunk style and face beautiful grounds or pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deenapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I love this place. It is so remote. You are surrounded by beautifully colored birds, including toucans, where orchids and bird of paradise grow wild and everywhere you look there are stunning mosaics. It's like standing in a work of art.

Room Tip: This is a rustic, remote lodge, so, don't expect a lot of amenities. It's all about your su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My partner and I are content with comfy bed/good shower/able to make tea and coffee in the room. Of course we like to be spoiled. This Lodge had excellent rooms. Maybe 200+ rooms but only 2 coaches from Caravan. Yes, the service was a touch slow. So what? We were not going anywhere. Rainy season...but it rained at night or whilst we were at a meal. Hot and humid. Two showers a day.

Room Tip: Face the pool. The ocean, though close, is mostly out of sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderhoof, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This resort was very special and we were well looked after by the staff. Our room was comfortable and rustic with screens and a ceiling fan that cooled the room well, with 2 rocking chairs on the porch. We wondered about the timing of visiting during the rainy season, but lucked out and had beautiful sunny days although humid. The rain came mostly at night and was nice to listen to in our comfy bed. The swimming pools were beautifully situated in the amazing gardens with birds and lizards galore to watch. A short walk to the beach and we witnessed a mother green turtle laying her eggs one night. One afternoon we saw a baby turtle poke his head out of the sand after hatching. All round great experience and ask for Mario Daves for a guide; he has a huge amount of knowledge of the local flora and fauna and speaks English very well. Pura Vida, Jesse

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhfsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.8 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#6 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Tortuguero

Property: Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Address: BARRA DE TORTUGUERO , CARIBE NORTE 173. | ZAPOTE Limon, Tortuguero 2015 , Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Lodge Tortuguero 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Laguna Lodge Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing